We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel”
Review of Al Zaitouna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Zaitouna
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

When I saw the outside of the hotel, I was concerned, but inside the hotel was much nicer. We had bright spacious rooms in a new section. The rooms were clean and everything including the fridge worked (not like all the hotels I stayed at in Jordan). The breakfast was fine although you had to make toast on a panini grill. The location was fine, in walking distance of shops and restaurants, and the water if you knew which way to go.
Overall the hotel was O.K. I would recommend this hotel to someone looking for a budget hotel in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Clean room, but basic and towels had seen better days. Window looked out on internal landing, so a bit dark and dingy. Breakfast fine.

Agree with other reviewers about the nearby felafel shop - very good.

  • Liked — nearby felafel shop
  • Disliked — the towels and non view from window
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londoner abroad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

This has quite a grand reception and 2 lifts which is quite different from the fairly basic rooms. The room and ensuite were fine with slightly dated decor. The main drawback was the beds. I have no idea what the mattress,duvet and pillow were stuffed with but it felt like small bits of ripped up foam and were very uncomfortable to sleep on.

On the plus side the staff were friendly and it was just around the corner from a fantastic falafel shop where you could get a large pitta with falafel and salad for the equivalent of 25p!

  • Liked — The falafel shop around the corner
  • Disliked — The bed, duvet and pillow!
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cachagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

I had searched for so long to find a hotel in Aqaba and they were all either really expensive or had terrible reviews, sometimes both. I booked at the Al Zaitouna for my family of 4, but still a bit wary of the low price we looked at 4 other hotels in the area before we checked in.
I was so relieved when we walked into the Zaitouna. It has a fresh clean white marble effect lobby and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our family room with ensuite was enormous and spotlessly clean. My only niggle would be that the carpet was a little stained. It also had TV and fridge for your use.
Breakfast was good and all the staff were fantastic and lovely with my 2 sons. We stayed for 3 nights and loved it.
After seeing the other hotels in the area, this is definitely the best choice, by a long, long way.

  • Liked — Great price, huge room and friendly staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrot02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Quite a grand reception which belies the basic but clean nature of the rooms. Breakfasts were limited in terms of the types of food on offer. We needed medical advice and help getting taxis, finding a good diving school and a few other bits - the reception staff bent over backwards to help us at all hours of the day/night. The service and the location would take us back to the hotel again. Great falafel sandwich shop a few metres from the hotel - about 15 pence (UK) each! So, even if the breakfasts weren't up to much, you can afford to go there!

  • Liked — Superb service and warm welcome.
  • Disliked — Breakfasts limited.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haggis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Vista Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Zaitouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Zaitouna

Property: Al Zaitouna
Address: Hahmammat Street, Aqaba, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Zaitouna 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaitouna Hotel is a 3 star hotel which was opened in 1994, located in the heart of Aqaba and just a 5 minute walk from the beautiful Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Al Zaitouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing