We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like VIPs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We were treated like VIPs”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our spring break trip in April 2014. We were treated like the VIPs in the movies! All of use were greeted with smiles and cold juices! Awesome for a very hot day. Everything was taking care of effortlessly. Our rooms were comfortable and clean, but we only spend the sleeping time there and most of our stay was at the beach!

InterContinental has their private beach and top notch pools. My kids ages varied from teens to toss all loved them! The ocean water was cool and so clear that I can see my toes! The sand beneath my feel were soft like silk blankets!

I highly recommend you staying at the InterCon if you can!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Ashley Y,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
We are really proud to have a review from such a top TripAdvisor contributor, where we value comments and thoughts from an expert.
I am thrilled beyond words to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. You certainly have an eye for detail and description. Mentioning “The ocean water was cool and so clear that I can see my toes! The sand beneath my feet were soft like silk blankets!”, I love your description of the service " We were treated like the VIPs in the movies!", you and every guest who stays with us is a VIP and our staff takes great pride in making our guests' wishes come true.
Thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home, Intercontinental Aqaba Resort
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    248
    78
    36
    20
See reviews for
357
333
57
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Really very well done. Friendly staff who tried hard to make everything perfect. Large room with great bathroom fittings, well executed marquetry, good HVAC. Great views to the Gulf. Worst criticism - some broken tiles on the huge pool deck area. I mentioned mosquitoes to the room cleaner who immediately addressed the issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear RCMV,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at our Resort,we do appreciated guests' comments and always seeking every guest's feedback as they are framing our ways of working and showing our areas for improvement.
Your good words about our resort's facilities and staff behaviors are an inspiration for our team to deliver a consistent high level of service.
thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home, Intercontinental Aqaba Resort.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 2 weeks. when we arrived with my family and some friends the reception was quiet busy talking to each other and not paying attention to the guests arrival but still we manage to smile maybe because we are excited on our vacation. after nearly 20minutes of waiting, we were attended and guided to our room.
the room was standard like any other hotel and we have this sea view which was amazing and we have balcony too. all was clean and tidy and organized. thank you to those staff who always keep all rooms like this.
we went immediately to the beach which was not realy crowded, it was weekdays anyway first this beach tall male staff wearing eyeglasses all the time was the first to greet us, we were happy but as times goes by, he was quiet annoying talking to us nonsense at all i don't even know what he was talking about. i don't understand his english very well he was trying hard to please us he talks too much..and then we thought the bar staff was fighting with each other when they talk so loud you can even hear them at the beach..they were shouting at each other, it's a very disturbing gesture considering this is a 5 star hotel!! how many times i heard them over the weeks and the music was very loud, not appropraite either. ATTENTION MANAGEMENT, you need to TAME the talkativeness and wild personalities of you staff!
breakfast was good except for the staff not smiling at all..i understand weekends are busy and all were running around just to accommodate everyone but suggestion, you need more manpower. And also, only filipinas were working, the rest of the guys are nowhere to be seen, oh i forget i've seen some waiters telling the ladies staff to do this and do that while they do nothing, nor help. this is inhumane. we are so disappointed how you manage your staff.
for the good side the location of the hotel is perfect, some things need to be fixed especially the personalities of your staff how to handle guests.. we feel they act not naturally, overating, exaggerated, just like opening a tiny bottle of ketchup, we can do it on our own, you don't have to spoon feed us and besides it looks unnatural. nevertheless, we enjoyed the stayed there. thank you.
and last thing, as i read some of the reviews, i agree with one guest, special mention of staff names are their FRIENDS no less. be true and acknowledge those who are really helpful. Jafar, Anas, Mahadawi and the guy always wering blue shirt at the pool is attentive and helpful. some i forgot their names but overall good.
we mostly stayed at the beach the whole day weeks to enjoy the warmth of the sun, we met Shkaka couple of days before we left, she was very kind and approachable and caring.she always wear a smile to everybody, but i wonder we only saw her in few days of our stay there, Fadi was there too to help us and suggests good food.
burj restaurant has great food, twas delicious.
we will be back i hope somethings are change.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear jamie r,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at our Resort.
We do appreciated guests' comments and always seeking every guest's feedback as they are framing our ways of working and showing our areas for improvement.
Thank you for the good comments about the resort ,please also allow me to thank you for your positive comments with regards to my team who looked after you during your stay with us, some of whom you have personally acknowledged. I will definitely ensure that your compliments are shared with the concerned.
We were regretful to learn of your concerns with your recent stay , I sincerely apologize there were some missteps on our part, but we are happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed the stay . I will discuss with my team on how we can prevent those points to happen in the future and necessary actions will be taken, we are confident that this is not a true reflection of our high level of service. and I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence back during your next visit.
thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home, Intercontinental Aqaba Resort
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel offers everything needed to make for a comfortable stay.
Very good recognition for platinum Members (private check in, upgrade to the suite room, etc).
Everybody there is extremely friendly and helpful, especially Filipino ladies from the Executive Club.
The room was clean, large with great panoramic view of the beach.
The hotel location is great as well, an easy excess to the heart of the town

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartiPietruszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear MartiPietruszka,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
First of all I would like to thank for your loyalty as an IHG rewords club Platinum member.
Thank you for writing such a great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our employees,location,room,beach and cleanliness.
thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home, Intercontinental Aqaba Resort
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

A big big hotel for many guests at the same time. A lot of different people can meet there without fealing bad or strange.
Own beach with clear water. Several pools. Entertainment during the whole day. Maybe a bit noisy at the pool if you want to be just quite.
Nice staff in the restaurants, excellent food. A big barbeque on thursday evening.
We spent 3 nights there. The last day we had to leave before opning the kitchen for breakfast, but it was no problem to get a huge breakfast box for take away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Maria M,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your recent stay, as well for posting your positive moments thoughts of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor.
Your good words about our resorts’ facilities, pool, food and restaurants are an inspiration for our team to deliver a consistent high level of service. I have also noted your feedback about noises by the pool, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back to our resort; we truly hope that your travels bring you back to the Aqaba.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I especially want to mention the beach caffe with excellent waitors Akhmed Begdas, Mustafa Abu Raiseh, Krizzia Sibal , Akhmad Blibleh and many others! They are always attentive, very helpful and at hand with customers. The food is always fresh and tasty. No wonder under the supervision of the Food and Beverage manager Tamer Abu Jaraise! I strongly recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aziza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Aziza P,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
We would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your stay and for posting your review.
In addition, I would like to thank you as well for your compliments towards our staff at Beach Front restaurant . Please note that these have been communicated to the concerned.
Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Aqaba Resort in the near future.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

It's fair to say that our expectations of the Intercon Aqaba were very high. We had just come from the Intercon in Amman where we had a wonderful stay, we are Ambassador members and regularly stay at the Intercon in Doha which is a great hotel. We were also influenced by the very good reviews and overall rating compared with other hotels in Aqaba.
The disappointment began with check-in. We arrived at the main reception and stood there with our bags for nearly 10 minutes without even being acknowledged by anyone. The two reception staff were busy with other guests but could have at least given a nod, or a smile, or a "We'll be with you shortly". Eventually we were directed to guest relations and checked in by a Mr Khalid. He was pleasant enough and informed us our room was not ready. That was fair, as it was early. He then advised us that it was a standard room with twin beds but that as Ambassador members he was going to give us club lounge access rather than an upgrade. On face value, this seemed like a nice gesture, except that the room we had booked and paid for was a partial sea view room, not a standard room. I referred him to our booking. It seems others have had this same issue. He agreed to provide us with a partial sea view room but told us it would be longer to wait, which was OK by us. We were shown to the club lounge where we ate the tail end of breakfast.
The time came and went when our room was due to be ready, so after two trips to guest relations as there was no one to assist in club lounge, we were finally given access to it.
The room was very un impressive. Quite dated, and the 'partial sea view' was virtually non- existent and looked out on a car park and the roof top of a function room.
We headed to the pool and beach area, which was only OK. The upkeep of the gardens was poor in comparison to other Intercon properties. I expect the regional manager would not be impressed.
Service on the beach was very slow and most times we had to seek out someone to take our order and then have to remind them when the food and drink didn't arrive.
The evening drinks and food in the club lounge was by far the most meagre and poor quality we have seen. Complementary drinks are only provided for an hour and the ambiance of the lounge was substandard compared with other club lounges. The view is great though.
Breakfast was average.
I hope management takes these comments as constructive. The link to the Intercon survey emailed to us following our stay didn't work, although the one for the Intercon Amman did!
PS On second look at a number of the reviews, I wonder whether there may be quite a few that are not genuine. I am always wary of the '1 review wonders' which provide high but non-specific praise for named staff members.
Next time, despite being Ambassador members we would stay at the Movenpick, Kempinski or Doubletree by Hilton.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room category you have booked and try for a sea view as the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisey29226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear wisey29226,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
First of all I would like to thank for your loyalty as an Ambassador member, and it was a great pleasure welcoming you to our Resort.
We appreciate receiving your constructive comments with regards to your recent stay with us.
I am very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that you had few issues.
For that, I would like to apologize, I will discuss with my team on how we can prevent those points to happen in the future.
The service you experienced is uncharacteristic and we hope you'll give us a chance to make things right,we want nothing more than to show you the sort of experience upon which we've built our reputation.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#19 of 40 in Aqaba
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Property: InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Address: King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, where a variety of historical ruins, the aquarium and a taste of Middle Eastern culture can always be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing