We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want great holiday horror stories - stay here.”
Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“If you want great holiday horror stories - stay here.”
Reviewed November 22, 2007

I used this hotel with a low budget group. I have been visiting Jordan for 18 months with work for periods of up to 6 weeks.

Poor quality. Free inspection hatches provided in rooms for views into the cavities of the hotel, which allow free run for the copious insects.

Poor security. Hotels are not known for great security, but here it is laughable.

Poor safety. Low rails on interior balconies, faulty lift, fire extinguishers wrapped in cling-film, to name just some issues.

The Alcazar was a base for us to operate from and we weren't on holiday. As such it sufficed. But for people traveling and expecting to enjoy themselves on holiday this is not the place to book. I saw a group of German/Austrians arrive in the poshest tour bus I have seen in Jordan, 15 minutes later they were very clearly in shock at the state of the hotel.

After only 1 day, members of my group had not surprisingly re-named the hotel Alcatraz.

In future I will flex my budget for groups to use the Days Inn.

  • Liked — Aqaba and the friendliness of the Jordanians
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    17
    8
    16
See reviews for
11
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Arrived quite late in the day - but not at an unsociable hour - and the desk staff were really rude and slow at checking us in. My partner and i got up to our double room and it was definitely a bit grotty. People have said that the Alcazar is a bit tired and run down, and that is definitely the truth - but even so, places can still be clean and neat. We found we only had one towel in the bathroom and it was completely damp. The soap hadn't been changed since the last occupants, and the loo didn't flush properly. Admittedly it was cheap-ish, but still, it was definitely below par. I would not recommend staying here in the slightest.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aqaba hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Having read the reviews wasn't sure what to expect. In the end we chose this hotel due to its association with Seastar diving centre.

The whole hotel was a bit dated but the rooms are large and relatively well maintained. The cleaning staff are incredibly friendly, but this is what you notice about people in Jordan as a whole. The hotel itself is reminiscent of the 1970s but perhaps this adds a certain bit of charm. Beds look uncomfortable but are actually
not as bad as you think. Air-conditioning works well and definitely needed!

The location is fabulous and the dive shop attached to the Beach Club is excellent. The rental equipment is good and the dive guides knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend the diving centre.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

I have to disagree with the other review, we're just back from there and Aqaba, and the Alcazar in particular are a great place to spend the New Year. The hotel isn't the newest but has a great location and the rooms are huge, especially the superior rooms ! As for the New Year's Eve party it was a hooley, there was a huge buffet, a dj and some traditonal dancers/musicians to keep us entertained, we had great craic.

The dive centre, SeaStar Watersports is a PADI 5* IDC Centre, it may not be the cheapest but with diving you have to way up the safety, experience and professionalism of the centre. I'm not saying that the other centre(s) are not up to scratch but did the other reviewer check the centre's safey equipement, their air quality certificate and chat to the staff about their qualifications and experience ? Anyone can open a shop, buy equipement and bring you diving, but it takes a lot to become and retain a 5* IDC status within the PADI organisation. They even have their own Course Director, which proves that the staff are commited to continuing their own professional development.

The Alcazar also has their own private beach club, where if you're not diving you can relax. There is a pool, access to the beach and food and drink are available all day. I would particarly recommend Basil's (The chef) vegetarian pizza, its delicious. There is something magical about after finishing a great days diving to watch, from the terrace of the beach club, the sun setting over the sinai !


To sum up, the Alcazar offers large clean rooms with balconies in a great location, it's not 5* and doesn't pretend to be, and it's dive centre is professional and experienced. We've sent people to stay and dive with them and had no negative feedback at all.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Nothing, large rooms, with own AC and balcony. Great 3*
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sal_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2006

This hotel was a good find. The room rates include a very decent breakfast with omelettes, crepes, meats, cheeses, pastries, coffee, tea, fruit, fresh orange juice. The rooms are a good size with full falconies, satellit TV, large shower, seperate shower/toilet and sink sections which is nice for more than one person, room comes with 2 chairs and table for dining and chest of drawars. AC unit is really decent. No beach access which can be negative as access is through private hotels. You can do like we did and use beach access at another nice hotel. Food and ATMs in walking distance, free parking. Bars are also in close proximity, a favorite was "Friends" that is modeled after the hit NBC tv show!

Helpful?
7 Thank dmg9149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2006

We found the hotel to be quite run down and in need of renovation. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the biggest draw is its association with a great dive centre (PADI 5-star) located in the basement and the facilities of Club Murjan, a short shuttle bus ride away.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pat-pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Aqaba
Golden Tulip Aqaba
#31 of 40 in Aqaba
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
#32 of 40 in Aqaba
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
My Hotel Aqaba
#24 of 40 in Aqaba
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Hotel Aqaba
Days Hotel Aqaba
#17 of 40 in Aqaba
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Property: Alcazar Hotel
Address: Al Nahdha St | PO Box 392, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing