We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese”

Formosa Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 94 Restaurants in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chinese”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good food nice atmosphere just a pity the toilets are public and outside and disgusting. It has a good selection of Chinese food to suit everybody so if you are in Aqaba give it a try

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MickyTLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    57
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I am a huge Chinese food fan, and make it a point to search out these restaurants around the globe. We found Formosa in TripAdvisor and gave it a try. The menu and flavors would be familiar to anyone who frequents Chinese restaurants in the US, but the food, service and ambience were WAY above average. The staff was very helpful and very eager to please. The food was all well prepared and attractive. All in all a very nice experience, so we went back again the next night and enjoyed it all over again. Tip: if you like pan-fried dumplings, don't fail to order their "pan grilled" beef dumplings--truly perfection!

Helpful?
Thank 2Avid_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Formosa is the best Chinese food restaurant in Aqaba, good quality of food, good service, hospital owners, really must visit during your stay in Aqaba.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Okay, when I say this is authentic, you can trust me! I am Chinese!
This is the best Chinese food we had in Jordan. We live in Amman and have tried just about every Chinese restaurants here. But, none of them really came close. If you are in Aqaba and want a Chinese food fix, go to Formosa and enjoy yourself!

The owner and the staff were all very friendly! We especially enjoyed the spicy lamb soup noodle! Pleasantly surprised! My 3-year-old ate it and asked for more!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Welcoming friendly staff. Great menu to choose from, and pictures to help make your decision.
All the food was tasty, a really good Chinese. Maybe not the best I've ever had, but certainly a really good surprise in the middle of aqaba.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Formosa Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to Formosa Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing