We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A really good hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were supposed to stay overnight in a bedouin tent in Wadi Rum. But the weather was bad and we decided to proceed to Aqaba. The weather was better there and the hotel was really nice. Our room was very good. Food and service were excellent. The beach was clean and with a nice view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlareza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    251
    79
    36
    20
See reviews for
388
338
56
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have no complains about them, service was great and the people were nice, but maybe I had a higher expectation for IHG. Quite an old hotel I would say and it is located at the end of the stripe thus getting around is quite a chore.

The beach was great and the pool was big as well. Not disappointed but expected something more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeaneNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear KeaneNg,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service you received. However, we are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in our facility and location. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We value your loyalty to our brand and hotels and the feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

First I would like to thanks everyone in intercontinental aqaba for the great service I traveled twice between September and October one with my colleagues and one with my friends we had so much fun it was two days trip but it was awesome since the check in tell the check out , Room was very nice looking over aqaba city and the sea pool was so much fun and the big thanks for Ahmad at bar inside the pool also Hamzeh front office , Amar in the room service .
I recommend this hotel over all hotels in aqaba and definitely I will come back soon with the family !! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadeqS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 2011, 2012, 2013. The hotel itself has the Beach in downtown Aqaba. The Food is excellent both breakfast and dinner. If you feel like coffee and gateau around 4 in the afternoon that too is very good. The rooms are spacious and clean, and to have that little extra from housekeeping it is always a good idea to leave a little tip. A Nice balcony to sit and relax whenever you feel like it and look at the sea view. You stroll Down to the Beach and collect Your towels and water and enjoy a lovely lunch during Your day on the Beach. Of course a trip to Petra is a must. We love it.

Room Tip: 4th floor but deluxe, inside of hotel With sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonardfrankp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

A cramped, awfully noisy, overpriced room.
Due to the conditions I've just mentioned, it is difficult to enjoy the Red Sea view, or the good internet connection.
Continuous banging & slamming doors 'til 10:30PM.
Awakened @1:30AM & 5:00 AM.
24hr maids keep the rooms fairly clean- but not exceptionally so, considering the disruption.
Instead of apologizing for my bad stay, the front desk staff was rude & dismissive.
Despite this, I asked for another day, to try again to get some rest. They said there are no rooms available; & I must leave.
I went straight online. The internet reservations sites showed full availability- in multiple room categories {including mine}. A shamefully dishonest front desk clerk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear xerophytic,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel Location:

The hotel is centrally located 10 minutes from the Eilat (Israel) border and about 15 minutes from the King Hussein International Airport. The hotel sits on the northern tip of the Red Sea, with private beach access. The water is crystal clear and great for diving. The views on the ocean side of the hotel are absolutely stunning with scenes of mountain ranges that seem to go on forever. During the times guest are not on the road touring they have all they could possibly need at this property-multiple restaurants (Pizza shop, Lebanese restaurant, Carniche’s restaurant boasts a variety of selection-we didn't make it there because of time). You also have a Spa and a very large gym. There is a shopping area where you can buy just about anything you need from soap, books, swim suites etc. You can also plan your tours right from the hotel at Thrifty Car Rental. They don’t just rent vehicles but plan excursions throughout the region to major tourist attractions and more. The gentleman running the place is named Mohammad and he can assist you getting anywhere!

Staff:

Customer service is taken very seriously at this IHG property. When my husband and I arrived we were greeted with warm welcomes by all staff members but the Guest Relations representative, Amer, was the absolute best. He sat down with us and discussed the layout of the hotel and all that it had to offer. He asked about our trip crossing the border to ensure that it was done with ease and efficiency—just a note; the Jordanian border guards are extremely efficient we actually made it across in about 10 minutes! Due to arriving early (we left Israel several hours early out of fear and misinformation that crossing the border would take at least 2 hours-this was pure nonsense) we had to wait for our room, we were allowed to hang out in the Intercontinental Club Lounge. The lounge was well decorated and comfortable; we had views of the ocean and were allowed to have beverages and a variety of appetizers. The staff in the lounge couldn't be nicer and more helpful. They attended to our every need promptly to the point we didn't even have time to ask.

Room:

We were upgraded to the Club floor which was located on the fifth floor. Our room had spectacular views of the ocean and mountain ranges. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath and a toilet and bidet. So you can imagine the bathroom was a nice large space. We had a king bed which was very comfortable and a space with desk and chairs. The best part of the room was deck/patio overlooking the Red Sea. I could have stayed there forever—really! When you see the pictures you will understand that this hotel is one of the best properties that IHG has to offer and I can’t wait to return.

Additional Information:

One should not feel apprehensive in crossing the Eilat/Jordan border. This is not a big deal! Remember that you will be required to pay an exit fee from both countries. This will not break the bank unless you are planning multiple entries into Jordan for more information:

http://www.visitjordan.com/Default.aspx?tabid=61
http://www.iaa.gov.il/Rashat/en-US/Borders/Arava/UsefulTerminalInfo/Rates/

You will also require a visa for entry into either Jordan or Israel at the border so don’t worry. The only exception is if you plan to enter Jordan by way of the Allenby/King Hussein Bridge since this will require a visa in advance. This all depends on how you plan your trip and wish to travel to Amman and see the coast of the Dead Sea from the Jordan side which is far less developed than the Israel side. Below is more information.

http://www.visitjordan.com/default.aspx?tabid=105

My last point here is about money. The Jordanian Dinar is more than the U.S. dollar and is closer to the British pound. For more information on traveling to Jordan please review this resource: http://www.jordanjubilee.com/visitjor.htm

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawntell314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

First of all I want to thank you for your super detailed review and for your kind comments. I must admit that I was feeling very proud of the service delivered by my colleagues. This is our philosophy to make our guests stay the most comfortable and relaxing one, and our initiatives are genuine and coming from the heart.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location of this hotel is very convenient as it is only a walking distance from downtown and the restaurants area. Rooms are spacious and clean but make sure not to get the roof view as it was the worst view I ever experienced. The check-in procedures took about one hour!! The pool area and beach are very good, but for those looking for a good snorkeling experience in the Red sea there is nothing to see in this beach and you should try hotels in the southern beach area about 10KM south from the city’s downtown. The kids’ center is fun for anyone with kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbassiJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you on behalf of Intercontinental Aqaba for your review and for sharing your experience with us whether it’s good or bad enabling us to do better.
Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the Department Heads, It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to monitor and improve our levels of service.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Aqaba Resort.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.5 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#18 of 40 in Aqaba
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Property: InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Address: King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, where a variety of historical ruins, the aquarium and a taste of Middle Eastern culture can always be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing