We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Westin Nagoya Castle
Ranked #17 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great rooms”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is the nicest Westin I've ever stayed at. From the outside, it doesn't look that spectacular but the moment you pull into their driveway, you're treated like royalty. The bellmen run to your vehicle and help you with your luggage immediately. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are very clean. We had a view facing the castle, unbelievable. We used combo SPG points and dollars, which worked out to $40/night. This came with a buffet breakfast for both of us which normally would have been $25-$30 each. The value was unbelievable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    238
    123
    25
    15
See reviews for
107
92
97
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had a fantastic 3 night stay with the best view of the castle from our 10th floor room. The hotel is 40 years old so the bathroom is small, but it is functional, very clean, with a bath and hand held shower over. The room is a good size. Wish there were a few more english speaking TV chanels. Breakfast was good, the free shuttle to Nagoya Station every hour - a good service. ALL Staff very friendly. Enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant on the 11th floor. We loved Nagoya and want to return, so will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The service and friendliness of staff was second to none. The building itself however is in desperate need of a makeover. They have updated the lobby to make you think the rest of the hotel has followed suit, but the rooms are straight from the seventies with creaky, cramped, unit baths and they had upgraded us to the executive floor! Right beside the castle though so much better for morning walks than the center of town. Honestly though, you can get much better value for the money, so I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathcontrolmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We spent one night at Westin Nagoya and an excellent place if you wants to visit the Nagoya castle. The night view looking over the Nagoya castle was priceless.
All the staff were very attentive and service level superceded the industry standard.
The rooms were clean and equipped with all essentials.
The free shuttle bus service came in handy especially if you wants to shop town at Nygoya station.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wptanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The lobby is very nice. I stayed on the Starwood Preferred Floor and had a great view of the castle and the room was very nice and comfortable. It seemed quite new and was spotless. The only knock on the entire place was the fitness center. It was a bit older but nice. However, it opened at 11am. What the heck? Open early for business travelers!! That was a big problem for me as I was meeting customers by 8am so when could I work out?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This time I chose to stay at the Westin Nagoya Castle for a night to enjoy the nice Nagoya castle view, and this hotel is just right next tot he castle, gorgeous view. It's just around 10min nice walk from the hotel to the castle, and the cherry blossoms were just wonderful.
And, of course, cannot miss their signature 'Heavenly Bed' in the room. Another big surprise, the hotel even got the plates with the Nagoya Castle printed on the plate, I found it so lovely when I enjoyed the omelette at breakfast. Very happy!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over for 1 night. The best thing about this hotel was the concierge. She was sooo helpful, she even did searches for after we left Nagoya. Yes, it seems bit far from the train station, but it really is only a 10 minute walk. If we wanted town, we would have stayed in town. It is so near the Castle which is a fun sight to see. The rooms are a bit small, this hotel was probably not built as a Westin, the veiw was worth it. Oh, and my husband and his friends drank at the Bar one evening and they reported that the staff was AWESOME. They had lots of fun. I reccomend this hotel to someone that wants to be outside of the city. Use the concierige in finding your way to the train station, just a 10 minute walk. Free internet, pay for spa and swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bransino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Hilton Nagoya
#2 of 168 in Nagoya
1,383 reviews
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 168 in Nagoya
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#10 of 168 in Nagoya
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nagoya Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nagoya Castle

Property: The Westin Nagoya Castle
Address: 3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya 451-8551, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nagoya Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Nagoya Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Nagoya Castle Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing