We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in Aqaba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Oasis in Aqaba”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay at the Movenpick Aqaba was at the end of tour through Jordan, and we were after a couple of relaxing days before flying back home; it fully satisfied our expectations. Physically, the hotel is fairly elongated, including an overpass that leads over to the main pool and beach area, so you may end up doing a little bit of walking during the course of a day, but nothing too dramatic, and we can all do with a bit of exercise given all of the extra eating we end up doing while of holiday…

Our room was comfortable and well appointed, with a balcony and a view, and the sleep quality was excellent. The min-bar was stocked with free soft drinks, but the Wi-Fi was chargeable.

The choice and quality of eating options was excellent, including little snacks served in the pool areas. We found the various restaurants to be very good. Although the resort is located centrally within Aqaba, and there are externally option, we only really ventured out a couple of times to have a bit of a look around; we felt quite safe and secure, and we didn’t so anything silly.

The hotel enjoys a private beach, and this is well stocked with umbrellas and deckchairs, and there are a number of watersport options that can be easily booked and taken.

The clientele is fairly mixed, with the typically western tourists but also a quite large portion of local and regional tourists, so you will see large family parties, with all of the associated hoopla.

It was a very enjoyable stay, perfectly matching our desires and expectations, and we’d certainly return given another opportunity.

Room Tip: From what we could see, most rooms have a view of some description. You might just want to consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antipodeans_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    361
    149
    68
    59
See reviews for
577
508
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very high quality. Some nice touches like free soft drinks in room and slippers. On other hand, no free wifi in rooms and mine had no bureau-- just shelves in closet. Little balconies on rooms are nice. Restaurant is okay. The assorted mezza plates were best. Breakfast is good. Pools are fine and beach is attached to hotel and protected. Staff is outstanding. Conference rooms are up to the task.

Room Tip: Facing courtyard is best. Be sure to enjoy a hookah on the patio after dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

While Aqaba is not a perfect location with assorted cargo ships docked all over the water front, the Moevenpick Resort is an excellent facility with its own pools and beach front. The weather in the fall in Aqaba was excellent. The hotel room was spacious, the lobby was beautiful and the pool/beach facilities live up to five star standards. It was an excellent rest stop after most of a week's worth of sightseeing and visiting throughout Jordan. Diving in the Red Sea was wonderful with crystal clear water, good reefs and lots of sea life. All in all we had a great visit at a great resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is a 5 star hotel, and is as comfortable as you would expect. On the other hand it is large, and impersonal. It is a fair distance from the rooms to the pools, and you have to cross the lobby to get to them. Also the breakfast (outdoors is nice) is a huge buffet, and frankly it is a bit like being in Butlins holiday camp, or a motorway service station. Posh, yes, but they ran out of bowls for cornflakes both nights, and the glasses for OJ were hot, straight from the microwave. Bathrooms a bit small, and could do with a refurb (room 532 - the right hand lamp above the basin needs refixing to the wall, as does the towel holder above the bath, and the dressing gown hook in the bathroom). Complementary soft drinks in minibar very much appreciated.

Try to get a room with a view of the sea. It isn't the best view of the sea ever, but it is much better than the view at the back.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view. If you can get a sea view and a balcony you have hit the jackpot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDarjeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The high standards you would expect from Movenpick in every regard. We were overjoyed to be upgraded to a suite as well. Thank you so much! Every single member of staff was attentive, kind, friendly and helpful. Food was excellent, in fact the best we had in Jordan. My only quibble is the restaurant and chefs could do with being more aware of dietary requirements. It wasn't easy to find out the ingredients of the deserts. I can't have dairy, and after establishing that with the chef and being assured I could eat the chocolate mousse as it did not contain milk, it turned out to made with cream instead!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for completing our hotel’s online guest survey.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences in a not too distant future and assure you our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although we have rated this hotel as average, it is one of the best in Jordan from what we have heard.
Aqaba is an up and coming resort with a really good feel about the place and the same can be said of the Movenpick.It has three excellent pools, one of which is perched over a road, which sounds odd but is quite whacky.The other two pools are very clean and well layed out.
The main restaurant cannot cope with the number of guests and resembles a rugby scrum during breakfast and dinner. As a result the food quality is poor. Getting food hot is very difficult, I tried three times to get hot pancakes and at the third attempt the chef put his hand on them and pushed them to me with a distain (a vigorous complaint followed).
The seafood restaurant at the beach has excellent food, but watch out for prices, as they wanted to charge us double for the same meal over two consecutive nights.
My Wife had a bad experience here, when the lock on the toilet broke an it was 15 minutes before I pursuaded the manager to kick it in.
Rooms are average and we had problems getting towels, coffee and water replaced each day.
If you are thinking of booking a suite, do not go for 204, it has a wonderful balcony, but sits immediately above the disco bar.
The hotel is smart, but the issues we had did not make it a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: You must get a sea view room, as one side overlooks the car park, the other side overlooks waste gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for having completed our hotel's online guest satisfaction survey.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We will be delighted to be your host again during your next visit to Aqaba and assure you in advances our best care and attention to your comfort at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A beautifully hotel, which is well maintained with excellent facilities and very friendly professional staff. The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Aqaba with provides good access to the private beach. It was just the perfect wonderful and relaxing experience to end our holiday in Jordan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.2 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Property: Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing