We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Hotel in Nagoya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Kanko Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Nagoya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was in Nagoya for two nights and usually stay at the Hilton but decided to give the Kanko a try.
While some of the rooms are in need of updating, the hotel is very well run, very clean, and is located in central Nagoya. Service in the restaurants,doorman, bellman, lobby & concierge is first rate. There are plenty of 7/11's nearby to pick up whatever you need. I would recommend this property over the Hilton.

Room Tip: pay to get an upgraded floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    187
    48
    7
    2
See reviews for
76
52
55
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We picked the Kanko hotel in Nagoya, so we would not suffer to much from jet lag after a long flight from Frankfurt. Hotel proved to have huge - by Japanese standards - hotel rooms as well as beds. Everything was Western Style, which suited s well in preparation for the rest of the 1½4 days trips being booked at ryokan with traditional Japanese tatamis and sleeping arrangements.
The hotel delivers ok value for you money, service is good and the general conditions spotless.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed here on business and when I walked into the lobby to check in, I thought I was in for a treat. Very beautiful and elegant and the staff are clearly well trained hotel professionals. There are nice restaurants and banquet rooms, and another plus is that it does have a fitness room.

Unfortunately, the rooms are old and drab very disappointing. Most cheaper business/budget hotels have much nicer rooms at better rates. You walk in thinking you are in for a treat, and then get to your room and realize you are staying in an old hotel in need of room renovations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The only room available [a holiday week end] was on the smoking floor.The smell was quite over powering. I bought some room spray freshener which made it bearable. Could the hotel not do this? Entering the hotel through the lobby, which is quite lovely then getting off on the floor for my room was like going through a time warp. It was an entirely different experience. Very rundown and dirty. The staff is pleasant but those rooms…. not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klay250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed with family for 3 nights as we were going to the Grand Prix. Dont book the standard floor rooms, they are extremely old and very very small. Hotel foyer, its staff, its restuarants looked fabulous. But we were really dissapointed with our tiny rooms, old scratched furniture and the rate wasnt cheap. I wouldnt stay there again unless booking a higher level of accommodation. GOOD THING - very easy access to the subway, restuarants and bars. If you want a pub with a good vibe and great bar food, try the HUB.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feedback79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hotel is a fine building and well fitted out. Rooms are adequate. Breakfast is well served and there is a large sitting area. There was a problem with the pervasive smell of cigarette smoke everywhere possibly coming from the air conditioning. Mobile phones though supposedly banned in the lounge area were allowed. The bar was tiny and occupied by groups. Not a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights. This hotel is an absolute bargain for the quality that you get. The rooms were big, the service was excellent. It was extremely clean, I expect this place was recently refurbished.

They have very convenient underground parking. The centre of all the nightlife in Nagoya is a short stroll away. There is an ATM on site too which we found very useful with our foreign bank cards.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 163 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nagoya
#2 of 163 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagoya Kanko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Kanko Hotel

Property: Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Address: 1-19-30 Nishiki, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-8608, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Kanko Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Nagoya Kanko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing