We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid-range hotel”
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good mid-range hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We were looking for a budget hotel, but found some of the cheapies in town to be truly grim. On entering the rather grand lobby here, I thought we'd never be able to afford a room, but the guy at reception offered us a "single" room for 40 dinar (roughly €40). A "single" room has just one double bed, as opposed to a double room, which has two. The room was a decent size, smart, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was quite small, but very clean and had constant hot water. It was good to have a fride for chilling all the mineral water! Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    22
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We choose the hotel by pure chance and were happy with it. It was reasonably priced, cheap compared to other places we stayed at in Jordan. Room was very big, clean, with sitting area, satellite tv, big (empty fridge), comfortable bed and great views over the busy streets of the shopping area. Staff was friendly. There is no internet access at the hotel. There's a restaurant, but it did not appeal to us, so can't really comment.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ksturzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We paid 45 JD for a triple room which was spacious, clean, quiet and nicely furnished. It is right in the center of Aqaba, and the town is quite small so you can get anywhere on foot. We had to pay extra for the breakfast, but it was only 2 JD so it was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindacarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

Avoid the international hotels in town by staying at this local place, right in the centre. Okay, it hasn't got a pool or five star luxury but it certainly has character!

Ask for a room overlooking the street; some look into a courtyard. They may be quieter but you'd miss the delights of watching the locals go about their daily businesses.

Rooms are huge and well equipped, Breakfast was okay. Otherwise we eat in town. Be aware you are in the locals area, so women should dress modestly

Two tips: the reception staff will try to rip you off for a taxi to the airport. Just book one in the street outside. Ours turned up at 6.15 am as promised (but the airport was shut when we got there so don't go more than an hour before flight)

The restaurant at the Yacht Club (off the roundabout by the harbour) is open to all and food/setting is wonderful. Not cheap (by local standards) but worth the treat.

  • Liked — Local character
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank papa-rupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

Good size rooms. Noisy if facing street but this can be drowned out by the air con! Very helpful reception staff: got me a discounted entry into Royal Diving Club for snorkelling. Central location, close to shops and sea.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2005

huge rooms. meal was good but very simple.
hotel employes were very kind and professionals.
very good location!
it's a cheap hotel close to the "bazar". it's very interresting watching the citizens from the window

Helpful?
13 Thank Viktor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.5 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
#32 of 40 in Aqaba
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
Mina Hotel
Mina Hotel
#27 of 40 in Aqaba
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Aqaba
Days Hotel Aqaba
#17 of 40 in Aqaba
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: Cornish Street | PO Box 905, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing