We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Hotel
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Aqaba
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in the Alcazar for two nights paying 40JD per night for a double room. The plus points of the hotel are that there is plentiful free shady parking just outside the hotel, it’s in a great location for exploring Aqaba town and the room had very good air con.

However, as other reviewers have mentioned the hotel is way past its prime - the rooms were dark and the carpets filthy, I made a mistake of walking bare foot after a shower and we feet were black, the towels provided were crusty, the breakfast room was dirty and I decided not to eat anything due other guests touching and coughing over the food. We also found some of the staff to be unhelpful i.e. we asked for directions and we told to look at a map and you have to pay the full amount on check-in, as we had just arrived we didn't have enough cash and the receptionist was very reluctant to let us in the room to drop our bags before going to the ATM.

Its also worth noting that access to Club Murjun is no longer free as suggested in some guidebooks - you pay 7JD for entry, 7JD for snorkelling equipment (including wetsuit on request) and 2JD for transport - the price was worth it as I would have been uncomfortable as a western women on the public beach (despite being dressed modestly) but there were lots of flies at the club and there is no private access to a beach so definitely get a wetsuit to avoid feeling uncomfortable.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again, it may be cheaper than other places in Aqaba but its not good value and we got much more for our money elsewhere - to be honest I'd give Aqaba a miss, we nicknamed it Benidorm of the Middle East i.e. McDonalds, English pubs etc. We only visited for snorkelling but this is much better from Egypt - your time can be better spent elsewhere in Jordan.

Room Tip: Stay elsewere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    17
    8
    16
See reviews for
11
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night as I'd made a mess of dates with the hotel we should have been staying in. It was a pretty hideous place - run down and grubby with fraying carpets, dirty walls, stained bedlinen and a poor breakfast. the window onto our small balcony was covered in greasy handprints and marks where people had rested their heads. Our room was also noisy as it overlooked a busy street. Its only saving grace was that it was pretty cheap and it had a pool. To me, this was barely backpacker standard accommodation but, as a one night stopgap, it was just about ok.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munchkinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aqaba hotels

London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This must have been one of the first deluxe hotels in Aqaba, but it's long since been overtaken and is now in a state of comfortable old age or advanced decline, depending on your viewpoint.

Signs in the lobby hint at what the hotel once offered - a shop, the 'Dolphin Pub' and a cinema, all now closed. There's a definite quirky charm to the once-opulent 1970s architecture and decor, now so forlorn. But on our stay, the hotel seemed to be largely empty; my friend and I rechristened it The Overlook hotel, after the hotel in The Shining.

The location is very convenient for the centre of Aqaba, and the room was clean, as was the (deserted) swimming pool. But the bed was uncomfortable, the pillow rock-hard; and we just couldn't 'overlook' the number of things that didn't work: the TV, certain plug sockets, the toilet-flush cord (which snapped off), the bathroom light (which we had to tap a few times before it would stop flickering and stay on), and above all, the air-conditioning unit, which was as dead as a dodo.

And that was what made our stay unbearable. A nighttime temperature of 26 degrees celsius meant an uncomfortable night's sleep, even with the window open - which itself resulted in a mosquito feeding frenzy. We were glad to leave.

Don't stay in Aqaba unless you have an air-conditioned room - and don't stay here unless you're OK with the possibility that you may not have one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at Alcazar for 4 nights & will gladly stay there again. A former 5 star hotel, it has lost it former glory, but there is still an old European style charm. Rooms were clean & spacious (ask for a room facing the front). The pool was also large & clean. And the hotel is appropriate for everybody, including families & single women. Enjoy. I did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrybre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The rooms are large and clean, the breakfast is more than adequate, the service is fine and there's a swimming pool. Yes, it could do with a lick of paint and some of the fittings need refreshment but you can't pay virtually budget accommodation prices and expect the Movenpick. We stayed in rooms 301 and 302 which are interconnected - helpful with a family. The aircon worked fine which is just as well as we were there in a heatwave. Atmosphere was very relaxed. Had to call reception one night as disco music was blaring from the hotel-run coffee shop just outside but in all fairness, they apologised and turned the music either off or down immediately, enabling a good nights sleep. Rooms were cleaned nicely. Good location, lots of ATMs nearby, as are ruins of Alia, main shopping area, beach, etc. We used the Club Murjan for snorkelling, which has a link with the hotel. You pay 9 JD pp entry to the Club (swimming pool, access to public beach, showers, restaurant, changing facilities, transport to and from) plus 7 JD for hire of snorkelling kit. The snorkelling was great - no need for a boat, you just walk in from the beach. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The hotel is clearly past its heyday... Letters have fallen off signs, the pool is kind of dingy, etc. But it's clean and comfortable, and the service is pretty good. Free wireless in the lobby, and in rooms above the lobby, although my computer couldn't tap into it. When I told the front desk manager this, though, he gave me his own personal laptop to use! It was so nice. The free breakfast is skippable, but the location is fantastic. Great for students on a budget, which is what we all were. One of my friends came back with bedbug bites, though, so beware. (She was in room 311... if it helps) Lots of families from Jordan and surrounding companies were staying here all of the times we did.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The hotel is a bit of past glory, but for the price it wasn't bad. Large swimming pool, view over the red sea. Breakfast was good, fridge in the room, excellent beds. In the center of Aqaba, near shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JvB-Ehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
#30 of 39 in Aqaba
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 39 in Aqaba
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Zaitouna
Al Zaitouna
#20 of 39 in Aqaba
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 39 in Aqaba
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Aqaba
Golden Tulip Aqaba
#28 of 39 in Aqaba
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Hotel Aqaba
Days Hotel Aqaba
#13 of 39 in Aqaba
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Property: Alcazar Hotel
Address: Al Nahdha St | PO Box 392, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alcazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing