We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I strongly recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I strongly recommend this hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have been there with my husband and two teenage kids in April when the weather in Aqaba is very nice, because due to its dessert like nature it is a well known fact that the best time to visit Aqaba is in Spring and Autumn.
The pools are really must swim in ... there is the kids pool which is big with warm water, attached to it is an open air Jacuzzi.
Another pool is right across the lane surrounded with beautiful flowers and grass where you can enjoy a sun bath or just a relaxing time.
They also have a roof pool and a very hot Jacuzzi, with fewer people; so more privacy if you are looking for one.
The beach is sandy but to get to the also sandy sea there are some uneven parts in the ground, with big some rocks so watch out.
As for the rooms & bathrooms, they were clean and very comfortable as a five star hotel should be.
The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the staff are extra friendly.
So Yes, I strongly recommend this hotel, in which I like to stay whenever in Aqaba.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for one of the small apartments in the second or third floor by the pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    366
    159
    70
    62
See reviews for
619
523
71
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room booked by travel agent as part of a tour. Very nice room with balcony, king bed. Had 1/2 board, found buffet very nice. Staff behind the line encouraged tasting and questions on local foods. Stayed two nights, all went smoothly. Would stay again.
The hotel seems to be very popular with families. Best to eat early breakfast and late dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanTeaneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice hotel with four pools and two spas including an amazing chillax zone on the bridge crossing a freeway. The private beach is also clean and quiet. the dinner buffet was great! we had a nice wiev of the red sea from the balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janusdamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We decided to book a week's holiday a month ago. We managed to get a good deal on the internet from Best at Travel.

We flew in Friday, arrived Saturday, and we are absolutely delighted with everything here. The usual hotel nonsense is going on in Aqaba, with FourSeasons barging in as they always do and ruining/ruling the place.

So, why bother with FourSeasons Aqaba at all?

I suppose I will probably be banned for life for saying this, but I am fed up with their prices. They are utterly ridiculous - like £500 for a hotel room for a night in a place I don't even want to go to???

I would avoid the above and instead choose one of the Movenpicks. You can always pop into wherever you want, because they have 2 hotels at each side of the bay. The Resort and Spa is amazing and I guess it is fully booked for a while, but you can always get anything you want here. The Swiss are masters of the art of hospitality, as anyone who has even been in Switzerland knows.

I just love it here and so does my husband - we have 5 nights left and already the stress and exhaustion of the summer in the UK has absolutely vanished. We will certainly return here, when we have made some money and will will book a family holiday so we can all explore Jordan together.

Room Tip: Just call the hotel direct, explain what you want and they will make sure you find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs Kirstyhall,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early September 2013. Initial impression was good with the foyer area and gardens looking very nice. Pleasure quickly turned to disappointment with the room being scruffy, rubbish under the bed, torn and soiled furnishings, cracked porcelain basin. Clear signs of lack of investment but then we found that neither the bedside lamp nor TV worked, there was only one hand towel and no bathmat provided and no coffee or tea provided. Next day again no towels at all and no tea or coffee despite having drawn these problems to the attention of staff. The Manager apologised and said "what can I do" - head office didn't bother responding to my e-mail so I guess they cannot do anything either. But as a guest I can do something by not using that hotel chain again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room - book into a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 887MichaelG887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel with friendly person. Nice room, but had no wifi signal on my own room (maybe even better on a holiday) It has got all facilities needed. Nice private beach and swimming pools. Breakfast is great but keep an eye on the waiting crows when you eat on the terras. They will sack you breakfast after seconds, when you leave you breakfast unguarded haha. It is easy to walk to Aqaba center and it is great place from where to undertake excursions to Petra, dead sea, our Wadi Rum.
For the excursions i recommend NOT to use the local taxi’s drivers (our so called tour drivers) waiting at the hotel. They are only after you money and use “tricks” even after you made fixed prices for an excursion. After an excursion, they will call your hotel room with threats and leaving voice mails with paying you a visit at the hotel if you don’t pay extra. Don’t be impressed by those threats and don’t pay extra. For sure, don’t use a driver with the name Ehab with number 00962 785554404 He is a joke.
But is not the hotels fault that those people are waiting outside on the street to offer you’re their “services”

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Obelisk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Relying on all the positive tripadvisor ratings for this property, we chose the Mövenpick Aqaba Resort for four nights in September 2013 (75€ per night per rooms without breakfast). In the end, this was the most disappointing stay of all the Jordanian hotels we stayed at.

As we arrived, the receptionist told us that there was no booking for us. As they researched further, they told us that our reservations had been cancelled. We showed him online that our booking was still confirmed and finally, after 1,5 hours (!) we were able to enter our room in the main building. The standard rooms were simply horrible - small, used and especially: dirty. There were hair in the bathroom and on the balcony, the duvet cover was ragged, the bin was full of garbage etc etc. We immediately complained showing the staff the dirty rooms and received a room on the highest floor which seemed a lot better at once. However, the balcony doors were not closable (which is bad if you’re having connected balconies to other rooms) and it was very noisy due to a bus parking facing the hotel. Finally, we got upgraded to a duplex apartment in the residences sector which was a lot better. Still, none of the TVs was working until we called the engineers, same with one of the aircons. Wifi was not working properly during the whole stay and when it works, prepare to log in again each and every 5 minutes. And if you finally happen to have an acceptable room after spending 3 hours finding it – these shortages are just frustrating. And the staff just fail to show any tact towards these shortcomings. We were told that the general manager would be informed about these deficits but no one actually came back to us.
As soon as you leave the beautiful lobby, everything else looks worn and/or dirty. The rooms are everything but large, most of them have no view, all of them have these ancient tube TVs you might still know from the last century. The fitness room is one of the smallest I have ever seen and some of the machines did not work. This hotel badly needs a renovation. The service is as unprofessional as in most other hotels in Jordan and English is definitely a problem. Most of the security staff you pass going from the lobby to the pool area do not great you at all but stare at you grumpily. Service at the hotel courtyard’s bar in the evening was the worst. We waited for 15 minutes to spot a waiter to serve us when we first got there. One of them was just smoking and staring at his mobile phone and didn’t even bother to do something when I finally decided to get the drinks menu myself. I don’t know what the waiters are doing here, but you certainly don’t see them very often.
The only positive service encounters we’ve had and that we’d like to mention were with the lobby manager who was very friendly and appeared sincere aswell as Ahsraf from the housekeeping for being very friendly and building beautiful statues with towels on our beds! Finally, the only high-class experience in this hotel was the Dead Sea Grill restaurant. Prices are kind of high here, but the food is excellent!
Under the current conditions, this is nothing more but a 3 star (compared to Western hotels) or 4 star hotel (compared to Jordanian hotels). If you’re looking for a luxury experience, rather spend some Dinars more and choose the Kempinski in Aqaba. I don’t see this hotel in line with all the great Mövenpick hotels around the globe. Passionately Swiss? We cannot confirm!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monsieur_touriste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.2 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Property: Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing