We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best beach ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Aqaba
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the best beach ever”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I liked the clear waters
I did not like the beach and the sand itself. Also the swimming areas are normally restricted and small which i dis o not like

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Uriaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    84
    44
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent Beach & Great Snorkling”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The beach was nice, but the sand had lots of rocks, so bring your blankets. We visited in May and it was so hot, you needed foot protection to walk on it.

The reason why you go is the Red Sea is to swim and snorkel, which are fantastic. The Red Sea is where a lot of the pretty and neat looking fishes in aquariums come from. You'll see every color and some neat species like moray eels and lion fishes. To get an idea, google "red sea fish" and switch over to images. There is also lots of coral, but the fish actually outshine most of it by a lot. We spent two whole days snorkeling because it was so neat. And there's a military tank.

My one piece of advice is to take some good sunscreen or covering. The stuff we bought locally had to be reapplied every couple of hours, We couldn't find the all-day waterproof sun screen. At the time, that seems manageable. But we were having so much fun that 4 hours seemed like 2, so we got burned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
873 reviews
549 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 852 helpful votes
“Far better option than the beach in town - nice corals close to shore but some dodgy charachters.....”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a far better option than the crowded dirty beach in town. We drove the 5 or 6 miles south of Aqaba to get here and had a huge area of beach to ourselves for quite a while. Loads of free car parking space and miles of gentle coastline.

As commented on elsewhere a culture of picking up after ones self is not established here - and there was even parts of a broken bottle sat in the sand (..yes I moved it). On the plus side all along the coast there is coral and interesting fish very close in to the beach and as a snorkeling location it's superb. We had a couple of hours swimming and watching the fish - all very pleasant.

Then as my wife had got changed in the back of the car some guy with a camel shows up and positions himself so he can leer into the back of the car where wifey is sat... its normally quite easy to ignore troublesome people but when they park a camel next to you and get it to (*insert whatever the name is for that angry snorty growly camel noise here). When I asked him to move in a reasonable way he just starts yelling he wants water.... horrible scummy fellow. Got in car and drove off.

Real shame as the location is nice and the snorkeling / swimming superb.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“nice area”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Clean and nice area but don't leave your things Ana go to swim hide it for better reason to have them. Nice snorkeling area also or diving in red sea

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been to this beach in December 2013 it was very beautiful hotel , it is very good to swim and relax.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank andre_gerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing