We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here before going to Petra and Wadi Rum for one night. After coming from Israel, where the hotels were far more expensive, we were surpised by this hotel. The property feels new and the rooms were really nice. On top of that, the service was pretty good as well. The only major issue we ran into was that the hotel has a strange policy of not allowing outside food or drink into the hotel. I bought some bottled water right across the street and one of the security guys wasn't going to let me bring the water into the hotel! Another security guy intervened and overuled the first guy. That was odd. Never have run into that policy before. Pros and Cons:

1. Really nice rooms for the money- Well appointed rooms and nice beds. Also nice to have the air conditioning work in the winter. Most hotels in the Middle East do not have working air conditioning systems in the winter. Was nice to be able to cool the room.
2. Solid breakfast- Pretty good breakfast spread
3. Good service except for the strange run-in with the security.

Cons:
1. Location- Although the hotel is in the center of town and close to restaurants, there is alot of noise and traffic near the hotel. The property is not on the Red Sea, so it is not secluded like a few of the other resorts. You might want to stay somewhere else if you want quiet.

All in all a great hotel for the money. A pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its rooms, facilities and services were up to your liking.

We would like to bring to your attention that, for health and safety reasons, food and/or beverage is not allowed to be brought into the hotel as mentioned in the hotel’s website under “Hotel Policies”.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    243
    71
    41
    16
See reviews for
200
271
72
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very clean place with a good veiw...Great team and great service.. Very good hotel for leisure and business..rooms are clean and size is perfect with a nice veiw...F&B is nice with many excellent dishes of food .. Will come again ;)..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its rooms, facilities and services were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I realize that standards around "non-smoking" are not as stringent in the Middle East as they are in North America, but as a non-smoker who finds tobacco smoke repulsive I was dismayed that my non-smoking room smelled so strongly of cigarettes. Even the pillows smelled!

This put a damper on an otherwise excellent night at the Doubletree. Staff were all extremely welcoming, helpful and professional. Meals were very good. A good jumping-off point for a trip to Petra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meli299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities, services and location were up to your liking. We would also like to thank you for the kind words you had given on behalf of the team and be assured that your comments have been conveyed to them in the meantime.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced as a result of the cigarette smell in your non-smoking room and would like to thank you for bringing it to our attention. Rest assured that we have went through your comments extensively with our Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager who will be following up on them to prevent them from re-occurrence to any of our other guests in the future and ensure their utmost satisfaction.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Double Tree Hotel has the kind of quaint charm you expect of a third world establishment. They don't state their rules during check in, but the security won't let outside food in the hotel because they want to force you to eat at their restaurant. Unaware of this, I bought a snack to tide me over until the hotel restaurant opened and ended up standing on the sidewalk outside eating it. The dirt lot next to the hotel is their parking lot. This did not meet any of my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We would like to bring to your attention that, for health and safety reasons, food and/or beverage is not allowed to be brought into the hotel as mentioned in the hotel’s website under “Hotel Policies”.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel was fantastic, it isnt right on the water though(2 blocks, many of rooms have water view) but it makes up for that with its friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and nice pool. The staff was fantastic greeted with kindness and a warm fresh cookie...I checked in one day and the rest of my party the second day when I approached the counter the front desk gentlemen (Yazan?) remembered my name and greeted me kindly with another cookie. EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE. I would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its rooms, facilities and services were up to your liking. We would also like to thank you for the kind words you had given on behalf of the team and be assured that your comments have been conveyed to them in the meantime.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days with only breakfast included. The hotel is located in the center of Aqaba with several nice restaurants and bars nearby. We had a sea view room with a king seize double bed. The room offered more then enough space for the two of us with a bathroom that included a shower and a bathtub.

The hotel offers a small swimming pool with two hot tubs and a shuttle service to the Bernice Beach club. The shuttle service needs to be reserved and only went a few times a day. This was a inconvenience, because if you where to late with getting a ticket for the bus you couldn't go to the beach club.

There are two restaurants in the hotel, Gusto and King's Grill. In Gusto breakfast was served every morning. The best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. Really good quality and more then enough choice to everyone's liking. We had dinner in the King's Grill and the same can be said here. The service was good and the dinner they served was excellent. We also ordered room service one time, which was just as nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svanaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its rooms, facilities, services and location were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel for my stay was fine, the people are friendly and helpful in the hotel and i could not fault them in any way on this visit. Aqaba needs to develop more to satisfy a more European market and would not suit the less adventurous person. If you want that kind of holiday and not venture out into Aqaba and the surrounding area then stay at a different hotel locally

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MickyTLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its rooms, facilities and location were up to your liking. We would also like to thank you for the kind words you had given on behalf of the team and be assured that your comments have been conveyed to them in the meantime.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
8.2 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#14 of 40 in Aqaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Address: Al-Hammamat Al-Tunisyya Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
And don't forget to start the day right with our extensive DoubleTree Breakfast buffet. Grilled fish, beef or chicken lovers will feel at home in our Infinity Grill Terrace where guests are welcome to choose their fresh meal and our chef will personally cook it for them. Or, for a quick bite or casual meeting, stop by our Palm Court Cafe serving freshly brewed coffees and teas, homemade pastry and a wide selection of snacks. Infinity Chill Out, renowned for its scenic views over the Gulf of Aqaba, sip exotic cocktails and mocktails and energize with a snack by the pool while enjoying the music played by the in house DJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing