We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility spoiled by its staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very unprofessional slow moving front desk staff of which one or two are actively doing their job while the others are apathetic. Though polite they stand doing nothing and as a result our check in time lasted 40 min. while it took us a whopping 1h to check out.
We also felt bad about them trying to convince us with a lower grade rooms than the ones we reserved.
The purpose of my stay in Aqaba was to fulfill the wish of my elderly mom who desired to sit by the sea.
I reserved two Club rooms so that she has the spectacular view from her balcony on the fifth floor and easy access to the Executive Lounge. The check in staff initially tried to convince me to accept rooms on the third floor claiming that these are also Club Rooms which is not correct. When I refused to accept those rooms they offered me one Club room on the fifth floor and the other on the 4th floor. Finally (after 40 min.) we were directed to the Executive Lounge where a very polite and helpful young lady arranged for us two adjacent Club rooms on the fifth floor. By the time I got the rooms that I reserved in the first place I was already frustrated with my check in experience.
I wonder why we were not escorted immediately to the fifth floor reception for check in. And why they were trying to convince me with lower grade rooms on the third floor while my reservation was for Club Rooms and reserved rooms were available.
We ate once at Burj Al Hamam Restaurant and if food is all about ingredients, preparation and presentation all three were Kentucky grade while the price was of course Intercontinental grade. I am not annoyed by the price but by the fact that I could not get a nice meal against it. I suggest that the chef should pay a visit to Romero restaurant in the Marina for some training.
The staff in the Executive Lounge including the chef and waitresses was excellent in all aspects.
This applies as well to the beach staff but it does not apply to the main restaurant staff.
Though I am Jordanian, I am sorry to say that many Jordanian staff that I interacted with is unprofessional and lacking training and service attitude in comparison with the excellent Filipino staff.
The air condition in the room was so noisy that one felt on a jet thus resulting in a bad sleeping experience.
Finally our invoice came different from our reservation price though reservation was made directly with the hotel and we had to wait more time at check out for getting clearance from the management to reduce the invoice rate to match that of the original reservation.
So all in all
- Lousy check-in/check-out, food in Burj AL Hamam, service staff in the
main restaurant and noise level in the room.
- Excellent view from the balcony of the rooms on the 5th floor, executive
room and beach staff and nice beach.

Room Tip: Club rooms on the fifth floor have nice view from the balcony and access to a nice executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sa'd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Mr. Sa'ad I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to Check-in, Check-out Experience, Burj Al Hamam restaurant food preparation,service at main restaurant and noise in the room.It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose InterContinental Aqaba Resort for your future travel needs.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

The resort was a nice one Its location is excellent ,rooms spacious, with friendly staff and other facilities especially spa were up to our expectations . Rooms actually needs some renovations .Food quality and diversity is average and can be better .All in all its an excellent resort ,very suitable for all kinds of accomodations

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hussein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Hussein A
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
We were very delighted for welcoming you in our resort, and we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your stay as well for taking the time advising us of you experience .
Thanks for your kind words about the location,the room,the staff and the spa, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your constructive comments are highly appreciated, and would assure you that all were handled and discussed deeply for further improvement.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Aqaba. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back to Intercontinental Aqaba Resort soon.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is our third stay. The hotel was good last year, however, the new senior management team have improved it even more, with their focus being all about ensuring the guests receive the highest standard of service possible - the improvements are tangible and it is obvious that the staff also really "buy-in" to what Mr Mazen and his management team are looking to achieve. Location is excellent, facilities comparable with other 5-star hotels, pool and beach area large and well-maintained and food quality, thanks to the attention of newly arrived Executive Chef Eric, very good. Mention must be made of Club Lounge staff Mary-Grace, Jillianne and Cheska, Guest Relations staff Hala and Amer, Mustafa and the rest of the team at the pool bar, Ashraf in rooms division and Ibrahim in the fitness centre. Also noteworthy is the sympathetic approach the HR department at the hotel took to their Phillipino staff who had been affected by Typhoon Haiyan. We would unreservedly recommend this hotel and are already planning our return visit in Nov 14.

Room Tip: Book a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymickChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Mr. Andymick

Fist Off All let me thank you for your loyalty of choosing InterContinental hotels group and Aqaba Resort!, and to thank you for supportive comments and recommendation, it’s our soul business to maintain the highest level of guest satisfaction, your valued comments and feedback cascaded among all head departments and for selected employees you mentioned, your feedback surely will inspire every single employee in InterContinental Aqaba Resort to keep going and not to spare any effort of guest satisfaction.
Again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we are happy to hear such valued feedback from valued guest like you. We hope to welcome you again in your second home.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Clean comfortable room with good quality linen and toiletries. Wide choice of buffet food and excellent beach cafe where prices were very reasonable and generous portions, although the ice cream was expensive as were drinks. Would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Jennifer F,

Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

It is very rewarding for us to know we have met our guests expectations, your feedback is essential in helping us to maintain high quality service, we want to thank you for your kind words and positive feedback and would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Aqaba Resort.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Yes great service this hotel
Specially about kids activities
Nice show at night
Special thanks for mustafa from beach restaurant and bar
He friendly and helpful. pool staff
Helpful too also general manager around in all area

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank True H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear True H,

Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at intercontinental Aqaba Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A very confortable resort, beautiful swimming pools, clean and nice staff. I spend only one day, but it was a very relaxing day in the hotel. The spa is very big although all the accomodations are separated, for men and women. A little bit expensive.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CBechelany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear CBechelany,

Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba!

Thank you for taking the time to write us your positive feedback, we are always delighted to hear responses from our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your evaluation is of a great value to us all and it will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Hotel Aqaba where we commit to displaying the true level of service we aspire to.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

As a hotel and facilities it is one of the best in Aqaba city center the beach is clean and wide , the breakfast include all things you can imagine . Rooms are so clean. Free WIFI


Bad management: check in not possible before 3:30 always the rooms not ready i waited till 4:30 to check in .

Deport the guests by Alway remind you that the check out at 12:00 and this is inconvenience.




Stayed: October 2013
Thank Momani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Momani1,

Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

I would like to take the chance to first thank you for your review and comments, hoping that your dissatisfaction did not spoil your memories of your stay at our property.

Your comments have been passed along to concerned Department Head, and I would like to assure you that they will be looked into. We will be happy to demonstrate on your next visit the progress that we will have done in the efficiency and courtesy of our front office operations.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Aqaba Resort.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Mazen Abu Sakha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.4 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel by Swiss-Belhotel
0.5 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#16 of 41 in Aqaba
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 2311, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: $165 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing