We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Close to the train station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Nantes/France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to the train station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the staion - 5 minutes walk.
The rooms are not very big but this is enough. The breakfast is very good (especially the croissant).
The only negative point is that there is no wifi in the room.
It's a good hotel for business 'not for family).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIERRE2NANTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    80
    41
    8
    0
See reviews for
19
31
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed twice for business the past 4 weeks and have no complaint.
Location is good, convinience store close by, close to Nagoya station.
Breakfast was ok but not special. Bathroom spacious with no complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jans_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at The Cypress many times. The hotel has changed owners (the Hyatt, Sofitel, now Mercure) many times but the staff and decor remains unchanged, which is not a bad thing. Staff are helpful and courteous. The rooms are small but well presented.

Find the internet is quite pricey at 1050yen per day where most hotels in Japan are free especially when it comes to business hotels. The times I have had breakfast the western selection is limited but try the Japanese the food is good.

I would prefer if the hotel introduced a key drop box for those who stay longer than single day as waiting to hand key back in morning can take a while if behind those checking out.

Location is good as close to JR Station use the Shinkansen (bullet) train from Tokyo or use the Mu Train from Chubu Airport.

Room Tip: I always prefer away from the lifts (elevators) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

It was easy to find. Close to the train station and the JR Towers.
Very clean. Nice amenities. FRIENDLY staff.

Small room. But most places in japan are small. It was worth the price.
Breakfast was ok. It hit the spot. Wish that there was more of a variety or change in menu each day. Best orange juice ever and the coffee was nice.
They don't do room service.

Staying here enhanced our holiday experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice - once when it was still a Sofitel, and then again just last night. No changes, as far as I could tell! It's just about ten minutes from the station, and the staff was nice enough. Only problems: For some reason, they gave me a smoking room without asking whether that was okay... and I was on the 3rd floor this time... you definitely need to ask for a higher floor if you want anything like sun or a view!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - nice views of the station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ideheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I loved this hotel for having a very cozy nice room, not too large, not small. I felt so relaxed. It's located very close from the exit of Nagoya Station. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful enough to bring wine glasses and extra towels as I asked them to (I always do this because I take a bath in the evening and the following morning, and would rather not use a half wet bath towel in the following morning).
Also I should mention that this hotel is not huge, and the lobby is quite small, with just a few staff (I saw 3 or 4 at the counter), and one of them greets and follows you to the elevator every time you come back to the hotel. It's a very nice thing, but if you are 'Don't pay any attention, leave me alone' type, you should choose some other hotel.
Wi-Fi is not provided, so you need to bring your own device.
Still, I did have a great time, and I was glad I picked up this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deartravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Wide Traveller
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel has a nice ambiance, quite and relaxing, with very friendly staff.
The decor, especially from the evening basement restaurant and bar is great and worth a visit.
The beds are very confortable, there is one international TV News channel is available, but watching it from your bed is a challenge.
Good japanese and western breakfast but missed some cheese and ham on the buffet.
High speed cable internet in the room but you have to pay about 12 USD for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benchmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Sakuradori
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
#25 of 163 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nagoya Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Property: Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Address: 2-43-6 Meieki, Nakamura-Ku | Aichi, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nagoya Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Nagoya Cypress is conveniently located in the city center, just a short walk from Nagoya railway station (bullet train). The hotel features 115 confortable rooms, 2 restaurants, a bar and conference facilities for up to 100 delegates. The Nagoya Congress Centre, Citizens Auditorium and Nagoya Dome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Rakuten, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Nagoya Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Nagoya
Accor The Cypress Nagoya
Nagoya Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing