We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spent 2 nights here R&R after Petra. Rooms ok though a little outdated. We were there for Easter weekend so it was extremely busy. Nice little beach and a good collection of swimming pools which the kids loved. Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful, however the service in the Al Shatt Restaurant by the beach at lunchtime was horrendous. It has been a long time since I have had to spend 2 hours having a drink and a simple main course for lunch. The first time was Good Friday and there was a large influx of day guests so lunch took ages. The next day with fewer guests we thought we would give it another try, however, this was even longer. In the end as a way of an apology they didn't charge us for the meal but this is still not acceptable for a 4/5* hotel. The other disappointing element was the complete lack drinks or snack food service by the pools, first time ever in a hotel of this standard. Overall a lovely hotel with poor food and beverage service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at 3 different Movenpick hotels in Jordan and this one we would rate as third. The hotel building and facilities are very promising and could be so much more enjoyable if more attention was paid to optimising the use of them by the staff. There is access to the beach. We used the swimming pool at the top of the hotel which is supposed to be for adults only. We were hoping for a relaxing morning. Sadly, this did not happen. There was a steady stream of guests with children in tow, pool toys and other equipment, all trying to use this pool. There was only the pool attendant to stop them and, although he was making a valiant effort, the noise of the arguments and the length of time these people took to accept that they couldn't use this pool, spoiled the peace and quiet. This could have been avoided if there had been a member of staff at the entrance to the pool area to inform these people at an earlier stage that this was an adult only area.

We tried calling housekeeping but the phone went unanswered during the afternoon. It is a great idea to provide free soft drinks in the minibar in the room, but these were not refilled on the second day. The service at the poolside bar was very slow and made us late for a trip we had planned. (I would however recommend the Lebanese restaurant not far from the hotel).

The layout of the food in the self-service area of the restaurant made it difficult to enjoy the breakfast experience. All the food was laid out in a long line, instead of some being put in different locations to avoid crowds forming at busy times. Consequently, queues formed and it took quite a while to get the required breakfast items. With a little more attention to detail this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a Grand Tour of Jordan (Jules Verne). As my wife has many allergies including all dairy products, she asked at the reception desk if soya milk was available. The abrupt reply was "No"! I came to the desk with her & was told to call housekeeping, their reply by telephone was also "No"! At this stage my raised voice back at the reception desk brought a manger who apologised once he understood her request & promised to send out for some soya milk.
Ten minutes later he together with another senior colleague were at our room door with a carton of organic soya & mentioned that there would be another kept in the breakfast buffet area for her.

Subsequently we were given excellent service by the staff in the Palm Court Restaurant as I guess the management obviously had mentioned my wife's allergies to the restaurant manager Moneer Jamahneh who went out of his way each time he saw us to ensure all was well---excellent service --- including a chef who upon hearing my wife couldn't take soup with cream went a made her a bowl of delicious tomato soup without the cream! The waiter who discretely watched over us should also be complimented on his service he was Mohammed Majed.

Not sure why the house keeping staff do not complete the clean at one go. They seemed to clean, replace towels & replenish the mini bar as 3 separate acts thus disturbing a guest 3 times.

All in all our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is far away from 5-star, maximum 3-star. Full of children knowing the doors, slapping the doors and playing football at the corridor. We were not able to sleep even one night as the walls are extremely thin and you can hear every step at the corridor. Meal at the hotel is pretty basic. The funniest thing was absence of robes in the rooms and when we asked why we don't have it there the personal answered 'politely' that we need to ask them about this. It was impossible to have a rest at the beach as a 'kinder garden' was destroyed all the beauty. Definitely not romantic place.

So don't waste your money and nervous choosing this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went to a family vacation at Movenpick "Alblad" and had a great time.
The service was great and the hotel was very welcoming and hospitable. We got in on Sunday early and they gave us an upgrade and had the room ready in about 15 minutes, during this time we were welcomed in the lobby and the kids were offered complementary drinks.
We got to the 3 bedroom duplex and it was huge, with a great view of the sea and the pools.
During our stay we had a few "glitches" like that the clean towels are not delivered during the room cleaning but rather later (so we had to adjust) and the during dinner the service was understaffed and the service was a bit slow.
During the night, there was entertainment, there was a belly dancer twice in the evening that even the children enjoyed.
The hotel is located in the center of Aqaba, that allowed us to get to restaurants and markets by foot.
During the checkout we were given the freedom to checkout almost at anytime so the children enjoyed another day by the pool.

Room Tip: The rooms in the duplexes (Shaleeh) are closer to the sea and the pools but far from the lobby and t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mograbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Despite booking two rooms 6 months in advance and requesting interconnecting rooms (for my family of 6), upon checking in we were informed there were "no interconnecting rooms available". I don't get why they couldn't hold interconnecting rooms, when I booked so far in advance?

After complaining about this, reception miraculously 'found' 2 interconnecting rooms - which made me very suspicious as to why they hadn't offered them in the first place …

I was then informed that there would be a 40JD charge per night for an extra bed - when I had been told when making the booking that there would be no charge (fortunately I kept the original email from the reservation team, so was able to have this charge removed - otherwise I would have been unfairly charged 160JD).

Watch out for the noise from the restaurant / bar area. Half the resort is on the side where a band/singer plays until late. Arriving exhausted from a long days travel, we had to wait until 11.45pm for the music to stop. It was so loud we might as well have been trying to sleep on the dance floor. This could easily have ruined our stay (imagine a long day at Petra or Wadi Rum and then having to come back and wait until close to midnight for the band to stop).

To their credit, the hotel did move us to a quieter side of the resort (thankfully).

These problems aside, the resort is very nice. Good pools, clean rooms, friendly staff. The buffet was good (and it was a pleasant surprise to see a resort not trying to save money by offering the bare minimum on the buffet).

If I could be guaranteed interconnecting rooms on the quieter side of the resort, I would happily stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nightwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a fourteen day trip around Jordan.
We arrived at around midday and as expected, our room was not yet ready, but we were told to come back at 4pm. In the meantime, we grabbed a bite to eat in the beachside restaurant. Service was a little slow but the food was ok, although the chicken in my chicken Caesar salad was a little on the dry side.
We were finally given our room at 3pm and Mizer on front desk was very personable and helpful.
The rooms were bright and airy, beds comfortable and also featured a ceiling fan as well as the obligatory air-con. Guests are also given a couple of complimentary bottles of water in the bathroom and some soft drinks in the mini-bar. These were supposedly re-stocked each day but we noticed on our penultimate day, they were not.
The worst part of our experience came at night. From midnight onwards, you could hear other guests talking, laughing, shouting, running and even screaming down the corridors. I had to use ear plugs. I don't know if it was due to it being Easter, that there appeared to be large amounts of children (mainly Jordanian families) but the hotel was just rowdy during the three nights we stayed there.
The other big negative was the quality of the Wi-Fi. Not only was it slow,but it was only available if I stood right up to the door to the bedroom.
By far the biggest disappointment though was the so called Spa. This seemed to be an afterthought and a way of generating a bit more revenue for the hotel by using unused spaces. The 'treatment rooms' were accessed via a service corridor and we're very bleak and not what you'd expect for a relaxing setting. My wife and I were actually asked if we wanted to have our treatments together, which we always do when on holiday. However, when we turned up for our session, my wife was taken away first and then around 10 minutes later I was taken...to a separate room. The worst spa session I've ever had the misfortune of experiencing. A world away from the marvellous experience we had at the Marriott Dead Sea resort.
On the upside, the adult only lap pool on the Bridge level was a welcome respite from all the noise at the other pools as was the buffet breakfast which was varied and plentiful.
If you're looking for luxury, stay at the Kempinski or the Intercontinental.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank alanj1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#19 of 40 in Aqaba
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: $112 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing