We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent simple hotel with central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
My Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
amman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A decent simple hotel with central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent central location in Aqaba town. Facility and rooms are quite simple but very clean.
breakfast variety wasn't very appealing but the personalized omelete option made on spot for you was excellent. Everything worked fine in the room and bathroom. The reception, housekeeping and breakfast staff were extremely friendly!
As for the price, I think it is a bit overpriced, especially that you also need to pay beach entrance when you go to one of the good beach facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terhaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    56
    6
    6
See reviews for
44
87
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was in Wadi Rum with a friend; we did a full moon night marathon and decided to have dinner in aqaba, which is around 1/2 hr away. after dinner and ll the running, we decided to spend the night. we saw this cozy hotel in a central location. it looked decent from the outside and the staff were friendly. furthermore, the rates with wallet-friendly as well...so we decided to spend the night and leave back to amman the next morning.

the rooms were clean, shower had an abundance of hot water, ned was comfy and the next morning's breakfast was more than what we could have asked for. I would def stay there again...especially that they have a special rate to use the InterCon's pool and beach for JD 15, which makes up for not being on the beach.

As for ratings, 5 star ratings r exclusive to hotels that rock my world...there's probably a handful of those worldwide (with all due respect to all hotels...i'm there there r a lot of ones that deserve the 5 star rating but i just can't afford to stay at every single one of them!). I was planing on giving them a rating of 4...which english means the hotel was very decent but it's not the banyan tree phuket...the reason i ended giving it 3 out of 5 is the paid internet...at this day and age paid internet is an insult (my opinion)...my neighborhood grocery store offers free wifi...i think they chaged 12 jd's a day for internet. thank god i had my 3g uop and running but still this is an issue i will keep raising until i get free internet at all hotels...i haven't seen a hotel charge for electricity or water...same should apply for internet...

again if u provide free internet, ur more likely to get better reviews (no doubt)...especially if ur home page is trip advisor for example (hint hint!)...u can easily ask ur customers to take a minute of their time to review the hotel...naturally this is skew all results positively right?

anyway...i did like the hotel...don't get me wrong...it's clean and convenient but i really wish they have free internet on my next visit...

thanx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlughod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at My Hotel, arranged in advance by my Petra tour guide rather than having selected it myself.
The first point I would make is that Aqaba, Jordan is a nice city. Certainly as nice as Eilat, it's sister city in Israel where both border the north tip of the Red Sea.
My Hotel is a bit dark when entering the lobby, although the staff is very friendly. The rooms are not much to speak of, beds are a bit too firm, and again pretty dimly lit but a good choice of t.v. channels. Views were only of other hotel rooms.
High points were that both the dinner and breakfast were included. The buffet breakfast in particular was quite elaborate for a small hotel, and there are nice views from the restaurant across Aqaba.
Now while only ranking it 3 stars, I would rank the price/performance much higher, as hotels in Aqaba are probably 1/2 to 1/3rd the price of similar hotels in Eilat.
In addition, the border crossing from Israel to Jordan is very efficient ($30 to leave Israel, $10 to leave Jordan on return) and almost empty (especially in off season and with tourism down currently) so just avoid early entry when day tourists are headed to Petra.
Finally, Jordan is a very nice and safe country, especially in the south and tourists should not feel intimidated from visiting Petra and other wonderful sites, or just Aqaba, to spend a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfpedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The lack of imagination the owner used when naming the hotel (i.e. his or her eureka moment coming immediately after simply asking someone what "My Hotel" should be called) should not put you off this hotel that is in a very good location, is extremely modern, clinically clean and has a pool area on the roof overlooking the Red Sea. It was also great value at around 60JD a night.

We had absolutely no regrets about staying at My Hotel for three nights as part of our trip around Jordan. The service is friendly and efficient and the spacious and well fitted out rooms are just what you want after a hot day by the pool or the sea.

An added bonus (although this may have been temporary, I do not know) was that My Hotel offers, for 15JD each, a day pass at the large and relaxing Intercontinental hotel's private beach, which included shaded sun loungers and beach towels. Without this offer we found it hard to find an inviting beach along the coast for that sort of price, so it is a good deal.

I have given this hotel 4 stars simply as my 5 stars are reserved for unforgettable hotels - it maybe wasn't that, but you will not regret booking here.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, which was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelranger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirasSaqer, Front Office Manager at My Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! and we are so glad when you choosing our hotel to stay in we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My Hotel in Aqaba is such a special place. The location is perfect! You are walking distance to everything, even the beach. It is also easy to take a shuttle and pay a small fee to go to one of the resorts on the Red Sea and enjoy those beaches. Many good not exspensive restaurants to walk to. The area has charm with many camels walking on the streets with their owners. There is grocery stores around the corner. The staff are all wonderful and speak good English. The roof top pool was very clean and a nice place to relax with great views of the ocean. I was able to get a good nights sleep. I like that the room had tile floors with no carpet. That makes a much cleaner living space in a hotel room. I was able to even watch CNN. Overall my room was very clean and the bed comfortable. I must also mention the amazing breakfast! So many choices to choose from. Even fresh eggs made how you like them right in front of you. My Hotel is truly a gem! I will one day come back. Thank you My Hotel, from Nicole Stein Victora BC

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luccidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirasSaqer, Front Office Manager at My Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you had love our hotel . We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Clean, big rooms, nice staff, good location.
Cleaners made amazing art from towels every day.
Good breakfast, you can choose ingredients in your omelette, and then “ omelette-man” bake it. Small pool at rooftop.
No beach nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banaani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirasSaqer, Front Office Manager at My Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are glad that you had time to write this nice and good review about the hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gezer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The room was large and very comfortable. The breakfast was ok, and the staff were friendly. Nice location. The small swimming pool on the roof was deserted both times I went for a dip, and enjoyed having the place to myself. I would definitely recommend this hotel for travelers who don't require the luxury of one of the fancy large hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 39 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 39 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Hotel

Property: My Hotel
Address: Al Nahdha Street, Aqaba 2313, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — My Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style hotel offering 63 bedrooms and suites elegantly furnished in a unique style; rooms and suites have views of Red Sea and Aqaba city. The rooftop terrace offers excellent views of the surrounding area. Within walking distance of the Souq (market) shopping and business districts of downtown Aqaba, an ideal location then for the sea life, souvenir and handicraft shopping. Ten minutes journey from King Hussein international Airport. My hotel boasts modern amenities in every guestroom and superb service to meet the needs of visitors and clients of Aqaba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your My Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing