We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Black

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamilton Black
Ranked #85 of 164 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If your looking for a clean, inexpensive and convenient room in downtown nagoya this is a great place. Under Y8,000 per night and right around the corner from Fushimi station and only mnutes to Sakae or Nagoya station. Better than your average business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEZARSTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
31
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hamilton Black for 3 nights in March and I thought that it was good value for the money. The room was a bit small and there was very little room to store my stuff but otherwise it was OK. For non-smokers I recommend that you insist on the non-smoking rooms, my smoking room was a bit musty and this is coming from a smoker... Location of the hotel is good and the breakfast is OK for a japanese offering. Wifi was a bit touch and go, worked good in the lobby but not so reliable in the room. Overall, knowing what I know from my fost visit, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed Hamilton black hotel 2 nights and it was reasonable. I booked family package as I have 4 people. Family package was in the smoking room. Which was not inform in the any website. I have a small kids and I was not impress as it should not be in the smoking room. Some rooms smelled terrible. Fortunately we had some Choices of the room and we could choose less smell room. But I strongly suggest that the family package should not be smoking room. Happy hour is nice. If you have a PC, you can have internet. There is a laundry and dryers although it does not say on the website. Breakfast is good enough. Good location to visit Nagoya science museum, art museum. Overall it's OK.

ファミリーパッケージは喫煙の部屋です。小さいこどものいる私達には理解できないです。ファミリーパッケージは、喫煙できる部屋にすべきではないとおもいます。pcをもっていればインターネットは無料ででき、ホテルの場所も科学博物館など近く場所的には便利。コインランドリーもサイトには載っていませんがあります。

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hotel looks nice from outside have s all rooms about 16-18 meter square which is commOn for jaPanese business hotels, location is ok, close from fushimi station , and. Ext to shooter the American sports bar. Convienet stores are also located just next to hotel , they also serve breakfast with room , but it's basic n mostly Japanese.rooms are clean and nice

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fandumany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We didn't know what to expect of this hotel when we arrived in Nagoya because the rates were very reasonable and the facade looked small. But when we got to our rooms, I was very happy. It was small, but VERY clean! The beds were so comfortable that I was tempted to just stay in and sleep. Location-wise, there's not much around it, but it's only a 5-minute walk to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asucachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Hamilton Red
Hamilton Red
#37 of 164 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Nagoya Station
Fushimi Mont-Blanc Hotel
Fushimi Mont-Blanc Hotel
#52 of 164 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Nagoya Station
Sanco Inn Nagoya Fushimi
Sanco Inn Nagoya Fushimi
#36 of 164 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Hotel Wing International Nagoya
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Nagoya Station
Hotel Trusty Nagoya
Hotel Trusty Nagoya
#20 of 164 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Black

Property: Hamilton Black
Address: 1-11-17 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station , Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 164 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Black 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hamilton Black reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing