We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, budget hotel”
Review of Al Qidra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Qidra Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and thought it was really good value for the price. We had a spacious room with a balcony on to the street in front. Didn't find it noisy at night but we slept with the a/c on as it was fairly warm. Bathroom was small but clean. There was a fridge for your drinks - I wouldn't call it a mini-bar! Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was standard Jordanian fare. The breakfast room is a little small and cramped but the second day we were there they opened another room at the back of it. Location is good in the middle of town but it's a little hard to find if you're driving so make sure you have good directions to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank untakenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 485 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Good standard tourist hotel. Best part of the hotel was the very accomodating service of the front desk, they made you feel welcome. For this alone I would come back. Spacious, nice Deluxe room with balcony and a touch of sea view. Good bed. Aircondition worked fine. Only a handful of english spoken channels on TV. Wireless did not work the first 3 days, when it did it was good. On 4th floor, there was a good deal of noise from appliances on floor/roof above. Until the street life ceased at 11-12pm there was noticable noise from the street. Bathroom needed a bit of maintenance and felt somewhat small, but worked OK, hot water never failed, but also a bit of smell from the drains. Breakfast very average (can be compared to ETAP hotels or a standard american motel). Located conveniently in the "new" city center, with dining, cafés etc just outside the door (but hey, Aqaba is so small that almost everything is in the city centre :-). Except for the bathroom drain smell the cleaning was impeccable. I probably should rate it lower but I liked it and would come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohlnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I decided to stay at Al Qidra because of the reviews of other travelers but I do not share their enthusiasm.
A great advantage of this place is its staff who is extremely nice and helpful. Also, the hotel is in a good location of the city (close to restaurants, shops).
The room size was OK to fit three people. They claim on their web that the rooms have a balcony but ours didn't have it. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room plus minibar was totally empty I would not say that the bathroom was modern (as they claim on their web) but it was OK. The hotel is clean. They have free wi fi in the rooms. The A/C was working properly plus there was a fan in the room.
A great disadvantage of the rooms was that the windows were not tight and we could hear the street noise and in the early morning we were woken up by the mosque.
Breakfast selection was rather poor and not the tastiest. The restaurant area is small and it can get crowdy.
The hotel has an arrangement with private Berenice Beach which means that you pay half of the entrance fee (7.50 JD instead of 15 JD).
For their price you can get other, better accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margareta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The rooms were very good and the location was excellent. The staff were also very helpful. Our room was a bit noisy so I would suggest asking if there is a quiet room available. Breakfast was reasonable.

Room Tip: Quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosdeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here because we were diving with Dive Aqaba which is right next door. It's not the most luxurious of hotels, but it is clean, has decent beds and working facilities. They usually have free wifi as well, but this was broken when we were there and the management apologized profusely. These things happen. Breakfast was again average, but more than fulfilled the need and the staff was friendly and helpful.

It's in the middle of town, so was a bit noisy on the Friday night, but fine all other nights. It also means that there are shops, bars and restaurants on your doorstep. And if you can find a spot you can park right in front of it.

If you are diving with Dive Aqaba you can't get a better location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was staying in Aqaba for one night with my family and wanted somewhere reasonably priced with good reviews and Al Qidra seemed to fit the bill.
Parking is on the street directly in front and seems fairly safe, check in was smooth and that's where the positives end.
The room although fairly clean was in a poor state of repair with light bulbs missing, the fan looked like it would fall down any minute, the balcony door would not close properly, the furniture looked dated and the fridge/freezer had the previous occupants food in.
The website states all rooms and suites at Al Qidra Hotel come with tea/coffee facilities, these were non existent.
The website also states each accommodation has a modern private bathroom, I wouldn't call it that, oh and some towels to dry yourself would be useful.
WiFi was free but useless and not one of us could log on reliably.
The street it's in is also noisy up until well after midnight so being a light sleeper I got little sleep.
The breakfast area is quite nice but only if there's some breakfast left to eat in it, so plan on getting up extra early (we got to breakfast at 7.20) to get some food.
I left feeling tired and let down..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On the one night we spent at the hotel, our impression was that it was clean and the staff welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast did not have much variety, but for the price the hotel was good value and well situated to lots of restaurants, the bus station, and some other attractions of Aqaba.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrRobertofWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.0 mi away
Amir Palace Hotel
Amir Palace Hotel
#13 of 40 in Aqaba
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#17 of 40 in Aqaba
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
211 reviews
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel by Swiss-Belhotel
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Qidra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Qidra Hotel

Address: Al-Saada Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: $40 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Qidra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al- Qidra Hotel is located in central Aqaba, and just walking distance to the beach & numerous touristic spots, including shopping districts, banks, restaurants, and diving centers. Aqaba King Hussein International Airport is 10 kilometers away. The hotel features air-conditioned rooms with a private balcony. Each accommodation has a modern private bathroom, tea/coffee facilities, wireless internet access, and satellite channels. Breakfast buffet is served daily in Al-Qidra's simply furnished restaurant with terrace. Free parking area is available in front of the hotel. Room Category: Standard rooms ( Twin/Double & Triple) Deluxe rooms (Twin & Double) Executive Suites (two rooms with double & triple room, five (5) persons occupancy). Room Facilities: mini-bar, TV with satellite channels, coffee tray, individual controlled air conditioning, bath tub & showers, cabinet, fan, and telephone. Hotel Facilities: Wireless Internet (in all floors), elevator, laundry, fax/photocopying machine, restaurant, private beach access, parking area. Hotel Services: Mail & Postage Services, currency exchange, In-House Doctor on Call, Ironing service, hair-cut salon, room service, 24 hours front desk, airport drop-offs & pick-ups, car rental & transportations from and to other locations in Jordan, Wadi Rum services (jeep safari, desert camping, camel riding, ballooning, & hiking), Petra excursions, snorkeling, diving, Red Sea sunset trip, Pharaoh Island Trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Al Qidra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing