We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit for train lovers of all ages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SCMAGLEV and Railway Park

SCMAGLEV and Railway Park
Ranked #3 of 308 things to do in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must visit for train lovers of all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This museum was fun to visit and was worth the side trip from Nagoya city. Easy to reach via a new train line, it is in an otherwise unassuming location. But in Japanese style there was still a 7/11 nearby so no need to go hungry!

I was disappointed that the extensive exhibit on the history of Japanese railways had no English translations. Most other exhibits were in English however. The section on the technology of the Shinkansen, with cut-outs of various items like motors, pantographs, wheels, etc, was especially informative, even for the non train buff in our group. There were lots of activities for kids. We didn't bother trying to do the simulators which were very popular as it was a weekend.

It is worth noting that the museum is affiliated with JR Central and hence many of the exhibits were focused only on rolling stock and the history of this part of the country; it's not really a national museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    284
    75
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Train lovers will not be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The museum displayed large numbers of modern and vintage trains, covering the history of Japan's railway, as well as the latest advance technologies of Shinkansen.

As a causal visitor, I totally impressed by the exhibits and the presentation. Don't miss the short video on JR frontline and maintenance support operation at the theatre near the cafe at 2nd floor.

The museum is very well maintained and the staffs are very professional and helpful. Do make known to them that you doesn't understand Japanese, they will try to explain in English.

Note : The train ride from Nagoya Station belongs to another train company, doesn't cover under JR PASS nor local subway day pass.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DesmondLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“I don't like Mondays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I found out the hard way that most attractions are closed in Japan on Monday. Once I travelled quite some distance, only to find out the museum was closed. As was the museum next door, and the next one, and the zoo... So I was pleasantly surprised to find out the Scmaglev and Railway Park in Nagoya is open on Monday (and closed on Tuesday)!

If you want to see everything, you're done in this museum in less than an hour. It is just one big building with two storeys. If you want to experience everything, you'll spend the best part of a day. Besides the huge trains, there are many displays explaining the technology behind the various aspects of the shinkansen. One does not need to speak Japanese, most information is available in English as well (abbreviated).

There are simulators where one can operate a normal train or a shinkansen. Don't forget the maglev room, where there's even a simulator that shows what it's like to travel Japan at 500 km/h.

At first I was hesitant to visit this museum because it is outside of Nagoya. The travel instructions on the museums website are minimal. It turns out there's very little to it. Take the Aonami line from Nagoya central station. Since Nagoya is the starting point of this line, there's no worry about getting on at the wrong platform. The museum is at the end of the line (Kinjo-futo), so nothing confusing there either. The museum is clearly visible from the train and the station. Still there are signs every few metres directing to the museum, for those who manages to miss even the most obvious clues. It's foolproof and even tourist-proof.

While I'm not really into trains, the visit was interesting and pleasant, making it a wonderful way to spend a Monday. Thanks to this museum I do like Mondays after all!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A great time for all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

At first we thought the 1000 Yen fare a little costly, but once inside we realized we were very wrong. This museum is worth every penny of admission and moment of your time. My wife and I both have casual interests in trains, but there is so much and everything is so well maintained, that this site truly is a joy and is extremely easy to access across the street from the subway. You can win a draw to drive a train in one of the various simulators. You have to pay, but it was worth the experience. You can walk around, take plenty of pictures and interact with many of the amazing Japanese trains of the past, present and future. There is an interesting MAGLEV simulation where you sit in a fake MAGLEV and experience what it will be like to be a passenger, there is an outside area where you can sit in a train compartment and eat your bento as well as many other little items inside and a fun souvenir store at the end. You will find much of what makes Japan a great country in this park. I highly recommend you go and make sure you have enough time for your interest level. I wished I was more into trains when I was there, but we were also surprised how much we were drawn into the experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
565 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Great train museum, interesting for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The highlight of Nagoya for me. As mentioned by other reviewers the entry foyer features three record setting trains; a steam engine, the shinkansen, and the highly futuristic (feels more sci fi than real) Mag Lev train, a vehicle that runs on electromagnets and actually levitates. Obviously this is a prototype but it does actually work and it symbolizes a remarkable breakthrough for public transit.

The shinkansen and maglev trains are probably the main draw here; there are lots of exhibits about how these marvels work and how Japan Rail Company makes them so efficient. Plenty of learning exhibits for kids. They do justice to some of the older train tool there are some wonderful steam engines on display as well as street cars from various parts of the 20th century.

It’s a 25 minute trek from Nagoya station on the Aonami line but well worth it in my opinion

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SCMAGLEV and Railway Park also viewed

 
Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
 

Been to SCMAGLEV and Railway Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing