We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrast to "likesscubadive s" Story”

SeaStar Water Sports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seastar Water Sports is a PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Centre offering all PADI courses from first time Discover Scuba Diving up to Instructor level. Including PADI TecRec, Trimix and Sidemount diving!! We speak English, Arabic, French, Spanish, Italian and Russian. Our Dive Centre at "Club Murjan" is located on the south beach with large pool, changing rooms, showers and restaurant/bar. We have 3 magnificent house reefs and offer daily snorkelling trips and guided dives by shore or boat to all the sites in the Aqaba Marine Park. We also provide free daily hotel transfers to all divers and snorkellers.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm writing this review to give a balanced review written by "likesscubadive s".
SeaStar has the most professional and qualified staff in Aqaba, and I have dove with most of the dive centers there.
"likesscubadive s" you need to get professional help.

2  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea star"
in 12 reviews
"great club"
in 3 reviews
"dive sites"
in 15 reviews
"dive master"
in 10 reviews
"open water"
in 6 reviews
"cedar pride"
in 7 reviews
"diving center"
in 7 reviews
"nice pool"
in 2 reviews
"personal attention"
in 2 reviews
"great diving"
in 5 reviews
"dive club"
in 3 reviews
"special thanks"
in 4 reviews
"rental gear"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
"diving experience"
in 5 reviews
"three days"
in 2 reviews
"experienced divers"
in 2 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited SeaStar in September 2012 at the end of a holiday travelling round Jordan. It was such a positive experience that we went back this September purely to dive and again chose SeaStar.
From the planning stage we intended to undertake the PADI Advance Open Water Diver course and we received great email support from Suzie and (later) Marina in order to prepare for it.
They also put us in touch with a company who organised our ground transport to and from Amman as well as a good hotel.
The day we arrived we were met outside our hotel, taken to the dive centre and, despite being known from our previous visit, taken through an induction process of paperwork, safety brief and a check dive. Every subsequent dive across the next 9 days was also preceded by a safety brief.
Equipment was well used but also well maintained. We were, however, aware as all divers should be and as practiced at all other dive centres we have visited – that it was our responsibility to assemble and check it though help was readily offered if required. The limited kit we brought with us was checked and a fogging issue with one mask was solved by Thaer.
Dives made at sites other than the house reef necessitated loading the equipment and ourselves into the club van for the road trip. The van is old and due for replacement but, to be fair, constant hammering from salt water, sand and divers does no vehicle any good.
Across the 10 days we dived with all the staff instructors – Thaer (the chief instructor), Eva (who took us through the AOWD course), Lana (who also passed on a lot of advice) and Jason (the new guy and just as enthusiastic as the others). All made us feel welcome and confident, even on the more challenging dives. They are all very safety oriented but also all passionate about preserving the reef and on some dives return with small items of rubbish which they have found and removed.
The club building itself is in need of some updating but is certainly clean and fit for purpose. The food and the service is excellent.
It’s probably worth saying at this point that as far as we know most other dive centres are based in Aqaba and travel out to the dive sites each morning and afternoon or use a boat to visit the reefs. SeaStar are out on the coast so that all necessary support and facilities are where you need them.
All in all we cannot recommend SeaStar highly enough, are baffled by the review posted 21 July 2013, and intend to visit again in the future.

Thank BillandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Seastar is staffed by some of the most wonderful and professional people I have ever met. Especially Thaer and Salman. As a new diver they helped me every step of the way. They were incredibly fun to be around. They catered every dive and trip to my own personal whim.

That being said; the club itself is very run down. Had Thaer and Salman not come highly recommended by a friend I would never have dived with this club. However, that should not subtract from the wonderful dive experience that Thaer and Salman can provide.

Thank IbrahiemK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S, Owner at SeaStar Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are always happy to hear what you think as it is this that drives us to improve. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with our facilities. But I am happy to inform you that over the quiet winter months we have resurfaced the pool and restaurant areas, fitted new showers and plumbing in the bathrooms and currently overhauling our compressors and dive equipment. We hope that you would come back to visit us again and see how your feedback makes a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The day we spent at the SeaStar Water Sports Centre was a beautiful one! And we had it all - the fun, the excitement, the serenity... The setting is magical, it's a very atmospheric place. When we came and got absorbed with the atmosphere it all became very special.
The centre is right on the beach. The beach is clean and safe, the corals are amazing! The pool of the centre is a dream - it also has sea water added and it's deep.
The people are great, everyone - from the friendly owner to the highly qualified and, again, friendly instructors as well as everyone else we met there! The reason we chose them was that they were the only ones who replied to our request mail quickly, thoroughly, were extremely helpful while explaining the details. And it's worth every cent you pay! Experienced professionals work there and it's not only fun but also safe.
There was a misunderstanding and we missed the opportunity to drive to another place and dive for the second time.. but, well, we had the best time just snorkelling around all by ourselves. We had all the gear till the end of the day, enjoyed a delicious meal at the restaurant of the club, had time to chat with people of the centre.

1  Thank Daria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

thank you sea star for beautiful day i will visit you again i promise to spend another day in Paradise
thanks alot

2  Thank Awny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaStar Water Sports also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to SeaStar Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing