We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,178)
Filter reviews
3,178 results
Traveler rating
2,162
644
226
71
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,162
644
226
71
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restauranttala baysinai diverszara spafamily roomgreat resortkids clubmovenpick resortwater sportsspecial thanksheated poolshuttle bushalf boardaqaba towndiving centerbreakfast and dinnerdead sea
Filter
Updating list...
2,112 - 2,117 of 3,178 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We were part of the group mentioned in 27 Oct review 'If You Don't want to Sleep etc' and stayed for 4 nights at the end of a fabulous tour of Jordan.
Considering the numerous rooms with views we were disappointed that ours faced the Spa building and the main road, but it was quiet. which was important to us

The Good
1. A beautiful resort with good views of Red Sea.
2. Very helpful and friendly staff.
3. Excellent breakfast buffet.
4. Free supply of soft drinks very welcome with temperatures of 35 deg.

The Bad
1. From my point of view rather isolated with only small Marina next door.
2. In the toilet/bidet area nasty smell possibly from floor drain.
3. Food in expensive Italian restaurant was very poor. Couldn't eat the pizza with tinned artichoke and no oregano. A slushy mess for a risotto put us off going again.
4. Bar food mostly fried with chips; not what we eat. Suggest improving bar menus to include some of the delicious Arabian snacks/meals we had in other Movenpick hotels.
5. The complimentary shuttle bus timetable did not make is easy for guests to go for an evening meal to Aqaba.

The Ugly
1. On consecutive evenings plus some lunch times management instructed the beach security guard(s) to prevent guests from going to the Marina restaurants, hotel and supermarket via the beach; a 10 minute walk. Reasons varied.
We were told we couldn't go to the Radisson Hotel or the Marina for 'SECURITY' reasons which was very irresponsible in these times of terrorist activities. Guests who ignored the advice and walked out of the front gate returned to confirm that there were no problems in the Marina whatsoever. Numerous guests were very, very angry at being repeatedly lied to by management while the security guard was naturally worried about losing his job.

We understand that management would prefer guests to support the site restaurants, however some people like to savour local experiences as well.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dolan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2010

Thank you for the feedback on our property and we do appreciate the positive comments. The closure of the beach access to the Tala Bay Marina for a couple of evenings was totally out of our control and guests have been offered access from the main street instead. Please note that this was an isolated case and the access is open since then. We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for one week. The hotel was brand new, actually there were still some construction work at the outskirts (no noise disturbance though).

The service at the hotel was impeccable for our entire stay. The location is excellent with private beach and 10 minutes walk along the beach to the harbour area in Tala Bay.

Our room was spacious and everything was very clean and nice. Water bottles were complementary.

The hotel area was also great, with lots of space at the beach and around the many pools.

The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever experienced. A wealth of hot and cold food, fruits, deserts, you name it. The chefs also made fresh omelets etc. on request. Superb.

All in all, an amazing resort.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bislett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our resort and thank you very much for your compliments. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Following an amazing tour of Jordan (which is a wonderful country) we arrived at Tala Bay ready for a rest - and may have got one if we hadn't taken a room in the South Wing. The view from the room was lovely, unfortunately once the singer (who has been mentioned by other people on Trip Advisor) began his nightly performance it sounded as if he was in our room (until after midnight - every night!). Please believe me - I love music and when I am out the louder the better, but not when I am in a supposed 5 star hotel needing to sleep. We were advised that we could not change room as the hotel was fully booked (not true!!!). Also beware of the hotel's tactics trying to prevent you getting to the Marina, where there are 2 reasonably priced restaurants/snack bars and a supermarket. They have no right to stop you walking along the beach (it is not privately owned), there is no private party and definitely no security alert (these are the 3 reasons we and other guests were offered for requiring us to either stay in the hotel to eat or walk the mile and half along the main road). The restaurant staff and room cleaning staff are lovely, if not a little embarassed about the high prices they are forced to charge for very average food (especially the Italian restaurant). I would have to say that no-one in our party of 15 thought this hotel was good and feel it lets the Movenpick name down badly. If I were to visit Aqaba again I would certainly stay at the Movenpick in the City Centre, which has a very different atmosphere and has all the sights and sounds of Aqaba on its doorstep.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buttonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Thank you for the feedback on our property. We noticed that you were not entirely satisfied with our standards and while this is of course regrettable, we appreciate you bringing it to our attention in order to further improve. We do apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you for the kind words about our employees. We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This was our first experience with the Moevenpick chain and I have to say we are hooked. The resort was absolutely amazing. I would have to say the highlights for our family were the swimming pool with the water slide and the lazy river. The resort offers many snorkeling and diving excursions for a reasonable price. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and there were many other restaurants for lunch and dinner options.

Along with all the good stuff, I did have a few issues. First was with the waterslide, there was no control on the top of the slide so guests were sliding down too close together. Also, there was no control at the bottom so people were swimming in front of the slide as guests were coming down. Don't get me wrong, there were lifeguards on duty, but they didn't see this to be an issue. Second, was with the children's play place, they offered a schedule of activities, but NEVER followed them. I was told that activities were done only during "peak" season. They also charged 6 JD (approx $8.50) per child plus meals if your child was there during lunch time. This is the 1ST time I had to pay for a childs play place at any other 5 star hotel.

All in all, our stay there was memorable and enjoyable. We would HIGHLY recommend this resort. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4_AroundTheWorld_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your review we hope to welcome you again after such a long time.
Best regards,

Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This hotel was everything we could ask for. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the bed was one of the best beds I have ever slept in. There was a good selection of huge pillows and the mattress was from heaven. Linens were spotless, as was the rest of the room.

Food in the buffet restaurant was great and the staff was friendly (but slow). Head chef (?) was nice and often came out of the kitchen to chat with customers.

This hotel has many swimming pools and jacuzzis. Swimming pools are connected so it is fun and relaxing to swim around the area. Usually we don't spent time in pools, but this time it was different. We even tried the waterslide a few times, which was as fun as we remembered! :)

I think that the beach was good too. Sand is pieces of dead coral and sandstone, so it is not as soft as somewhere else, but the beach is clean and wide. Snorkelling at the hotel beach was very disappointing. We thought that it could be something like in Egypt, but it was far from it. We had two dives with the hotel dive center. Staff was great, and so were the dive spots.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilona82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

Thank you very much for your positive words about Mövenpick Resort Tala Bay Aqaba . We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we’re grateful for your kind comments. We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews