We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice, but small room...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice, but small room...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, located in the heart of Nagoya. It consists of several large towers and is easily reached by the underground rail. It was a bit confusing for me at first, as the lobby is on the 25th floor. From the minute you arrive at reception, you are greeted warmly and pampered. The staff was great and very helpful with dinner recommendations. Though I did not eat dinner at the hotel, I found the breakfast buffet to be very good. I have to say that I felt the room was very small (even for Japan standards). In fact, my room was so small that I could not even open my suitcase on the floor (due to lack of space). It was very clean and comfortable, but I would think twice before booking a room for more than a day or two!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHSunFollowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    513
    121
    27
    13
See reviews for
328
318
157
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
207 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent hotel in the heart of the city.right on top of the main station. So you can just take the elevator to level 1 and you are at the station. Also you have the takashimaya dept store which is huge spread over 5 levels with a food section as well. On the 12th and 13th floors you can find restaurants as well. The hotel lobby is on the 15th floor. The rooms are huge compared to Japanese standards. The breakfast was very good as well even though it cost $30. The hotel has aged and seems old but they do a fine job in trying to maintain the standards. The 45th floor bar was amazing as well. I will surely choose this place to stay in the future. All the staff speak very good English as well and are very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budsy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was my second or third stay here while I was on business. Attentive friendly staff ( but have U ever seen in Japan he opposite? - nooooooo! :-) not possible just naturally :-)
Room on 33rd floor with excellent Nagoya city's panoramic view was good with all required amenities generic for hotels in Japan. In the evening we've with colleagues have visited the Sky Lounge on the 57th floor where the view was even better - just magic! Besides this the nice couple has been singing classic romantic pop-songs creating a very cosy atmosphere. Unfortunately we hd only one hour to stay there as came around midnight just to 'polish' our business dinner with Japanese clients by a relaxing drink. Breakfast in the morning was good and tasty, but the choice of food is not as big as in some other places ( but sufficient of course). What else to say?... Oh, yes! The hotel is located right above h Nagoya Central Station, s if you travel by train ( Shinkansen ) that' very convenient place for overnight, but if you then travel thru Nagoya Int'l Airport ( like we did) it's needed to keep in mind that it takes around an hour by taxi to get there. Alternatively you can get to the airport by local train which is significantly cheaper and takes a little bit longer.

Room Tip: It's just good :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eduesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

the Nagoya Marriott hotel is probably the best hotel in Nagoya.
he is located in the central of the city and above one of the biggest mall in the area.

the service is one of the best service I every got and it amazing.
when you are just enter the hotel you understand that here things are being done differently
immediately your things are being taken and you are followed to the layby

the room is very impressive and the restaurant as well very good food and a lot to choose.
the hotel is very expensive

Room Tip: 46 floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nice, modern and clean hotel, decent size room,

Great location, inside the Nagoya station, (bullet train to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka) and local lines and metro.

A lot of people checking-in and the special desk for Marriott Rewards guest was not honored. Too bad!

An American chain should offer more TV options in English.

Free internet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaoloT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As much as we were looking for a high quality hotel and had high expectations, the Associa went above and beyond and exceeded most of them. This was one of those rare times in our travels where we truly felt like the hotel offered noticeably more than we expected - which above all else is what we admired most about it.

There are many great details to point out, but suffice it to say that all elements that one would typically evaluate in a hotel were all of the highest standards. The location is very convenient with direct access to trains and subway lines, staff were courteous and helpful (even by Japanese standards), the design and décor was warm and serene yet modern, and the rooms were themselves comfortable, clean, and relaxing. As we always do, we requested a high floor room and were rewarded with captivating views of the Nagoya skyline.

The buffet breakfast also deserves special mention, as it really was more akin to a small feast than a small meal on which to start your day. There was so much variety being offered (from fresh fruits and pastries to cooked meals), that it was almost impossible to sample all the dishes, and we genuinely enjoyed the vast majority of them.

Our experience during our short stay was positive in all respects, and given what we felt were quite reasonable rates, we wouldn’t even hesitate to recommend the Associa for any luxury stay in Nagoya. An excellent hotel, and a pleasant experience we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDJL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location of this hotel - just above the train station - is superb, and overall the facility is excellent. We were in town for meetings with Toyota (offices directly across the street) via bullet train from Tokyo and thus it was very convenient for us. Excellent, efficient Japanese service as expected. One thing to note is that the hotel floor plan offers 1 or 2 rooms which are absolute slivers - very tight, perhaps 1/3 smaller than the other standard rooms - and the circular shape of the building cuts off window end of the room even further. Hotel rooms in Japan tend to be smaller anyway. Just a warning that not all the rooms are the same size and one is quite a bit smaller than the others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Hilton Nagoya
#2 of 164 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 164 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel

Property: Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Address: 1-1-4 Meieki | Nakamura-ku, JR Central Towers Office, Nagoya 450-6002, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 774
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel Nagoya
Marriott Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing