We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room with public bath and sauna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dormy Inn Express Nagoya
Ranked #75 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean room with public bath and sauna”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from train station. Shuttle bus to train station is available but only in the morning, and from train station only in afternoon. Free noodles available at night. Room is a bit old and small but clean. The public bath with sauna is really relaxing which I like the most. Note the bath is small and it swaps between male and female use depends on the time. Hotel is quite at night as only very few small izakaya nearby. Need to walk a few blocks if you look for shopping/entertainment at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
22
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I needed a room only for a night. It was OK for that. Specially because It was a late option during end of year period. But definitely I cannot recommend for long stays. Extremely small rooms, impossible to walk inside there. Even for luggage the inside space is not enough. The price is really OK. If you can, don't choose standard 'Dormy Inn'. Prefer the 'Dormy Inn PREMIUM'. Furthermore, It is not so close the subway station (the Central one).

Room Tip: I don't think they have good rooms. But I cannot complain a lot. It was a late choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Dormy Inn is a chain of budget hotels found all over Japan. I booked it for its low price but was surprised at how much I got in return. Firstly the location is good as its only 10 minutes walk from Nagoya station. It might be a bit tricky finding the hotel at first. Basically you have to exit Nagoya station by the West gates, then turn right and head towards the tall spiral building next to the station. Turn left on the street next to the spiral building and then turn right at the major intersection. You'll probably need to ask for some instructions at first but once you get there you'll see that its an easy walk. Since you'll need to take the subway to get to the attractions, the hotel's location near Nagoya station is a big advantage.

The rooms are small but are designed to maximize on the space available. Its got everything you need in it and is so well designed that it feels roomier than some larger hotel rooms. The room comes with a full bathroom including a tub but you will not be able to stretch your legs out in it.

Other than that, there is a free onsen, free ramen noodles at 10pm and a free washing machine. There is not much to complain about and is definitely value for money in a very expensive country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siew Choy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We paid USD 140,- for one night (does not sound cheap but you are in Japan...), I suppose we got what we paid for.
The hotel is nothing exceptional with small rooms, however :
- staff is friendly and smiling
- the hotel is clean
- it is located not too far from the train station (accessible on foot or with the shuttle bus - friendly driver).
Flip side : rooms are small but you are in a large Japanese city so this is not surprising, the lift is small and there is only one, so you may need to be patient. We did not try the bath but they mentioned it is men-only during weekdays so if your wife is dying to hang around naked in public, find another place. Not sure about how they deal during the weekends (there may be some slots for men and others for women)
Upon arrival, it was raining cats and dogs so we chose to catch a cab, the cab driver loved France and obviously learnt over there how to turn around the streets in order to have a better price on the meter (for him, not for us) so we ended paying slightly over JPY 1,000.- which is clearly a rip-off but show you that, even by taking lengthy detours, the hotel is close to the station, which is why we chose it. Note that I do not blame the hotel for our crook cab driver!

As a conclusion, I would still recommend the hotel if you need to spend one night close to the station (we landed in Nagoya at 8 p.m. and took the shuttle to the train station at 7:05 a.m. on the next day) but not if you wish to have a few days touristic or romantic experience in Nagoya.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I'm a long time fan of Dormy Inns across Japan because of their good service and especially because of their on-site onsen, which is an excellent perk when you're about to begin a long day or as a way to relax after a day of sightseeing.

The Dormy Inn Nagoya is not particularly one of their most upscale ones like Fukuoka or Kanazawa, however it gets the job done and it enjoys a good location in Nagoya.

The room itself was very basic but not much different from other Japanese business hotels, we got a room with a very tiny window. On the bright side though it was -very- quiet and perfect for resting.

The sento bath is one of the smaller ones I've experienced in Dormy Inns but it was clean and well maintained.

I would have to agree with the reviewers that say the location is about a 10 minute walk from Nagoya station. I actually took the shuttle bus back to the station as I thought I would save time and avoid carrying my bags, but it ended up being much slower than walking due to traffic (so, moral of the story, station is much closer walking than driving !).

Walking to downtown Nagoya (Sakae area) from there is not too far either, you can probably cover the distance in 20-30 minutes at a leisurely pace. The subway in Nagoya isn't quite as extensive as in other cities so walking may be a smarter choice if you're just covering short distances, the nearest subway station isn't too close to this hotel.

As with most business hotels in Japan, internet is free via LAN cable.

If you need an international ATM there's also a post office a few blocks from the station.

There are plenty of food options in the nearby streets, and of particular note is the YamaChan chain which is famous for its Nagoya style chicken wings.

So, bottom line, good hotel in a good location, not luxurious by any means though so don't expect many frills. But if you want a place to rest in a convenient location (and with Japanese bath facilities), you've got the right spot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardobtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We decided to stay in Nagoya for 3 nights as we were planning a day trip to Takayama and visits to both the Toyota museums and the Asahi Brewery.

As Dormy Inn was relatively close to the Nagoya train station, we decided to try this hotel chain out. And as expected, it was majorly catered for business men - they had shuttle buses to and from the train station but only at rush hours timings and they provided free ramen for dinner. Though near to the train station, the roads leading from the station to the hotel were red brick roads which made rolling our luggages extremely difficult.

* One tip, when checking into the hotel, head to the carpark to use the elevator to get to the first floor. There will be a buzzer on the door and you can just speak english into the telecom. If not, you will have to climb 2 flights of stairs to the hotel lobby.

In terms of shopping, dining or late night entertainment, the Dormy Inn Nagoya is situated between office buildings and luxury shopping malls - hence, the budget friendly dining choice aren't plentiful, and you can forget about shopping, unless you are willing to spend on luxe items like Dior and LV, which they have massive stores of.

The rooms are also incredibly small and the room that my husband and i were in was facing the wall of the next building - which made it rather seem rather claustrophobic as we liked to keep our hotel windows opened for fresh air.

My husband and I walked for about 15 minutes till we reached Akamon street and this is where we would highly recommend EVERYONE to go to. Street shopping, dining and numerous malls, it is a very exciting place to go to. unfortunately, my husband and i had only catered an evening to head to a 7-storey 2nd hand items malls there - and did not realise that Akamon has tons of indie shopping options and even a street for old vinyl and new audio goods! Akamon street would have probably been more vibrant and exciting in the day, because at night, it was rather quiet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikittaFinitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Not very impressed.

When you arrive here there is a flight of stairs up to the reception. Having dragged 2 huge suitcases up the stairs, I found that there was a lift if I'd gone into the car park.

Room was very small and they had tried to cram in too much. It was clean and comfortable however. Breakfast was pretty poor and the staff didn't seem too interested.

Overall, I thought this place was overrated and wouldn't want to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Sakae Tokyu REI Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Express Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Express Nagoya

Property: Dormy Inn Express Nagoya
Address: 1-11-8 Meiekiminami, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0003, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Express Nagoya 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, HRS, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy Inn Express Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing