We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Mina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mina Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good location in the busy part of the town but not noisy.Beds are very confortable and big.It needs a better cleaning but for the price it is fine.Reception staff is good especially the lady in the morning shift.She is very helpfull and her English is good.Overal very happy here :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rada77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel itself is ok, the rooms themselves are really nice. The bar is ridulously expensive though, forget the drinks! Aquaba is not a nice place and not welcoming for westerners, i was approached by ladies in burkas looking for money and hassled by a male not older than 14 years old, so I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Staff here is very welcoming and polite. The service here is better than most comparable hotels I have stayed at, and even better than some five-star hotels. There is a security screening device and guard at the door but once the staff recognizes you as a guest they won't make you go through screening.

Rooms were clean and looked newly renovated at the time of stay. Beds are small but comfortable. Air conditioning was extremely powerful. Even on low, it was sufficiently cold. This is much appreciated because Aqaba is extremely, unbearably hot in summer. Everything worked in the bathroom. Water pressure was good, hot water was always available, and toilet flush was powerful (these are rare qualities for a three star hotel in this country). Fridge was very cold and flatscreen TV had good selection of English channels.

There is a porch/balcony with a view of the sea. In my opinion, the view is similar to the view at rooms in Kempinski and Movenpick, which would have cost multiples of the rate I paid here.

Breakfast sucks, unfortunately: hot dog, boiled eggs and bread with some jam and condiments, instant coffee. The omlette station was not easily found; I didn't even know it existed until the fourth day of my stay. I usually skip breakfast and get shwarma or falafel outside. Floka Restaurant is nearby as well as a pharmacy, liquor store (important because this is the only type of store where alcohol is sold in Jordan, and not many restaurants serve alcohol) and convenience store.

There is a pool outside the restaurant below ground level (a little odd) but I didn't use it. There is also a rooftop bar that some local lads hang out at.

We looked a the room at Rae'd and found it horrid. Days Inn was disgusting and staff was rude. Mina was a perfect choice for us.

Room Tip: Room with sea view on 6th floor was great. Receptionist said all double rooms come with two separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frugalhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a great option for an inexpensive stay in Aqaba. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, only 5 mins walk to the public beach, the main bus station (if arriving from Petra) or the JETT office (if arriving from Amman). The best shops and restaurants of the city are on your doorstep. The hotel building is old and the design of the communal areas or the rooms is not going to win any design awards but everything is functional and the excellent and friendly service make up for it. We were allowed to check in to our Deluxe room early, which smelled nice as they are fragranced every time the are serviced. Everything was spotlessly clean, the tiled floors were shiny, including the balcony floor. Rooms are cooled by a very efficient air conditioner aided by the tinted glass balcony doors. Within an hour there was a knock on the door and we were presented with a complementary platter of fresh fruit (see pic).
The swimming pool is very good size, with a deep end for diving and a separate "bath tub" pool for children. They area was supervised and fresh towels were handed out. The pool and the surrounding area was servised every morning.
Breakfast was good, well supervised by staff members and omelettes were made to order in front of your eyes.
Wifi is available in the lobby and pool area only but connection was reliable and speed was good.
Through the reception you can arrange a visit to the brand new Berenice Beach facility, approx 5-6km out of Aqaba, towards the Saudi Arabian border, for 10.50JD. For the price you get a free shuttle bus that picks you up and drops you off in front of the hotel, a fresh towel on arrival, access to three swimming pools, an exclusive beach with umbrellas/loungers/tables and luxury toilet/changing room/shower facilities.

Room Tip: Book or ask for a Deluxe room. The upgraded finish and balcony are worth the small difference in pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The room I got is large & clean with balcony over looks the pool, but with poor maintenance since water was running in the toilet, the flushing system is needs mussels to be operated, buffet breakfast is moderate but is oky for 3 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the ground floor got wireless internet connection while it's not the case in the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliFayyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is an excellent mid-range choice in center in Aqaba. Room in perfect nick, seemed brand new. Spacious, clean, bright,bath new, entirely pleasant. View was of main street, and window blocked all noise. Flat screen TV. Standard and deluxe rooms, from $52 usd equivalent. Asked and received slight discount. Located right next door to Hilton, central location. This one must have been renovated recently. Looked at everything nearby in this price range and Mina clearly the best. Only drawback is no internet in room; lobby only.

Room Tip: street view, or water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our non-smoking room on the 7th floor was very good, recently refurbished (not like those on the 4th floor which were not so nice). We had a good flat screen TV (channel in Spanish, French, German and arabic), frigobar, a very nice bathroom and a good view of the city. Supper served on the 8th floor was "reasonable": soup, bread, main course of fish or chicken with a baked potatoe, and a sweet ricotta cake desert. No beverages or glasses on table, though when we asked for a bottle of water we got one 1.5 lt. bottle (2 dinars = 2 Euro).
Breakfast on the pool-level (floor -1) was good: coffee, tea, boiled eggs, variety of hummus, cream cheese, croissants, loaves, jam, honey, tomatos, cucumbers, olives. A good Arab breakfast and very helpful waiters.
Worth its value and conveniently located in downtown Aqaba.

Room Tip: Non smoking 7th floor rooms only (the others reek of tobacco smell and have old carpets that make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Aqaba
Golden Tulip Aqaba
#32 of 41 in Aqaba
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baraka Al Aqaba Hotel Suites
0.1 mi away
Al Zaitouna
Al Zaitouna
#21 of 41 in Aqaba
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Vista Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina Hotel

Address: Al-Nahda St., Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: $47 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fresh look and welcome comforts, Mina Hotel Aqaba is a great choice for business or leisure travelers. Our ideal location is near the shopping and commercial districts, at 10 minutes drive from Aqaba International Airport, Yet still within walking distance of the beach. Our 160 rooms offer views ranging from the stunning Red Sea and the majestic rose mountains of the desert. All rooms are equipped with quality amenities, Free High speed internet access, TV satellite, individual climate control. Our outdoor swimming pool is surrounded with luxurious sun loungers on which to lie under the Aqaba sun. Sea view Restaurant & Terrace is the most warm & welcoming place in town; Whether your in the mood for a quiet night or a party atmosphere with a belly dancer live-show, sea view restaurant & terrace will suit your mood In, the menu will feature hummus and baba ghanouj, salads and Lebanese style kebabs, juicy garlic chicken, olives, pickles and crisp-crusted felafel and a wide selection of Arak & beverage as well as cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Ii Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing