We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably not the best hotel in Aqaba”
Review of Mina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mina Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The room was big enough, with two (separate) beds, a table, desk, a large cupboard and two chairs. A couple of things could be better... the bathroom was a cave with only one small light working and a loose towel rack. One day we received no new towels, and had to wait for over two hours after calling for it a second time. The breakfast is nice, but the later you go the more crowded it is and some things will not be available (coffee, plates, spoons, bread etc.). At times we had no warm water, when too many people were using the shower. The internet connection was often very weak. And if you are a light sleeper, you will need to get used to a 5 o clock wake -up call every day: the call for the the first morning prayer from the mosque!

Room Tip: A view on the mosque is nice, but you will probably sleep better without it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 162 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is conveniently located in the city centre of Aqaba and that's the only thing positive to mention. The room given to us was unacceptable. The bathroom, especially the shower was not dirty but oxidized, even the floor. The drainage was not working and the water was all over the bathroom floor. I think that backpackers as well as budget travelers will find better offers in Aqaba. We stayed in various hotels during our Jordan trip and this hotel became the most expensive and the worst place we stayed at. Price/Quality was definitely in contra.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sa07032014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

From the reviews and picture online this looks like a great hotel. I was excited to stay in a place on the beach and relax for the day, but after arriving, I wanted to leave the room as much as possible. I booked a single room and was given a room with 2 double beds.The receptionist seemed bother when I asked her questions about the room and internet. They moved me to a sea room minutes after arriving, but it was basically the same as the room I was in before, just with a view of the pool and the sea. The pool I would not go in, even if it was warm. I went to the restaurant downstairs and it was a graveyard, not one human in sight. There is no information in the hotel about the hotel. The upsides? It is a safe area, the internet in the room worked very well, and it feels safe. The hotels in Aqaba are either divey or expensive, and this is a happy medium.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlynnedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at Mina hotel for a week in December 2013 and was not impressed. At check-in the staff was efficient but not very informative, a few word about such basic things like when and where breakfast was served, check-out times and other basic information is always good to point out, especially when there is no information about it in the room. Yes, it is easy to find out by asking, but the point is that in a hotel with good service you shouldn't have to.
The room was clean and offered nothing out of the ordinary, but electricity appears to be expensive in Jordania, the room is very dark, that goes for the entire hotel, a person with poor eyesight would probably have a hard time staying here.
The breakfast served is basic and a bit depressing, everything feels a day old, the bread is dry, the coffee was brewed too long ago...
There is Wi-Fi access in the room but the connection was unreliable, it was better in the lobby.
The location is good, close to most things in the center of town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to aqaba with my husbands family so we needed 7 selerate rooms , First they put us on the 4 th floor with two separate beds for me and my husband the room smells horrible the furniture is sooo old and dirty and the carpet is soo disgusting there was even carpet in other rooms in the bathroom and this goes for all 7 rooms all in the 4th floor then we complained to the hotel reception and they lied us and said there are no other rooms then finally they moved all of us to the second floor this floor is much better and the floors in the room was tiled and there was an actual bathroom in it with a king bed so it was ok but still you can tell its very dirty the others had much more problems they found a cacaroach in the room , everyone was disappointed

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank abojaradeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is excellent. It is placed right in the center, near Paljor public and commercial area. Rooms are clean and spacious. Missing toilet brush. We could not use the hotel's Internet network. Public beaches should be avoided, it is populated with homeless people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at Mina Hotel for one night and enjoyed my time in Aqaba and at the hotel.

The good points were:
* Great location - just a short walk from the waterfront and various shops.
* Fantastic views from the bar and breakfast area on the top floor - you can see right across the town and down the Gulf of Aqaba towards Israel and Egypt. The beer was pretty expensive (standard for Jordan), but cheaper than in Amman. Pool table also a bonus.
* The bedroom had plenty of space, a safe and comfortable beds.
* The food (and puddings) were excellent for dinner. Breakfast was OK.
* The free wifi in the lobby was fairly speedy.

The main downside I experienced was with the en-suite bathroom. The fittings for the shower were very fragile, meaning that the water pressure caused the shower to squirt out everywhere and flood the bathroom - not economical in such a dry country. Otherwise the lifts were also very slow - even slower than some of the other hotels I stayed at in Jordan!

I'd definitely recommend Aqaba to others and the Mina Hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the sixth floor with a great view of the town. However, if you ask for a room with a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheArtfulBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Aqaba
Golden Tulip Aqaba
#32 of 41 in Aqaba
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baraka Al Aqaba Hotel Suites
0.1 mi away
Al Zaitouna
Al Zaitouna
#21 of 41 in Aqaba
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Vista Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina Hotel

Address: Al-Nahda St., Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: $47 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fresh look and welcome comforts, Mina Hotel Aqaba is a great choice for business or leisure travelers. Our ideal location is near the shopping and commercial districts, at 10 minutes drive from Aqaba International Airport, Yet still within walking distance of the beach. Our 160 rooms offer views ranging from the stunning Red Sea and the majestic rose mountains of the desert. All rooms are equipped with quality amenities, Free High speed internet access, TV satellite, individual climate control. Our outdoor swimming pool is surrounded with luxurious sun loungers on which to lie under the Aqaba sun. Sea view Restaurant & Terrace is the most warm & welcoming place in town; Whether your in the mood for a quiet night or a party atmosphere with a belly dancer live-show, sea view restaurant & terrace will suit your mood In, the menu will feature hummus and baba ghanouj, salads and Lebanese style kebabs, juicy garlic chicken, olives, pickles and crisp-crusted felafel and a wide selection of Arak & beverage as well as cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Ii Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing