We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very bad experience and will never stay at this hotel again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Leopalace Nagoya
Ranked #54 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I recently traveled to Japan for a 15 day adventure with my daughter. We stayed in Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and ended our trip in Nagoya as I had a deliver a lecture at the Aichi Cancer Center. Upon arrival to this hotel, we were treated like unwelcomed guests. We were asked to pay for all 3 days in advance and when I acted surprise, the manager/clerk became rather agitated with me. This is the first time in all the years of travel (I travel 5-6 times a year) that I have been asked to pay before I even step foot in the room. After I paid, I asked for a receipt/voucher and again was treated rudely. Later that day, we were being picked up by my colleague (who is Japanese) and once we got to his car he indicated that it was very surprising that the hotel manager referred to us as two foreigners waiting in the lobby. It should be noted that the hotel staff did not speak English, which made communication rather difficult. The last night of our stay, I wanted to make a toll free call to the international Continental Airlines office and not only I could not call outside from the hotel room, but when I called front desk they had no idea what I was referring to when I stated toll free. They showed no interest in helping.

Other issues with the hotel, besides rudeness and lack of English dialect, is that the hotel is not very centrally located and most Taxi drivers have never heard of the hotel. It took 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station and 25 minute ride from Nagoya train station to the hotel by Taxi (that is if the driver could find the hotel promptly).

So, while our stay at Nagoya and Japan in general was magical and we had a great time, the negative experience at the hotel was not welcomed at all. There are plenty other nice hotels around the train station that we will happily stay at next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kandymarsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

This hotel is spacious enough for a mid-range hotel in Nagoya.
The equipments are convinient for a business use.
5 minute walk from the nearest subway/JR station. 5 minute walk to Imaike, a traditional commacial district in Nagoya.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hevvo_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kazuuhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank らりぽん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルレオパレス名古屋, 営業ディレクター at Hotel Leopalace Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank TakoMan_YFM_No12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルレオパレス名古屋, 営業ディレクター at Hotel Leopalace Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank isladbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルレオパレス名古屋, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Leopalace Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
22116
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルレオパレス名古屋, フロントスタッフ at Hotel Leopalace Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Chikusa / Ozone
Route Inn Nagoya Imaike Ekimae
Chikusa / Ozone
Mielparque Nagoya
Mielparque Nagoya
#41 of 177 in Nagoya
175 reviews
Daini Fuji Hotel
#81 of 177 in Nagoya
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Chikusa / Ozone
Sir Winston Hotel
Sir Winston Hotel
#56 of 177 in Nagoya
81 reviews
Chikusa / Ozone
Hotel  Rubura Ozan
Hotel Rubura Ozan
#127 of 177 in Nagoya
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopalace Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopalace Nagoya

Address: 3-4-4 Uchiyama, Chikusa-ku, Nagoya 464-0075, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Chikusa / Ozone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range: $64 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leopalace Nagoya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an elegant decor and a warm hospitality, Hotel Leopalace Nagoya welcomes you for an unforgettable vacation.Located 5 minutes walk from the Imaike Station, the Hotel Leopalace Nagoya is 5 kilometres from the city centre and 50 kilometres from the airport. This property is close to business, shopping and entertainment districts of Nagoya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Leopalace Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing