We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eerie but right next to Ohsu Shrine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abest Osu-Kannonekimae
Ranked #96 of 172 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This place wasn't exactly bad, but the set up was a little thrown together and I just couldn't stop thinking about The Shining during my stay. It's a hotel, but I stayed in a dorm converted from a traditional Japanese tatami mat room. The setup made me think of hosteling as a 'beggars can't be choosers' situation whereas I choose hostels not only to save money, but also for the atmosphere.

I would stay here again only if with others. Being a solo female it was just too creepy; the set up was so removed from management and other guests and the room key is shared, leaving zero security.

Also, they set the room up so that the light and heat switches can only be turned off by one guest because of where they placed the futons. This could easily be fixed if management had put a little thought into it. Instead, I burned up all night with the light on because I couldn't reach the switch over another sleeping guest.

If you can check in early, I would go move the futons but keep in mind that your belongings are not secure.

The shower is in a separate room but was adequate.

The one plus is that it is right by the Ohsu shrine and shopping area. It is not near a JR station, though so keep that in mind if you have a JR pass or Seishun 18 Kippu.

One more tip for management: the hotel's name on google maps, hostelworld and the main building vary which is confusing. I know it's a hotel as well, but a single name would be much easier considering it has such a generic name in the first place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank SumSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed here for two nights and had a bed in an 8 bed dormroom. This is actually a hotel but they set aside two meeting rooms for dormitories. The dorms were clean, beds were good (tatami, futon, of course) and there was only one other person sharing the big room with me. Attached to the room is toilet and sink, shower is located in a different single room to which you get a key. Location is great, 2 minutes from Ohsu kannon station, right opposite of a 7eleven, very close to great shopping and food. The staff is very friendly, Japanese-like reserved and leaves you alone. On the ground floor there is a cafe for breakfast etc. There are no security lockers for your valuables, though!
HOWEVER, this is truly just a middleclass hotel. If this is what you are looking for, go ahead. I am a hostel traveller and considering that Ohsu Plaza dorm beds are about the same prize as any other hostel bed in a dorm in Japan (around 2300-2500 Yen), this place is a bad deal as there is no common room, no outdoor space, no special atmosphere, no people to meet. This is why I give this place 3 stars only, I think their label Hostel at hostelworld.com is somewhat misleading.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank きょんつぅ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 車が大きくてもフロント前に停めさせてくれる
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sizuharuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank takakokatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank BOSS1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
フロント担当スタッフ, フロント at Hotel Abest Osu-Kannonekimae, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Hamilton Hotel -Black-
Hamilton Hotel -Black-
#64 of 172 in Nagoya
126 reviews
Nagoya Station
Fushimi Mont-Blanc Hotel
Fushimi Mont-Blanc Hotel
#82 of 172 in Nagoya
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya New Rolen Hotel
Nagoya New Rolen Hotel
#152 of 172 in Nagoya
68 reviews
Nagoya Station
Hamilton Red
Hamilton Red
#61 of 172 in Nagoya
84 reviews
Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
#149 of 172 in Nagoya
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abest Osu-Kannonekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abest Osu-Kannonekimae

Address: 2-24-45 Osu, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0011, Aichi Prefecture (Formerly Hotel & Hall Ohsu Plaza)
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 172 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range: $45 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abest Osu-Kannonekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abest Osu-Kannonekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing