We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Nagoya
Ranked #32 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tired and old”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was not very nice. Only stayed one night for a Sumo Tournament and glad it wasnt any longer.

Location was okay in the Sakae area which I'm told is fairly central.

The room is dark, the furniture probably hadnt been changed since the 80s. The clock seriously looked like the 80s idea of futuristic.

It was reasonably clean enough but for Japan's standards, it was probably the worst out of everywhere we stayed.

When I booked, I was also told there would be free wifi. However when we got there the staff had very limited english and told us that internet was only available for Japanese users. They could not explain anymore than that.

Also when we asked for an English map, they dug up a French one, handed it to us and pretty much sent us on our way. In terms of service, particularly in Japan which is usually really good, it was not great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbearsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    168
    78
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
75
56
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Best Western Nagoya while traveling with my family and working at Nagoya University for a few days. I chose this place based on good TripAdvisor reviews, a central location, and a good price for the 3 of us found through BW's own website. We were a bit disappointed in the room for a family of 3, though it would have been better for an individual. We were quite happy with the location. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Sakae, which is perhaps the central point in Nagoya (note: use subway exit #12 for easiest access). This makes it easy to get to most places in Nagoya. The hotel rooms are ok, but a little worn. The main double bed was comfortable enough. The sofabed couch filled most of the rest of the room when extended. The rules were that there was no extra charge for a child if using existing bedding. But there was no additional bedding (that we could find). So we gave our daughter one of our pillows, and a sheet that we took from our bed, and found that one of the adult-sized yukatas (robes) in the room made a more-or-less functional set of covers. But we did at least appreciate that the extra bed could pack away during the day. The fridge in the room was much appreciated, as was the kettle. Internet is free - a good thing - but it is wired only, so no possibility of multiple users on-line at the same time, at least not without additional paraphernalia. The wired internet necessitated the use of the desk chair, which was surprisingly uncomfortable, at least for American-sized bodies (I'm tall, but quite thin). The A/C works great. We did not use the hotel breakfast most days, instead relying on the vast number of convenience stores to be found within a 2-block radius (the Japanese ones are much better than their American counterparts, in my opinion). We did try the breakfast buffet one day. It was ok, but not great. A reasonable selection of items in a pleasant enough setting, but not on the level that I've encountered at other Japanese hotels, and the food was of medium quality. The Starbucks in the lobby was appreciated. For the price that we got for the 3 of us, I was happy enough with this hotel, but it wasn't anything to write home about. If staying in Nagoya, I'd certainly be happy to stay at Sakae again, though. For exercise I enjoyed being able to run up to Nagoya Castle each morning. One can follow the "Central Park" past Nagoya Tower, and then jog across about a quarter mile to the path around the castle perimeter and adjoining park. Very pleasant, and even peaceful early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is purely a utilitarian hotel. Not bad, just not a lot amenities. There was free wired Internet in the room, and a computer in the lobby. There was a frig in the room. Although, it was half stocked with items the hotel wanted you to pay for. However, there was enough room to store things purchased from the convenience store located close by.

It was centrally located. Close to plenty of restaurants and bars, as well as a subway stop.

The room sizes were "average" for Japanese hotel rooms (i.e. small compare to most US hotel rooms). The rooms were very clean, also something very common in Japan (unfortunately, not as common the US). The staff did speak English well enough to check in and get general directions.

The bed was a bit hard, and pillow lumpy, but we made due.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights over the Japanese F1 Grand Prix weekend, but even so the price was still very reasonable. Close to Sakae Subway station and lots of Japanese and fast food dining options, 2 Lawson's, a 7/11 and a Circle K all within 3 minutes walk. Check-in was a breeze. For those travelling without a laptop, you can hire a laptop to access the free in-room LAN service for 1000Y a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights. the location isn`t too bad at all. about 3 minutes walk from Sakae station (subway).there`s many restaurants and clubs around. the staff speak fluent English and they were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honestjar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

hotel with chapel specializing in weddings. comfortably-sized rooms (queen double) by japanese standards with free wired internet. what distinguishes this hotel is the very friendly & helpful, english-speakng concierge. invaluable to first time visitors to a japanese city. amongst others, recommended excellent restaurants and stayed overtime to make the bookings on short notice. interesting breakfast that includes a vitamin and health supplement buffet. walking distance to the sakae subway station and sakae shopping district. phone hotel directly with exact travel dates to check their best direct rates vs online offers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripsjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel is very easy to get to via subway. The staff were excellent, most of them spoke very good english. They also gave great advice about travelling to sightseeing spots.
The room was nice and functional. The beds were soft. The hotel is in a business/shopping district, so the views from the window weren't great. If you're not careful, you may walk into the seedy area where the business men get their pleasures ;)
The hotel is a fair walk (more than 20 mins) to the shopping/nightlife of Nagoya near Osu. There were plenty of department stores and posh shops in Sakae where this hotel is located. But we weren't too up for the 'companionship' or karaoke bars that were being offered...
Good for a stopover or place to stay to get to the sightseeing spots just outside Nagoya.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othersidedudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 168 in Nagoya
694 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
the b nagoya
the b nagoya
#11 of 168 in Nagoya
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Nagoya

Property: Best Western Hotel Nagoya
Address: 4-6-1 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Precede Nagoya)
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Nagoya 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing