We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for vacation in Aqaba, Jordan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed November 23, 2013

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel is located in the middle of center of Aqaba city.
The hotel and its service is at top score both for business trip and vacation.
The breakfast is various with different dishes and good omelet served every morning.
The pool and pool bar is not big, but a great view over the city and the sea.
Hotel receptionist are friendly, offering warm cookies on arrival and departure.
We got to know the room cleaner, leaving him some Pocket money every morning, before hitting the Beach, where he returned the favour making all kinds of figures With the towel, and once leaving roses on the bed for my wife!
Just across the street you will fing the souk (marked), where Aqaba is a duty free town, and easy to spend to much Money!
Be aware that it is illegal to bring beverage in to the hotel, if you have not agreed this with the Security when leaving for shopping. The Security are to scan Your bags every time when entering the hotel. This is for your Security, where you get used to this routine!
Since the hotel is not located close to the sea, there is a Shuttle bus going 3 times a day t/r to the Bernice Beach Club, with free entrance (it was for us at least).
This private Beach is reccomended with lovely snorkeling conditions, just like diving into an aqauarium.
Note that it is only wifi in the lobby, restaurants and the pool bar, but cable in the room.
Me and my wife had a great time at this hotel, where we reccomend anyone who wandering if to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neiden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Greetings from DOubleTree By Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your experience of your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for the kind words you have given on behalf of our team members.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities, rooms, services and location were up to your liking.

In regards to your comment about internet access, we would like to inform you that we are working on upgrading the hotel’s internet connectivity and installing WiFi in the guest rooms within this year.

We have also noted your comment regarding food and beverage not being allowed from outside the hotel and would like to bring your attention that that the hotel, as other hotels in the area, has a policy of not allowing food and beverage from outside the hotel.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for two days on points and the hotel was awesome. Hotel staff was very accommodating and got us a free room upgrade. Great help with our bags, great food, and overall great experience.

The security staff at the front door however need a lesson in getting their act together. I was EXTREMELY irritated by their complete and total lack of communication skills. I had a rather loud incident with them at the front door because they would not tell me what I was supposed to do.

My wife and I had brought leftover pizza back to the hotel and was told by security we couldn't bring outside food in. Fine, I put the box down and proceeded in. The security guard then points to the box and starts yelling at me in Arabic. He was trying to get me to take the box. So I then asked him where I was supposed to take it. I can't bring it in so what does he want me to do with it. He just started shouting at me and I tried to ask them where I could throw it out because he won't let me bring it in. This continued for a few minutes as none of the three security guards seemed to understand what the word garbage or throw out meant. I almost took the box of food and threw it into the street.

Thankfully one of the hotel service staff said something to the guy and made a joke about it being his favorite pizza and the guard waved us into the hotel with the box.

If you want to have a policy about not bringing outside food items in then you should have a place to throw them out and inform your staff what that means. Add to that the fact that when my wife asked the front desk where she could buy a Pepsi, the clerk said they didn't have any but she could go across the street and buy one there. Doesn't that go against your policy?

Everything else about the hotel was fantastic but this security experience was awful. Be aware of not bringing in outside items.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities, rooms, services and location were up to your liking.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced with our security team members at the entrance of the hotel and the miscommunication that took place. Rest assured that we have went through your comments with our Security Manager and Front Office Manager who will be following up on them to prevent them from re-occurrence to any of our other guests in the future and ensure their utmost satisfaction.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hilton Double Tree ensures a first impression that will lasts till they wave good bye for you. I would never find such flamboyant sensational cookies in any world wide fine patisserie shops. I would live in Hilton Double Tree, always feel like its my home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities and services were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future to your home away from home and enjoy our warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip walnut cookies.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

the hotel is a perfect stay to enjoy the area , they have a pool, and a private beach with pool too 15 minutes away , they have a navette. the breakfast is excellent and the service world class. can only recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank larocheben77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities, rooms, services and location were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great Welcome when you walk in and are greeted with Double Chocolate still warm cookie. We checked in at 10.30 when rooms were not available till 3pm but they had ours ready in 40minutes and it was exceptionally clean and well prepared. The bed was the best I have ever slept in high standard of bedding crisp white high thread count white sheets.
Lots of choice at breakfast and diner buffet with options for freshly prepared food. stir fries pizza ect. Selection of sweets outstanding both warm and chilled options. Breakfast staff very attentive filling coffee cups and freshly squeezed orange juice as often as you required. If you get the option of all inclusive go for it we stayed half board and the price of wine with your meal by glass we felt was just too high to be comfortable with so stuck to water. Due to the overall standard of the hotel I was surprised to see guests wearing shorts for the evening meal .Lots of cafes and shops in the area to go out in the evening for some local atmosphere. The pool is far too small and at weekend very busy but still a great place to chill at sunset. The hotel provides free shuttle to Bernice Club down the coast which charges 7JD Entrance per person however the facilities are excellent. The food and beverages here are very reasonable by Jordan Standards. Snorkling here is not the best,,, few fish and much of the coral is dead, better option to book a boat trip further down the coast.
The downside here is security check your bags every time you enter the hotel as all food and drink purchased outside the hotel is taken off you until you you check out. As Aqaba is a duty free zone you are unable to take advantages of a tipple and few savouries in you room which is a shame. Overall an excellent stay in a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUZYWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities, rooms, services and location were up to your liking.

We have also noted your comments in regards to not being allowed to bring in food or beverage from outside the hotel and would like to draw your attention that the hotel, as other hotels in the area, has a policy of not allowing food and beverage from outside the hotel.

Kindly note that security check is in place to ensure that our guests’ safety and security is not compromised.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The complementary tickets to Berenice beach are well worth the hotel fee alone, what a marvellous relaxing place with superb staff (The beach that is). We found the infinity bar a nice place to get a drink and relax by the pool, although in reality it's not actually an 'infinity pool' - just close to it. The staff at the bar were excellent. The hotel porter was also excellent, a middle eastern Cuba Gooding Jr with a memory like an elephant for remembering who's bags belonged to who when he brought them up to your room. The rooms were spacious, the bed was excellent, the bathroom featured heated mirrors and and excellent hot shower including hair drier. All in all this was an excellent place to stay, if slightly marred by the poor start they made on our arrival with the long wait for a room and a lack of attentiveness to our needs, which we would have expected better from a 5* and had come from a 3* hotel previously that surpassed this in service alone.

However on the downside the staff at the front desk were less attentive than I had come accustomed to in my time in Jordan, it could be the pressure of working in a busy front desk or the general attitude of tourists towards staff in a 5* hotel that caused this (I did see some fellow customers being rather rude towards staff) I don't know. I had to wait for over an hour for hotel staff to find me a non-smoking double room that I had pre-booked as it would seem they had over-booked certain rooms. Other than this checking-in experience the hotel was faultless

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments about your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities, rooms, services and location were up to your liking.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced resulting from the delay in checking in. kindly note that we have went through your comments extensively with our Front Desk Manager who will be following up on them to ensure that such inconveniences are prevented from re-occurrence to any of our guests in the future and to ensure their utmost satisfaction

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 7 nights here and we enjoyed it very much. The service was extremely good at every touch points. The rooms nice an clean. A big plus is the bus to the beach. However we could have used that there were more than three departures a day. Furthermore, the bus was often full and that created longer waiting time.

A minus is that it is allowed to smoke in the lobby area. There is only free Wi-Fi in the lobby.

We got a room on the first floor. However, we had trouble sleeping due to the noise from the lounge club in the basement, which is open six days a week. When we talked with the reception, they were helpful and moved us to another room on a higher floor. We were very happy about this move and there positive attitude made the move a nice experience instead of making it a problem.

I would recommend Doubletree Hilton to other couples as it is perfectly located in the city centre close to restaurants and with a bus to the beach with its own coral reef.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarianneBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its facilities, rooms, services and location were up to your liking.

We have also noted your comments regarding cigarette smoking in the hotel lobby; kindly note that due to cultural habits, cigarette smoking cannot be prohibited in the hotel and would like to inform you that we have designated non-smoking rooms as well as non-smoking areas in the hotel’s restaurants

It is worth noting that we are working on upgrading the hotel’s internet connectivity and installing WiFi in the guest rooms within this year.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
8.2 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#19 of 40 in Aqaba
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba

Address: Al-Hammamat Al-Tunisyya Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: $87 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
And don't forget to start the day right with our extensive DoubleTree Breakfast buffet. Grilled fish, beef or chicken lovers will feel at home in our Infinity Grill Terrace where guests are welcome to choose their fresh meal and our chef will personally cook it for them. Or, for a quick bite or casual meeting, stop by our Palm Court Cafe serving freshly brewed coffees and teas, homemade pastry and a wide selection of snacks. Infinity Chill Out, renowned for its scenic views over the Gulf of Aqaba, sip exotic cocktails and mocktails and energize with a snack by the pool while enjoying the music played by the in house DJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing