We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downgraded?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Nagoya Castle
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Reviewed January 22, 2013

booked a nonsmoking double room, but got a stinking smoking one instead. no more double nosmokingrooms available, so they downgraded me to a tiny single nosmoking room instead of upgrading me. 80's decor. no water. stains on the sheets. great service. not.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 548 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is lovely
It might not be near all the buzz at the station area n business district but the 1500-2000¥ cab ride is affordable or free shuttles works well

From the bellboy to front reception to concierge, they are extremely cheerful helpful and their sincerity in making guests feel at home was amazing.

Information about restaurants n recreation out of hotel was very well organized from pictures to address and pricing.

I will definitely return to find out more about this city n stay with the Westin again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeVirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thought that all Westin hotels have certain standards, but there is an exception to everything and I learned this the hard way. Was here on business and stayed at this hotel because it is a corporate preferred hotel. Was very surprised to learn how small the room was (literally can fit one single bed and a bathroom) and the dodgy bathroom was unbearable (decor and faucet date back to the 80's). Worst of all was completely caught off guard about the fact that the hotel does not supply bottled water to all hotel guests. You have to go to a convenience store 5-10min away to purchase them unless you want to waste money on the mini-bar. Gym opens at 11am for god knows what reason. Overall a very disappointing experience and definitely falls short of the basic requirements of a business hotel. Not even sure why it is part of Westin. Starwood should really look at the service and amenity standards of this hotel. Would suggest all travellers to stay away. A complete waste of money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asiabizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was my second time staying at the Westin, Nagoya ... the last time was when Expo was in Nagoya in 2005 ... I suppose what struck me most was I think the hotel was identical ... and it still looked fresh and new ... I suppose this says consistency and reliability which I guess is a good thing in a hotel.

The room was good, but more or less what you would expect ... service was very good, as you would expect ... food was good, as you would expect ...

I suppose the highlight is the proximity to Nagoya castle and the stunning view (our room faced the castle, which we would recommend) - especially at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I only had one night here but the hotel was extremely comfortable with a good nights sleep. Great view of the castle from the room. The rooms are a good size, although the bathroom a little small. Good location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I enjoyed very much my stay in this hotel. I had a great room facing the castle, the breakfast buffet was excellent. The regular coffee there was on the weak side, but when requested, I got excellent espresso, which helped me to wake up!
Down sides: no TV channels in English, and only one morning (out of three) received an English newspaper.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have regularly stayed at the Westin Nagoya Castle for over 10 years and I'm impressed with the consistent attentive and high level of service. We've always been given a very clean and comfortable room with a magnificent view of Nagoya Castle - especially impressive at night. The non-smoking rooms are newer that the smoking rooms and in my opinion the most comfortable so if you're a non-smoker be sure to book a non-smoking room! All the staff I interacted with spoke excellent English. The free shuttle from the Nagoya JR station is a great bonus for going to and from the hotel, and handy if you want to go to the city's main shopping area. This time we dined in the Crown restaurant on the 11th floor and enjoyed an amazing meal with spectacular view of the city at night. The perfect romantic restaurant for dinner to celebrate an anniversary (or at lest that't what we did!)

Room Tip: If possible ask for a castle view room - the castle is lit at night and spectacular, however single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Hilton Nagoya
#1 of 176 in Nagoya
1,491 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#10 of 176 in Nagoya
445 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 176 in Nagoya
738 reviews
Nagoya Station
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
#31 of 176 in Nagoya
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nagoya Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nagoya Castle

Address: 3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya 451-8551, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range: $146 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nagoya Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Nagoya Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Nagoya Castle Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing