We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Nagoya Castle View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Nagoya Castle
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Nagoya Castle View”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed there for two nights recently.
Believed they are the only hotel provide free shuttle van from Nagoya station to hotel.
As I used my points to get these two free night, we did not expect much. Yet, we got the 7th floor room which is just in front of the Castle - very very good view in the morning, afternoon, and evening...
Front desk service is very good too, one on one, very good English too.

Room Tip: Should request room located at 6th or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    233
    122
    24
    15
See reviews for
104
91
95
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Imagine waking up with a view of a Japanese castle! That's exactly what Westin Nagoya offers. Service and furnishing is typical of a westin establishment complete with the heavenly bed. The only grouch I have is the location. Pretty out of the way to the Nagoya city center. Taking the subway requires two change to get to the train station. Shuttle service is provided however timings are not regular and the van could be full. I would not stay again due to the inconvenience as cabs are expensive in Japan.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplechopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stay here a lot since the Hard Rock Cafe next to the Hilton closed.
Rooms are, for the most part, decent (ask for a Castle View).
I am just an SPG Gold, but always get a decent room....
The hotel is a good walk from the Nagoya "nightlife" and the station (1400 yen taxi ride to the bullet train).
The breakfast is decent and you are guaranteed a window if you are down by 7AM.
Staff is great...never had a problem.
Hilton is my favourite for nostalgia (broke up a fight in the lobby), location and breakfast, but the Westin is second to none for value.

Room Tip: Castle view away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexInJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is right next to the castle, which guarantees a nice view if you stay in a room on the side of the castle, but that's about it. The staff are polite and trying to be helpful but the level of English spoken is some of the worst we encountered anywhere in Japan. You would think this is a Westin, which should expect to see foreign guests. How one communicates in 'non-Japanese', I am not sure. We gave up. Trying to order food in the coffeeshop was torture. In the end someone from the bar came over, who spoke English, but then he did not know the menu and could not help. Spaghetti with mentaiko? and similar - how is one supposed to know? It would be better to explain these terms on the menu, so as not to challenge the English language skills of the staff. We actually felt bad and the staff obviously tried to avoid us. Getting their attention was almost impossible. We then decided to take the buffet, which for a Westin was really poor to say the least, but we did not come for the food. the following night, we decided to also take the buffet, so we did not have to repeat the previous night's scenario and embarrass the staff. to our surprise, the buffet items were the exact same ones as the night before. Now, that was disappointing, as the food, as it was, was very plain and gave so little choice. The trouble is, that there is nothing to eat near the hotel and nowhere to go, so although we did not go to Nagoya or to the Westin with food as a priority, it became a major disappointment.
This hotel also has no free internet access, not even in the lobby, which I thought is something given in all Westins. Here you had to pay no matter where you used it (in today's world every hostel gives this free).
And then there is the shuttle bus. You are very much dependent on this bus, as the location of the hotel is just not anywhere near anything (except the castle). It's shuttle or taxi. The shuttle bus only runs once an hour to the station and as if this wasn't stingy enough, it only starts running late in the morning - I seem to remember it was around 8.50h for the first bus. Too late for us to catch our train and too late, I would assume, for people going to an early office meeting. So it's taxi.
To be fair, while at the hotel, we only ever saw one other foreign guest, and the Japanese guests seemed to have no problem. The staff looked engaging and polite. If you are non-Japanese and have nothing to do in the area of the hotel, then you may want to consider staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: overlooking the castle on a top floor, otherwise you look into a roof of whatever is below the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the Westin at Nagoya Castle when I was in Nagoya for work. The staff was extremely freindly and helpful and the location next to Nagoya Castle provides great scenary. The price was also very good for Nagoya. With that said, I only can give it three stars because the wireless internet was spotty, food was mediocre, and the bed was not as comfortable when compared with other Westins. If this was a Sheraton, I would have given it four stars.

The room was tiny, but this is typical in Japan. It was well layed out. Toiletries in the room were nice and many of the items I have only seen at this Westin in Japan.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the nearest subway station. Directions to the hotel on the website (Airport to Nagoya Train Station, then take a taxi) were easy to follow and the price for the taxi was accurate. SPG Platinum benefits included access to the fitness facilities, access to the executive lounge, free breakfast (either buffet or continental) and a happy hour in the lobby lounge. I only went to happy hour one night and I was the only one there, so I would not recommend it to meet other people. The executive lounge was quiet and a great place to work. Light beverages and snacks were provided, but it is only open until 6pm.

Pros
1. Staff: everyone was friendly, courteous and helpful. Staff was above average when compared with other Westins.
2. View from hotel of Nagoya Castle (ask for a room that faces the castle)
3. Price (compared with other hotels of a similar stature in Nagoya, it was reasonable, although not sure it should be a Westin)
4. Executive lounge was a great place to get work done. Wireless worked better than in room, but still an issue.

Cons
1. Wireless Internet was spotty in the room and executive lounge (frequent disconnections on four different devices - HP laptop, iPhone, iPad and Blackberry). It was reasonable fast when I got a signal. This was unbelievably frustrating since I had to work in the hotel 4-6 hours a day.
2. The food was mediocre. I ate at the restaurant in the lobby for one breakfast buffet and one dinner buffet and ordered room service once. I would not recommend the buffet because the hot dishes were luke warm and didn't taste great. I know it was a buffet, but the food was borderline cold. Room service was better, but protions were small for the price (I realize also that it is Japan).
3. The bed... I honestly do not think it was a heavenly bed. Other Westins that I have stayed at in the past had much more comfortable beds.
4. Small issue, but I could not find an iron in the room (it is listed on the website, so maybe I missed it).

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Nagoya Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j19stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is the nicest Westin I've ever stayed at. From the outside, it doesn't look that spectacular but the moment you pull into their driveway, you're treated like royalty. The bellmen run to your vehicle and help you with your luggage immediately. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are very clean. We had a view facing the castle, unbelievable. We used combo SPG points and dollars, which worked out to $40/night. This came with a buffet breakfast for both of us which normally would have been $25-$30 each. The value was unbelievable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
231 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had a fantastic 3 night stay with the best view of the castle from our 10th floor room. The hotel is 40 years old so the bathroom is small, but it is functional, very clean, with a bath and hand held shower over. The room is a good size. Wish there were a few more english speaking TV chanels. Breakfast was good, the free shuttle to Nagoya Station every hour - a good service. ALL Staff very friendly. Enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant on the 11th floor. We loved Nagoya and want to return, so will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Hilton Nagoya
#2 of 166 in Nagoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 166 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#9 of 166 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nagoya Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nagoya Castle

Property: The Westin Nagoya Castle
Address: 3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya 451-8551, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nagoya Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nagoya Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Nagoya Castle Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing