We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient location as transit point to other parts of Chubu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location as transit point to other parts of Chubu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Location of hotel was great - close to the Nagoya train station and takashimaya shopping mall. Very convenient if you arrive in Nagoya on night flight or departing on early flight or train. Many restaurants and minimarts nearby. Didn't try the meals at the hotel but prices seem reasonable.
Room was small but comfortable enough for 2 people if you do not have big or multiple pieces of luggage.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    127
    98
    14
    6
See reviews for
45
43
51
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was close to Nagoya station and we needed a room for 1 night before taking an early train trip. As other reviewers have said it is a perfect location...in front of the station. We choose twin bed rooms in Japan as they tend to be larger and this was the case with this room. Clean, quiet and had everything you need for a good night's sleep. Beds comfortable, good lighting. Can turn the AC off which we did as we usually find rooms in Japan too hot for sleeping. Usual bath room amenities, pajamas, green tea supplied. Small flat screen TV but no English channels. Reception is managed 24 hours so check in and out is no problem. Staff had enough English so that we could make ourselves understood. We accidentally brought our safe key with us from another hotel and the staff at this hotel kindly rang the hotel, explained and then sent the key on for us, no charge. Nothing was too much trouble

Room Tip: If you need a non smoking room, ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed from 5 - 16 October.

Breakfast - Choice of Japanese (L2) to Western (L1). Western breakfast could be better if they change the menu daily.

Location - Walk out of the hotel, left turn is Nagoya station. Dun go down underpass.. Can walk across to the station by the road crossing. Around the hotel, there are many eateries. Mainly japanese food. There was a british pub too.

Room - Just nice for a luggage and no space to walk.

There is a washing maching, vending maching on L2. Wifi was good.

Only few service staff speaks english.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, close proximity to Nagoya Station is a big plus (ekimae means in front of station). The stairway down to the station is just around the corner. You don't even have to cross the street.

I call the hotel superior because the rooms are very very clean. Yes, rooms are small, but that is what you expect of a business hotel in Japan.

There are two computers in the lobby for free Internet access if you do not have your own device. For us, they were a lot more efficient to use than our iPhones.

We got a package that included breakfast, something that we do not normally do. We usually visit neighborhood shops for coffee and breakfast. BUT we must say that the extra cost was worth it. The hotel offers two breakfast styles -- Western style on the first floor and Japanese style on the second floor. The Western spread gives you lots of food, including toast, pastries, eggs, sausage, cereal, juice and coffee. The Japanese breakfast is in a room with a view out the picture windows. Give it a try. We liked it just as much as the Western style (fyi, my wife was born and raised in Japan).

All in all, our stay for three nights was very good. No problems.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms, like ours, are large than others. Perhaps because it was a double and not a singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iskating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

i chose montblanc because it was the only hotel we could find in a rush with a 3-bed room. we walked in, got the room and fully satisfying service. i didn't regret my choice: me and my friends had a short but very pleasant stay. the room was small but i assume that's expected in japan. i remember the bed was great and any traveler will appreciate a good night's sleep. central location, very close to the nagoya station and to a thousand restaurants, bars, stores. also, i remember it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreeapopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

This hotel is only a 2 minute walk away from JR Nagoya station, the subway and a shopping area which makes it a perfect place to stay if you are arriving or leaving by Shinkansen and don't want to drag heavy suitcases too far. It is classed as a Business Hotel which probably relates to the size of the very small bedrooms and even tinier bathroom, but the affordable rates and convenient location make up for any shortcomings. We chose a twin bedded room as it had a larger floor area than a doublebed room. The room was tired but spotlessly clean. My only complaint was that the room windows could not be opened for fresh air and we had to rely on airconditoning.
The reception staff speak limited English but are happy to help wherever possible. The hotel also offers an Italian restaurant on the ground floor, a Japanese one on the second floor along with well equiped vending machines. I would definately stay here again if only because of the location.

  • Liked — proximity to JR railway station
  • Disliked — lumpy hard pillows
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anzacbiscuit08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

I stayed for two nights in August on a holiday trip. Although it was not as expensive as other hotels, it had the smallest room of the entire trip. Seated on the toilet, my knees topped the wall!!! Service was ok; they even greeted me using my name as I was entering the lobby!!! The hotel is very close to the train station and carries the expected amenities.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Small rooms and bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andariego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
#29 of 166 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Sakuradori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
#19 of 166 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Nagoya Station
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel

Property: Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
Address: 3-14-1 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing