We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a beautiful country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a beautiful country”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the Double tree hotel for one week on an all inclusive base. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located centrally, in the center of Aqaba near all kinds of restaurants and bars. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The hotel has a small pool with two jacuzzi's. It's a nice spot to chill, but very hot because there is no wind (or vans..). Fortunately the hotel offers a shuttle service to the Berenice beach club. A nice place to relax, take a swim in the infinity pool or swim in the sea near beautiful fish. The coral isn't the most beautiful in the world, but there's stil enough to see.

The breakfast is excellent, just as the buffet in the evening. Tip: have dinner at the Kings Grill restaurant. Excellent surrounding (beautiful atmosphere) and great food. If you stay on an all in base you can also have lunch at Kings Grill.. Just great! Staying at an all in base is a good idea, since Jordan is not a cheap country. Especially alcohol is expensive (which can be expected because of the islam beliefs of the country).

If you want to take a tour around, make sure to ask for Omar Ali. Great guide, nice person and true value for money. Tours from travel agencies (in our case TUI/jetair/arke) are very expensive and not our taste. With Omar you can customize your day, so we combined a visit to Petra with Wadi Rum and had a great, but tiring day :)

Last but not least: The staff of the hotel is really doing all they can to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. In our case, they did an excellent job.

So, If you look for a nice, comfortable hotel in Aqaba, centrally located, with a true effort for you as a guest: stay at the Doubletree by Hilton. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its location, facilities, rooms, restaurants and services were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    266
    77
    42
    19
See reviews for
220
289
77
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for a week at Doubletree Aqaba. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located if you are happy to explore the town of Aqaba - it's not as convenient for swimming in the Red Sea but there is an affiliation with Berenice Beach resort which you can access for JOD7 per person which includes a shuttle bus there (equipment hire is on top of this - about JOD10 per person for snorkelling gear). We had an incident occur while there (a silly mistake by a staff member) and the hotel General Manager dealt with it in a very professional and empathetic way.

One real downside is that wifi is only available in public areas - not good for those of us not using PC platforms / equipment. Smoking is also prevalent, so if you are a non-smoker then you may find it hard to get fresh air at times (you can get non smoking rooms on non smoking floors)

We had breakfast there every day and ate in both restaurants for dinner. The food quality and choice was always very good.

We would recommend this as a place to stay if you are happy to be away from the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its location, facilities, rooms, restaurants and services were up to your liking.

In regards to your comment about internet connectivity, kindly note that we are working on upgrading the hotel’s internet connectivity and installing WiFi in the guest rooms within this year.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family of four shared two adjoining rooms here in August 2013 for three nights. Hotel staff was helpful and courteous. We used the shuttle to visit the Bernice Beach Club at a Red Sea beach (take your water moccasins and flip-flops) . There was a pier to swim and snorkel from. The pool and snack bar was great.

In the evenings, it was a short walk along the downtown streets to see the stores and eat in the restaurants. The 24 Hour Café and Gelato Café down the street from the hotel had great food and value (food was cheaper and taste better). Staying at the Doubletree was relaxing and made our visit in Aqaba enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that the hotel, its rooms, services and location were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. Very central and well appointed hotel. Excellent attentive staff. Clean rooms very spacious.
Used the Kings Grill both nights the food was exceptional. Recommend the restaurants speciality Steak baked inside a salt casing. Unbelievably tender. Fine selection of wines. Try the Jordanian Chardonnay superb.
Enjoyed stay. Well done to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its location, facilities, rooms, restaurants and services were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba team looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The property is located in a central and strategic location in Aqaba. Great staff members; friendly and professionals. The breakfast is outstanding. Great bedding. A well equipped fitness center. Free wifi from rooms (needs improvement); speedy internet from the lobby/business center. I hope that the hotel works more on maintenance and upkeep (especially lighting, floors, fitness center and shoe shine equipment).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelerEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are delighted that the hotel, its location, facilities, rooms and services were up to your liking.

We have also noted your comments regarding maintenance and upkeep of hotel works and would like to assure you that we have went through them extensively with our Chief Engineer who will be following up on them to ensure our guests’ utmost satisfaction.

It us worth noting that WiFi internet access is currently only available in the hotel’s public areas, while wired internet access is available in the rooms, and that we are working on upgrading the hotel’s internet connectivity and installing WiFI in the guest rooms within this year.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the DoubleTree in Aqaba for 4 nights in July during Ramadan. As HHonors members, we were upgraded to a great room overlooking the Red Sea with a balcony. I definitely recommend this type of room! We were very comfortable at night and also enjoyed the meals while at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was perfect with plenty of options and the lounge on the bottom floor is definitely a neat room.
Also, the Benice Beach Resort they are connected with is great! We enjoyed the Infinity Pool, snorkeling in the Red Sea, and the beach.

What made our stay special though is the staff. They were all very friendly and welcoming to any questions we had. They all spoke English which was helpful and directed us when needed. Overall- great hotel and I cannot imagine a better option in Aqaba.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Red Sea with a balcony are outstanding option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZMAN3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that the hotel, its rooms, services, facilities and location were up to your liking and would like to thank you for the kind words you had given on behalf of the team and be assured that your comments have been conveyed to them in the meantime.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great place to chill out and treat yourself after a long day in town; right from the initial hot cookie to a lovely room, great pool area with jacuzzi and bar, and excellent breakfast service; definitely the place to stay. The only negative; car rental options in the hotel were a little expensive, but not to worry; there are many car rental vendors just outside the hotel and many decent local restaurants only a short walk away

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Baljindersingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeAqaba, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Good day from DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba!

We would like to thank you for sparing a few minutes of your valuable time to share your comments of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba.

We are glad that the hotel, its rooms, services, facilities and location were up to your liking.

DoubleTree by Hilton Aqaba family looks forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
8.2 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#18 of 40 in Aqaba
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Address: Al-Hammamat Al-Tunisyya Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
And don't forget to start the day right with our extensive DoubleTree Breakfast buffet. Grilled fish, beef or chicken lovers will feel at home in our Infinity Grill Terrace where guests are welcome to choose their fresh meal and our chef will personally cook it for them. Or, for a quick bite or casual meeting, stop by our Palm Court Cafe serving freshly brewed coffees and teas, homemade pastry and a wide selection of snacks. Infinity Chill Out, renowned for its scenic views over the Gulf of Aqaba, sip exotic cocktails and mocktails and energize with a snack by the pool while enjoying the music played by the in house DJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing