We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Sea Dive Center
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very clean and friendly with a good breakfast. Our only problem was that it worked out a bit expensive for us (2 adults and 2 children aged 13 and 10) as we had to have two double rooms rather than a room for four which usually works out cheaper. Don’t know if they don’t have them or just couldn’t do it for us.

It is a nice place to flake out around the pool if you wish but also has easy access to the beach for snorkelling. The closest beach (Public Beach No.4 – free) is about 500m straight down the hill. Cross the main road at the bottom and directly across the beach is a rope that leads 50m or so out to sea. Follow this and it takes you through a break in the coral. You get a good view of the coral as you go through and can swim up and down the drop off on the other side. You can swim out anywhere else as well but can’t get through the coral without swimming over it which isn’t good for you or the coral if it is too shallow. Lots of fish!

There are a lot of touristy places to eat in Aqaba but try the local street cafes instead. We had some great meals for less than 10JD for the four of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    44
    14
    2
    7
See reviews for
26
81
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The staff, especially the cooks - where very nice and super polite.
In addition the food they cooked for supper was in a restaurant level and with good price.
The hostel is quiet and calm, has a good view to the sea -
Pay attention to the fact that the hostel is on the top of a hill and it takes 10 minutes to walk
from there to the sea shore.

In Fridays the beach might be crowded and it is not recommended to swim with bare arms and legs - if you're a woman. People are staring. The solution is to take a taxi to the private beach in the south shore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assafgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

hotel is good and snorkeling experience great. Just some problems with cockroach and mosquitos, the staff made the maximum to solve the problem. Just ask to NOT have room 1 (super noisy with the water pump upstairs)

Room Tip: room 1 to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maluyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I had a warm welcome from Abdullah Momany and his brother Omar, two very professional dive-masters who run the center. We hadn't been diving for 1 year, but our confidence quickly came back thanks to Abdullah and Omar's advice. Our 2 dives were beautiful, with many corals and very nice fishes. Although we didn't stay at the center for the night, we could have an excellent local Jordanian dinner in the center with the staff and other divers, and we had a very friendly and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked 3 nights after being to Wadi Rum -for some R&R--rooms basic and clean -but complex on side road 500mtres from sea up a hill-situated in small gully - no view out of room except sand piled high against adjoining wall.
Service-adequate-but no information given unless specifically asked for.
Good for 2 star hotel -but looking at reviews was expecting more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in January. The Red Sea Dive Centre is a small hotel about 10km from Aqaba, tucked up a side road behind the Bedouin Garden Village. The area is obviously being developed at present with several other low-rise hotels being built on the same road.

The room was basic, but clean and tidy with a big bed. The bathroom had an open shower, which meant the whole floor got wet when you had a wash.

Breakfast was quite meagre - just some humous, toast and a boiled egg. We drove into town for our evening meal - a 15 minute drive but worth it for the better choice on offer.

As a whole service was quite good. We wanted to go snorkelling and hired the kit from them. They advised we wore a shortie (small wetsuit) and this was good advice given it was quite cool in the water at this time of year. Also - we had no kettle in the room and in the evening I asked for a mug of hot water for a tea and they were very obliging.

If you do go snorkelling from the beach - bear in mind it is about 500 metres so a long way to walk if you are wet. We drove down as we had a car, but I would not have wanted to walk.

A simple hotel that served it's purpose - but not as special as the other reviews suggest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Chose this place to stay after reading all the positive reviews and was not disappointed. Our room was clean and comfortable with piping hot water. The pool area is sheltered from the wind and even if it was late December it was a very pleasant place to sit and relax after snorkelling.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshladyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
1.1 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arab Divers
Arab Divers
#1 of 19 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba
0.5 mi away
Almarsa Village Dive  Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sea Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sea Dive Center

Property: Red Sea Dive Center
Address: South Beach Road | next to Aqaba Marine Park, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sea Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RED SEA DIVE CENTER has been formed to offer this alternative since its establishment in 1992 and continued to provide a unique diving & accommodation activities and now we are proud that we opened the New Red Sea Dive Center on the South Beach of Aqaba where we offer a full range of services like accommodation, swimming pool, kids pool, restaurant and diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Sea Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sea Dive Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing