We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Mina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mina Hotel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great location.
Rooms on 6 & & floors best as refurbished. Sea view same price as street view.
Excellent breakfast.
Nice bar on top with great views but a bit dull.
Pool looked nice but no views.
Very clean throughout with friendly staff.

Room Tip: 6 & 7 floor. Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuartessaouira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel for your beach vacation in Aqaba - it's the hotel next to this one. Doubletree by Hilton costs about 100€ more per person for one week and there are many reasons to choose the more expensive hotel this time.

1. If you want to go to the private beach (public beaches are full of muslims, so you should go there if you want to take off any clothes), you need to pay about 11€ / day / person. If you are there for one week and want to go every day to the beach.. well you can do the math yourself. You pay a lot just to get to the beach. For customers of the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel the transport & entry to the same private beach is free.

2. The breakfast was everyday the same. The quality was poor. My girlfriend didn't eat anything because there were no fruits, not much to put on the bread and the bread was of weird/bad quality too. Many times the whole bread lie there naked and to get a peace of it you had to touch the bread with your hands to be able to cut a peace of it. I didn't, but I guess other people did and I don't want to eat bread in Aqaba that someone except the kitchen personal has touched with its fingers. We heard that at the Doubletree Hotel there were fruits at breakfast and some kitchen guy who made you omelets with the ingredients that you choose =)

3. The swimming pool is inside an inner yard. The sun began to shine on the swimming pool at maybe 2 pm and on 6 pm the pool closed already. So it was a little bit useless and the water was cold (maybe it's cold everywhere? Don't know)

4. No more reasons and I don't think any further are needed. If you are going on a beach vacations and there's a room available at Doubletree by Hilton - take that one instead. If you are just 1 night or don't want to go to the beach or swimming pool you may as well choose this hotel.

We had a very nice 1 week vacation in Aqaba even though we didn't happen to choose the best possible hotel. There was no way to know in advance. But if you are reading this, remember to check out if another hotels suit your needs better.

And one more notice. The taxi drivers in Aqaba cheat with the prices, big time. Even the taxi-meters cheat. Don't pay more than 10JD (about 11€) for any distance covered. Not to the airport, not the israeli border, not the privat beach.. The drivers are likely to ask 20 or 30 JD for short distances. Don't pay them more than 10JD. The propper price might be 5JD, don't know excactly.. but it's definitely never over 10JD.

10 JD fee to the private beach and cheating taxi drivers where the only bad things in Aqaba. Otherwise lovely town to visite :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed there as part of Petra & Aqaba package offered by Israeli tour company.

The location right at the down town of Aqaba was great for an overnight stay.

Front office staff very polite, breakfast was good & opening time of the dinning room are comfortable

Room was quite big overlooking Aqaba bay

Room Tip: Great location, ideal hotel for overnight before travelling to Petra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFIRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Thanks to Hala, who works at the reception, we had a geat stay here. Nice room, great location, Nice swimming pool. Take also the Turkish bath, the hotel recommends. Take also the bus to the private beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catharina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good location. The beds are comfortable and the room is clean and there was hot water is a decent sized bathroom. The reception staff are really friendly and happy to help . We were upgraded to a room with a balcony which gave us a view of the sea. The pool was a great way to cool off after a day in the sun shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabaaHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were re-directed here from Golden Tulip hotel after a terrible time there. We were upgraded to a deluxe room for our troubles, which was nice and spacey and had a lovely view of the dead sea and the beach. We only stayed for a night and the beds where comfortable enough. Walls where thin so could here people walking along the corridor throughout the night.
Breakfast was ok, juice was diluted and a fairly decent variety of sweets and savouries.

The hotel location is very good, with fast food restaurants like burger king and pizza hut only a 2 min walk away and local coffee shops and restaurants are across the road from the hotel.
A local beach is only 10 min walk away, but it is a 2JD charge to sit on a table and chairs!
Taxis are easy to get from the hotel as well.

Staff where very nice and friendly and wifi signal is better outside of the room in the lobby rather than inside.

Overall it was good for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyeshaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Aqaba, many fast food places just a walk away like pizza hut, burger king, coffee places all reasonable, jet bus station is 5 min walk away. We were upgraded to a deluxe room & had a great view of the beach & red sea & hotel pool. The room was a good size & clean but wifi was very poor & we could not connect it in the room. Taxi's were available from outside the hotel & staff were polite & helpful. Breakfast was a buffet breakfast with a good variety.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Vista Hotel & Suites
0 mi away
Baraka Al Aqaba Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Zaitouna
Al Zaitouna
#21 of 41 in Aqaba
29 reviews
0 mi away
Bedouin Moon Village
Bedouin Moon Village
#20 of 41 in Aqaba
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina Hotel

Address: Al-Nahda St., Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: $46 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fresh look and welcome comforts, Mina Hotel Aqaba is a great choice for business or leisure travelers. Our ideal location is near the shopping and commercial districts, at 10 minutes drive from Aqaba International Airport, Yet still within walking distance of the beach. Our 160 rooms offer views ranging from the stunning Red Sea and the majestic rose mountains of the desert. All rooms are equipped with quality amenities, Free High speed internet access, TV satellite, individual climate control. Our outdoor swimming pool is surrounded with luxurious sun loungers on which to lie under the Aqaba sun. Sea view Restaurant & Terrace is the most warm & welcoming place in town; Whether your in the mood for a quiet night or a party atmosphere with a belly dancer live-show, sea view restaurant & terrace will suit your mood In, the menu will feature hummus and baba ghanouj, salads and Lebanese style kebabs, juicy garlic chicken, olives, pickles and crisp-crusted felafel and a wide selection of Arak & beverage as well as cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Ii Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing