We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel / resort -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Along with other reviewers I would agree that this is a brilliant hotel. There were however, during our stay, a few problems - which, to the credit of the hotel, they dealt with in an appropriate and efficient manner.

We stayed here for 2 nights after spending a few nights in Wadi Rum, so luxury was high on the agenda... the room definitely lived up to our expectations... clean, extremely comfortable and with a great view of the Red Sea over the resort and toward Aqaba town and port. Unfortunately, the room was located above the bar, where music woke us up during the night on one night. We complained to management and this was appropriately dealt with.

We ate in almost all the restaurants offered in the resort, as well as by the pool. The food was excellent and the service matched that in every respect.

We also made us of the spa facilities and found them to be impeccable.

Overall, we had a great stay at this resort and would recommend it to others - on the proviso that, if you are not a party animal, ask for a room on the other side of the hotel from the bar.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, make sure you request that your room is located in the wing of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DABMQB, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear responses from our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback is of tremendous value to us all and your evaluation will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Aqaba Resort where we commit to displaying the true level of service we aspire to.

Best Regards,
InterContinental Aqaba Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed for six days at the Intercontinental and on the whole we loved it. The hotel has a luxurious feel, the staff are courteous and friendly. Nice touches like a complimentary cooler box of water when you go to the pool. There were a few frustrations which I wouldn't expect from a hotel of this class but we had a good stay.

The pool area is fab, huge pool, lots of sunbeds & shade. Unfortunately the large pool was really cold when we were there in the last week of October (apparently it is heated from early November) and hardly anyone used it, which was a shame as it's beautiful. The kids pool was heated so everyone was packed in that instead! There is a large jacuzzi but under 16s aren't allowed, so for all the kids it was really just the rather small kids pool.

The beach is also lovely, the water is very clear (not much coral / fish here so you have to go south down the coast for good snorkelling) but nice & calm to float about. The banana / ringos from the hotel jetty are reasonably priced at 7 dinars pp. Also ample sunbeds & cabanas on the beach. Beware though - on our first day staff pulled out & disposed of a large stonefish which they found just 4 feet from the edge of the water - very dangerous. The staff are vigilant about looking out for them but we always went into the water in beach shoes just in case.

My main frustration with the hotel was the terrible loud live music that blares out every night until 1.30am from the Martini Lounge. The Lounge opens onto a terrace beside the pool & as all the rooms are in the main building around the pool, everyone is affected. They seem to crank it up especially loyd after midnight, by which time the proper act has finished & it just seems to be some amateur belting out songs as loud as possible, oblivious to the fact that most people want to sleep. On my second sleepless night I went down to investigate at midnight - there were 4 people in the lounge, all looking totally uninterested in the entertainment so I think it was totally inappropriate to keep most of the hotel awake for this. I complained at reception and they then turned the volume down & said they would move us the next day further from the music (although as mentioned, all rooms were affected by it, the further ones just not as badly).

So at 1pm the next day we were told our new room was ready. We had just got out the pool and, in typically efficient Intercontinental style, the porter was at our room immediately to move our things. So we got our things together as quickly as possible and moved. Later we realised that we had left several items of clothing hanging over the line in the bath in our hurry (including an irreplaceable pair of my son's football shorts & a brand new bikini that I had just cut the label off!). We asked for the items but were told that "nothing had been found in the room". We asked them to check with the housekeeping & laundry departments but each time were told that nothing was found. Very disappointing, as they were definitely left there & we didn't want   the inconvenience of changing rooms in the first place.

The rooms are large & comfortable with fantastic bathrooms ( large walk in shower plus separate bath with shower.  Nice large balconies which nearly all have good view of sea & pool.

My husband used the gym every day & loved it, & spa was nice (jacuzzi, steam & sauna all free & open till 11pm).

Food was good but quite expensive as you would expect, but it's an easy 10 minute walk into town to a large choice of restaurants. Wifi in the hotel is £18 per day which I think is too expensive.

In summary, we really enjoyed our time here & loved the pool area & overall luxury. I would definitely recommend it for a relaxing stay. Our problems didn't spoil our stay, just detracted from it a bit.


  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Spent 4 nights (we are 2 women in our late 20s) at this hotel/resort and really loved it. The hotel was empty (perhaps just the time of the year we went) so the staff was very attentive to whatever we needed. We took advantage of paying a bit extra and having access to the president lounge. We became good friends with the staff there which made our stay that much more enjoyable. The first room we were given smelled a bit like smoke so we asked to switch rooms, and they gave us a different one without any problems. The beds were soooo comfortable. I loved the fact the hotel had its own private beach. One day we walked into town (Aqaba isn't too big so you can definitely walk) and compared to the other resorts that we past (Movenpick & Kemplinski), I was very happy with our choice at the Intercontinental and wished I could go back again!
I really appreciated that we weren't hasseled by other people or the staff and how comfortable my friend and I felt there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akaShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We are 2 Jordanian families stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel. This is one of the best hotels in Aqaba if not in Jordan. Rooms great size and excellent, staff is lovely and very helpful, we lost some items during our stay we gave a not in the reception and they found it for us next day. Even when we checked out and went back to Madaba we found that we forgotten our kid’s boat so we call and they told us that they keep it for us to picks it up.
The prices of food and beverage are very reasonable for a 5 star hotel in a beach city. They serve open buffet breakfast and it is very good.
We used to go to Sharm but this time we went to Aqaba and I found the hotel and the city much nicer than Sharm in the same time Aqaba is really very clean city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

First class hotel in every way. Beautiful position right on the beach

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolaCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

our stay at the hotel was very enjoyable. we travelled as a family of 5 for 2 weeks and stayed at the intercontinental for the whole of our stay in jordan.
Breakfast- there was a lot of choice at breakfast but unfortunately there was a lot of wastage of food due to greedy arabs who's eyes can eat more than their mouths and they do not believe in queueing or any sort of other manners.
Service- The cleaner was extremely friendly and good at his job. the cleaning was flexible and he would clean whenever we asked him to and was convenieint for us. the bed was made in very inventive ways with flowers etc. lovely to come back to! the filipino girls are amazing! they could not be any more approachable, helpful and SMILEY! concierge were also very helpful at any time of the day and were willing to answer any queries or concerns.
Spa- the facilies were sparse although they were very clean. the jacuzzi did not have adequate pressure and the treatments are also very expensive
ALL IN ALL A VERY PLEASURABLE EXPERIENCE. The pictures do not do it justice. the beach is amazing..the pools are always clean and there were always sunbeds available. complimentary cold water bottles were readily available. there were also several opportunities to do some very good watersports where the correct equipment was provided. a lovely hotel recommended for people of all ages. lots to do and see! you can get to town in a taxi for only 1JD set price which is very good value for money!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasmin222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Once we checked through the security, there were a number of staff offering to help with our bags. Check in was quick and easy and there were offers of upgrading which we declined.
Our room, big and spacious faces the swimming pool and the Red Sea - very pleasant and wonderful to see the sun setting with our drinks on the balcony.
Martini bar was our favourite and we love the singer there.
The staff and concierge were all very helpful and knowledgeable.
Yes we had 5 wonderful 5 days there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMK1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.4 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel by Swiss-Belhotel
0.5 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#16 of 41 in Aqaba
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 2311, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: $165 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing