We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel...poor front office staff..atleast some of them”
Review of Captains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captains Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at Captain's hotel in Aqaba for a night in September last week. While the location is quite good (not on the beach but hardly 5 minutes walk from the public beach and right in the middle of the food district, with lots of restaurant options), my concern was with the treatment meted out to me at the Hotel by the staff...front office and the restaurant (Captain's restaurant in the ground floor of the hotel. I think I am being balanced and generous in giving it a 3 star rating inspite of the treatment meted to me.

The issue I faced - a) Denied a table in the almost empty restauramt quoting some vague reason and b) Delaying my check-out at 4 AM in the morning on the pretext of checking the mini-bar inspite of confirming that I have not consumed anything from the minibar. I could see the front office staff talking and asking someone to go over and check the minibar. And it did not end there.I was told that I have consumed a chocolate from the minibar. On reiterating the stand that I have not consumed anything I was made to write that on a piece of paper. If you don't trust your customer, Its fine, do get things checked but after asking and then checking...you are making it very obvious what you think of the customer. I have never been humilated every anywhere either in my country or outside or for that matter in any other hotels in Jordan itself. It has definitely left a bad taste for me atleast.....

Well, I dont let a couple of instances create an impression about a place, people, a country but definitely wanted to put this on record...I had an enjoyable stay otherwise in Aqaba and a wonderful stay at Jordan.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvdsuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Captains Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our visit to Jordan. The hotel has a sailor theme which seemed interesting and unique. The hotel is not as modern looking and the lighting inside the hotel is a little dark. I found our room spacious, but the bathroom was pretty small (i.e. the door can’t open all the way before it hits the shower door). However, the shower had multiple nozzles (with different pressures) which made for a nice massaging shower. The bed was also quite comfortable. There are quite a few restaurants in the area, but we did find it difficult to come by food just because we went during the period of Ramadan so restaurants were closed during the day due to fasting. We weren’t too happy that WIFI isnt complimentary, but there is a McDonalds about a 15mins walk from the hotel that provides free WIFI. Breakfast service was a little slow, but the food served was decent - scrambled eggs with a typical Jordanian meal (ie flatbread, humus, olives, vegetables). Overall, we would stay at this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I booked a room, during check-in the staff at the reception were not smiling. then the surprise ..... they said in the booking website that the room size is 28m, however the room was max 15m. and guess what; it was really smelly (mix of sweat and smoking).

we wanted to check-out immediately, they refused to refund us then we talked to the manager and after a long discussion, they deduct 40% of what w had already paid.

bottom line, find a proper hotel if you have mid to high standards in hotels

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel amazingly friendly and attentive staff fantastically accommodating with children can not find any fault with them. Pool a little small but there wasnt anytime that we couldnt get a lounger or it was over crowded.
Rooms cleaned everyday nothing ws a problem for them deffinatley reccommend it over big resort hotels.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe suite worth the extra
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has a very good location among all interesting restaurants ,rent car and all needed services
Though its a three star hotel but I didn't find they miss any thing from the five stars ones rooms are very good very clean and very nice staff
Quite rooms wifi is available also

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mbsaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Captain is a nice place, l can't enjoy in aqaba with out take my coffee at thier terrace in the morning and argeelah in the night

THe rooms are very good condition and peaceful and I feel very comfortable
The gym is amazing
Breakfast is very good too

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khfkhaitheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

to anyone who wants an amazaing hotel to spend thier holidays in aqaba they can chose the captins hotel in the heart of aqba city in a very nice loction and it's exellent service it started as the best sea food restorant in aqaba and you'll get a very exellent treatment from the captin's hotel team

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmadabdelkhaleq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Hotel

Address: Aqaba, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: $68 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captains Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Captains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing