We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable starters, disappointing mains and a very large bill”
Review of Fish In

Fish In
Ranked #36 of 94 Restaurants in Aqaba
Price range: $45 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Catch of the day, freshly prepared and served with exquisite style!Indulge in a collage of culinary delights from the Mediterranean and the Pacific Rim at the Red Sea. Location: Left side Beach area (Closed on Monday)
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“unforgettable starters, disappointing mains and a very large bill”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We were staying at the Kempisnki with my family and felt obliged to check out Fish In. The atmosphere, both inside and outside is modern, minimal and warm. Service is absolutely immaculate. The amuse-bouche (complimentary pre-starter appetizer) was SO good I wanted to order it as a main. We ordered 4 starters and 4 mains and decided to share everything. The 4 starters (Green Salad, Seared Sea Scallop, Lobster Risotto and Tuna Two Ways) were to absolutely die for. Original, cooked to perfection, very satisfying. Our taste buds were in heaven. Then we went onto mains. We ordered the two regional specialties (Aqaba Sayadia & the Hamour claypot) as well as the grilled jumbo prawns and a grilled Halibut. In the most unexpected twist of events, we were disappointed by all 4! Don't get me wrong: everything is of course still very edible but there just seems to be a significant and visible drop of quality and imagination between the starters and the mains which at 460$ for 4 people with ONE bottle of wine you just don't expect. Should have gone for the lobster!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Very Romantic Very Tasty"”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

it was unforgettable experience we had the lobster set menu for 2 times its the best ever,
the staff is very attentive and friendly thank you all.
we will come back next year with our family for this lovely hotel : )

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank laurent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“simply seafood by the sea”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Aqaba has lots of fish, but they tend to friy it. This restaurant buried In a corner of the Kepinski Hotel, down by there imported white sand beach, follows the tradition of great seafood restaurants in which you pick your fish andthen pick your choice of how you want it served. Gracious waiters and excellent side dishes and desserts make this a place to return to for a good meal or a special event.. It's pricey for sure. The only caveat
Is that sometimes the disco next door or an event at another kempinski venue means your meal will be eaten to an insistent international beat, but that is this part of the world



i

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Highly over rated”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

For a restaurant that is voted #1 in Aqaba we had high hopes. Attractive restaurant but a bit clinical inside. We shared a Mezza to begin (18JD) and had 12 little dishes to choose from. Some were good, some so over garlicked that the enamel came off my teeth. I had a dish of wild rice and humour that was way too salty. I spent the remaining evening gulping water. My wife had the grilled sea bass which was fractionally over cooked. One cocktail each and the bill was 105JD which is way too expensive for the quality of food provided.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best restaurant in the world”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We've been many times to fish in and we were never disappointed! The food is always excellent and reasonably priced. The service is very good and the staff are really friendly. I recommend this to everyone especially, who are looking for a good fish restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank obama o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish In also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to Fish In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing