We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not without its own charm, but there's too much that doesn't work”
Review of Alcazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazar Hotel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This must have been one of the first deluxe hotels in Aqaba, but it's long since been overtaken and is now in a state of comfortable old age or advanced decline, depending on your viewpoint.

Signs in the lobby hint at what the hotel once offered - a shop, the 'Dolphin Pub' and a cinema, all now closed. There's a definite quirky charm to the once-opulent 1970s architecture and decor, now so forlorn. But on our stay, the hotel seemed to be largely empty; my friend and I rechristened it The Overlook hotel, after the hotel in The Shining.

The location is very convenient for the centre of Aqaba, and the room was clean, as was the (deserted) swimming pool. But the bed was uncomfortable, the pillow rock-hard; and we just couldn't 'overlook' the number of things that didn't work: the TV, certain plug sockets, the toilet-flush cord (which snapped off), the bathroom light (which we had to tap a few times before it would stop flickering and stay on), and above all, the air-conditioning unit, which was as dead as a dodo.

And that was what made our stay unbearable. A nighttime temperature of 26 degrees celsius meant an uncomfortable night's sleep, even with the window open - which itself resulted in a mosquito feeding frenzy. We were glad to leave.

Don't stay in Aqaba unless you have an air-conditioned room - and don't stay here unless you're OK with the possibility that you may not have one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at Alcazar for 4 nights & will gladly stay there again. A former 5 star hotel, it has lost it former glory, but there is still an old European style charm. Rooms were clean & spacious (ask for a room facing the front). The pool was also large & clean. And the hotel is appropriate for everybody, including families & single women. Enjoy. I did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garrybre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The rooms are large and clean, the breakfast is more than adequate, the service is fine and there's a swimming pool. Yes, it could do with a lick of paint and some of the fittings need refreshment but you can't pay virtually budget accommodation prices and expect the Movenpick. We stayed in rooms 301 and 302 which are interconnected - helpful with a family. The aircon worked fine which is just as well as we were there in a heatwave. Atmosphere was very relaxed. Had to call reception one night as disco music was blaring from the hotel-run coffee shop just outside but in all fairness, they apologised and turned the music either off or down immediately, enabling a good nights sleep. Rooms were cleaned nicely. Good location, lots of ATMs nearby, as are ruins of Alia, main shopping area, beach, etc. We used the Club Murjan for snorkelling, which has a link with the hotel. You pay 9 JD pp entry to the Club (swimming pool, access to public beach, showers, restaurant, changing facilities, transport to and from) plus 7 JD for hire of snorkelling kit. The snorkelling was great - no need for a boat, you just walk in from the beach. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The hotel is clearly past its heyday... Letters have fallen off signs, the pool is kind of dingy, etc. But it's clean and comfortable, and the service is pretty good. Free wireless in the lobby, and in rooms above the lobby, although my computer couldn't tap into it. When I told the front desk manager this, though, he gave me his own personal laptop to use! It was so nice. The free breakfast is skippable, but the location is fantastic. Great for students on a budget, which is what we all were. One of my friends came back with bedbug bites, though, so beware. (She was in room 311... if it helps) Lots of families from Jordan and surrounding companies were staying here all of the times we did.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The hotel is a bit of past glory, but for the price it wasn't bad. Large swimming pool, view over the red sea. Breakfast was good, fridge in the room, excellent beds. In the center of Aqaba, near shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JvB-Ehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Good value in low season. Former grand hotel with pool. Clean room with balcony, a/c and fridge. Short walk to anywhere

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamawaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I live in Amman, Jordan but had never been to Aqaba. After reading the many reviews on tripadvisor, I was worried I won't like it here, but location is perfect, cleanliness is acceptable, food is not bad for a three star hotel and staff are extremly helpful. I would certainly come for Alcazar's value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salamns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba
0 mi away
Baraka Al Aqaba Hotel Suites
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amir Palace Hotel
Amir Palace Hotel
#11 of 41 in Aqaba
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel

Address: Al Nahdha St | PO Box 392, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: $35 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alcazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing