We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryokan Meiryu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryokan Meiryu
Ranked #84 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we traveled around Japan in July 2011. We found this place rather difficult to find as the map from Welcome Inn was not particularly good, so I would recommend making sure you know how to find it! I would second other reviews in saying it's more like a hotel than a ryokan, but we did have a very pleasant stay. Our room was spacious and clean and our bedding was particularly comfortable. I enjoyed the communal bath and the other facilities available were generally good. I don't speak a great deal of Japanese and unfortunately didn't meet the son with the good English (perhaps he has Sundays off?) but the staff really bent over backwards to explain things to us and help out where needed. Not an especially attractive hotel, but affordable, functional and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were a little nervous about staying at a ryokan - not sure how it all would fly over with a young one in tote, but it worked wonderfully! We stayed here when we first arrived in Japan - good location by the subway, we were very grateful for helpful staff who could tell us where to go and give us tips on food. The rooms were clean, basic. Futons were comfortable and worked great with having a baby along.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandHoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Very clean place with helpful, friendly staff.
Owner is third generation of family with great historical perspective.
Anything you need on your trip to Nagoya, just ask at front--they cheerfully set up taxis, dinners, even umbrellas at last minute for trips to nearby 7/11.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bruske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

easy enough to find. rooms not too spectacular, but big enough. maid service cleans every day it seems. bathrooms were shared, but shower room was very large.
staff was friendly and helpful and spoke some english. meals were available (for a fee) but we did not try them. easy access to subway.
overall, decent accommodations at a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travels_on_belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Good price, reasonably comfortable.. Very basic but in a good location with easy access to the city. rooms are small and bathrooms shared, but a good deal for the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GothicTraveller000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

It is a ryokan, that is it has a bathtub with warm spring water. But it is a normal concrete building. Tatami-mats and futons and traditional Japanese breakfast (if you like that). Clean, no frills rooms. The receptionist/son was very helpful and was good at English. No internet I think. Close to a station, shopping area. I liked the place but it is neither romantic nor luxurious. But Japanese. When I stayed there, 50 Japanese students were there too. I would stay there again. Normal sized rooms.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mavo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

We found the Meiryu to be a really comfortable, friendly and cruisy place to stay. I travelled to Nagoya in a group which split up and stayed a various places in similar price ranges (budget!) and I felt the we got the best deal by far. Tatami matt rooms are small as it seems with most Japanese accom, but always clean and, being off the main street, quiet. Rooms have closets, TV and free tea making gear. We had the vegetarian breakfast there which was delicious and cost us 400 yen each (4 aus dollars). The male & female bathhouses are open 24 hours and I loved coming in after a night out and having a good scrub & soak before bed. The owners are super friendly and the son seems to be working around the clock - which was great as he speaks excellent english and went above and beyond to help us with directions and so forth.

There's also free internet in the foyer.

It is a short walk to the great Osu markets and about a ten or fifteen minute walk to Kanayama station (or about 800 yen in a cab). There is a subway station 2 minutes walk from the Ryokan so everything is close. We walked to the Sakae nightclub district in about 20 minutes.

All in all we loved staying here. We travelled to other cities and when we got back to the Meiryu it was like coming home! We were very happy with the price too..

Make sure you get the map of how to get to the hotel. They are available at the front desk. The cab drivers struggle to find it and there are a lot of one way streets in the area!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KMannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Hotel Route Inn Nagoya Higashi Betsuin
Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
#129 of 168 in Nagoya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Rose Court Hotel
Rose Court Hotel
#104 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Nagoya Station
Hamilton Black
Hamilton Black
#65 of 168 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Meiryu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Meiryu

Property: Ryokan Meiryu
Address: 2-4-21 Nakaku Kamimaezu, Nagoya 460-0013, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ryokan Meiryu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Rakuten, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ryokan Meiryu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Meiryu Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing