We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Business Hotel”
Review of Nagoya Kanko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

2 day stay in this hotel on a 'flying visit' to Nagoya, stayed at the Centair Airport Hotel on the 3rd night due to early flight back to UK.

Breakfast is very good with a selection catering for Far East tastes, and also Western.

Bar prices are reasonable, but if you decide to use the mini bar in room I would recommend a 3 min walk to a 'shop local' to save your room bill rising.

The rooms are clean and tidy, and the whole hotel has a very 'colonial' feel.

Didn't use the Gym due to time constraints, so cannot comment on the facilities, but the hotel is very professional and business orientated.

The room I stayed in was fairly small, but was comfortable and quiet.

The location is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Nagoya but only 2 minutes from bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 452 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good location, nice ambiance, good sized rooms compared to other hotels in Japan. The bakery at the back serves some very good cakes, croissants. Walk to the behind past the restaurants and too the street and then might come to a place full of eateries. Hotel has two restaurants in which the Le Jardin one is average. Beers are too expensive so go for sochu...

Room Tip: Enjoy the surroundings, venture out on foot. Rooms in the front (facing Nishi-ki dori) are better a...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Safarisearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was in Nagoya for two nights and usually stay at the Hilton but decided to give the Kanko a try.
While some of the rooms are in need of updating, the hotel is very well run, very clean, and is located in central Nagoya. Service in the restaurants,doorman, bellman, lobby & concierge is first rate. There are plenty of 7/11's nearby to pick up whatever you need. I would recommend this property over the Hilton.

Room Tip: pay to get an upgraded floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We picked the Kanko hotel in Nagoya, so we would not suffer to much from jet lag after a long flight from Frankfurt. Hotel proved to have huge - by Japanese standards - hotel rooms as well as beds. Everything was Western Style, which suited s well in preparation for the rest of the 1½4 days trips being booked at ryokan with traditional Japanese tatamis and sleeping arrangements.
The hotel delivers ok value for you money, service is good and the general conditions spotless.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed here on business and when I walked into the lobby to check in, I thought I was in for a treat. Very beautiful and elegant and the staff are clearly well trained hotel professionals. There are nice restaurants and banquet rooms, and another plus is that it does have a fitness room.

Unfortunately, the rooms are old and drab very disappointing. Most cheaper business/budget hotels have much nicer rooms at better rates. You walk in thinking you are in for a treat, and then get to your room and realize you are staying in an old hotel in need of room renovations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The only room available [a holiday week end] was on the smoking floor.The smell was quite over powering. I bought some room spray freshener which made it bearable. Could the hotel not do this? Entering the hotel through the lobby, which is quite lovely then getting off on the floor for my room was like going through a time warp. It was an entirely different experience. Very rundown and dirty. The staff is pleasant but those rooms…. not a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klay250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed with family for 3 nights as we were going to the Grand Prix. Dont book the standard floor rooms, they are extremely old and very very small. Hotel foyer, its staff, its restuarants looked fabulous. But we were really dissapointed with our tiny rooms, old scratched furniture and the rate wasnt cheap. I wouldnt stay there again unless booking a higher level of accommodation. GOOD THING - very easy access to the subway, restuarants and bars. If you want a pub with a good vibe and great bar food, try the HUB.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feedback79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 177 in Nagoya
745 reviews
Hilton Nagoya
#1 of 177 in Nagoya
1,524 reviews
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Hotel Trusty Nagoya Sakae
#28 of 177 in Nagoya
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagoya Kanko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Kanko Hotel

Address: 1-19-30 Nishiki, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-8608, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range: $95 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Kanko Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nagoya Kanko Hotel History Nagoya Kanko Hotel was established in 1936 with the aim to build "a world class hotel in Nagoya". Since then it has received many privileged guests as well as VIPs of various industries as the "guest palace of the Chubu area". While preserving traditions as well as the status of the hotel, we have also constantly kept up with modern standards throughout our history. The mission of Nagoya Kanko Hotel is to continue having guests spend a magnificently relaxing moment. Mind of Hospitality The "trust" we receive from our guests is not something that can be earned easily, and therefore this is what Nagoya Kanko Hotel deeply treasures. What we deliver to our guests are "a relaxing space and our sincerest hospitality". As a hotel that helps to create important memories for our guests as well as a place for establishing international relationships, we promise to continue providing our high quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nagoya Kanko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing