We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,288)
Filter reviews
3,288 results
Traveler rating
2,230
667
239
75
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,230
667
239
75
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant tala bay zara spa sinai divers family room kids club great resort movenpick resort special thanks water sports heated pool half board shuttle bus diving center aqaba town breakfast and dinner dead sea
Filter
Updating list...
2,214 - 2,219 of 3,288 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I really Love to visit Mövenpick resort Tala Bay again it is for real one of the best resort i visit in my life

Thank you for room food space and services

Ibrahim Alamir

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on our resort. Your kind words are much appreciated. We are looking forward to your next visit, in hopefully not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

When we arrived at the Movenpick we were positively surprised by a warm welcome and a fresh hotel. The receptionist was polite and showed us to our rooms after 5 minutes.

The food was good but service at the restaurants was not always polite or quick. Neverteless the facilities in general were very good, clean and spacious. I particularly enjoyed the gardens and the view from my room.

The bar was fine , and the servie was warm and quick and we spent a lot of time there, reading and working.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, Hubert Klemenz - General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2010

Thank you very much for your positive review on our property. We noticed that you were not entirely satisfied with the service you received in the restaurant and while this is of course regrettable, we appreciate you bringing it to our attention in order to further improve on this. Thanks you for taking the time to share your experience and looking forward welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Beautiful hotel!
Each space had its own theme and character.
Magnificent beds!
Firm mattresses that cradled while supporting the back.
Amazing long, slim pillows filled with stiff material for neck support.
Huge fluffy down pillow for those who like it soft.

We went on a package deal for three days and two nights, then decided to extend our stay by one night to experience the "Neptune" glass-bottom "submarine".
Our agents gave us five different prices over two days, and I wasted four hours on the day we were supposed to extend trying to get our original package deal from our own agent.

The Manager came to our rescue by outdoing them all in terms of time and trouble. Talk about Swiss efficiency!

The multinational staff were very kind and helpful, the service prompt, straightforward and polite.

The breakfast is HUGE, as there is something for everyone: English, Continental, fresh fruit, fantastic made-to-order omelette, Levantine/Middle Eastern, Swiss Muesli ingredients, French sweetmeats, and fine breads.

Our elder companion wished we had taken a lunch instead of breakfast package, so that we could swim on an empty stomach, as she herself had no breakfast usually.

The swimming pools are LOVELY! The highest one up is the warmest, and the one longest open. Unless you like being in a warm tub, I suggest you catch the other pools (where you can swim nearly forever) early as they (unfortunately) close at sunset. I wish there was more night-swimming available, especially under the moon.

The sea-water is grand, and there is nothing to compare to the lift and surge granted by a living body of water. However, the hotel-defined boundaries we can swim in were too small for us, limited by how much land one could see while swimming- the water gets very deep a few metres into the water. We wanted more blue water to swim in.
Oh, the colour!

The sea is blurry and there is little visibility in the depths, though we have only snorkeled, not scuba-dived.

I wondered how we could see on the submarine: on one side we saw clearly, on the other it was blurry.

We saw four lionfish, a shoal of angelfish, and a long, green, flattish fellow under the concrete jetty near the hotel.

There was also a cute little boxfish swimming near a concrete tube near the far plastic jetty. So sweet! We played hide-and-seek for a good while.

TOUCH NOTHING IN THE WATER.

Use your head: love thy sea-neighbour. Don't touch if you don't want to be touched.

Wear something thick and safe on your feet. Better yet, don't touch the sea-floor.

I also saw two barracuda swimming in the distance, whereupon I fled as fast as my four limbs could take me. They swam away, too. Had their own agenda.

Well, all in all it is a lovely place to stay, but I wish they made more use of the fact that they are beside the sea.

The fabulous Red Sea!

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BlueVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, Hubert Klemenz - General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2010

It was a pleasure reading your positive and detailed review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliment is much appreciated!
Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your experience and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed at Movenpick Tala Bay on my last trip to Jordan / Aqaba, It is an amazing resort with a unique architecture.. A welcoming and friendly ambiance, with staff members that can only keep a smile on your face.. A quality location to spend a leisure vacation...

Date of stay: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, Hubert Klemenz - General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on our resort. Your kind words about our employees are much appreciated and they will be passed on to our associates and it will encourage them to keep up their good work.
We are looking forward to your next visit, in hopefully not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I've recently returned from a weeks stay at the Movenpick Tala Bay with my boyfriend. We came via Voyages Jules Verne.

The hotel itself is lovely and we had a great room on the top floor over looking the pools, the Red Sea and Egypt. It is about a 10/15 minutes drive from Aqaba town and the hotel laid on transfers to and from town at set times (get down to reception early to avoid disappointment as it is first come first serve). The room was quite large with coffee making facilities (although you only get one coffee and one tea which was annoying), room service, flat screen tv with lots of choice. There were a number of pools to choose from, the one closest to the sea was absolutley freezing though, despite temperatures in the late 30s! One had a water slide and there is a dedicated children's pool. As other reviews have said, one day by the pool they decided to invite a DJ in to accompany some water aerobics and frankly it ruined the peaceful morning we were hoping to have.

We're are not usually 5 star travellers and tend to look for budget accomodation where we can, so perhaps we're not used to 5 star prices... This hotel was extremely expensive. The first night we decided to eat there as it was quite a late arrival, the main restaurant is buffet style and the food is not 5 star! It cost 22JD each which is roughly £22, we had 2 soft drinks and our bill came to nearly £60. That was the last time we decided to eat in the hotel. Tala Bay complex is just a 5 minute stroll down the beach and is currently under development. There were only 2 restaurants there and were not up to much. The best option is to go Aqaba but this can sometimes feel like an effort after a long day.

Another let down is the service which is a bit hit and miss. At the pool side restaurant you could be waiting up to 10 minutes before a waiter brought over the lunch menu and just as long to bring the drinks. Whereas in the coffee/drinks bar next to reception the staff very attentive and polite. This service should have been replicated across the complex.

Tala Bay itself will continue to grow in size over the next few years. There are plans for more hotels and a golf course. It is trying to rival similar resorts in Egypt.

If I ever returned to Aqaba I would not stay in this hotel as it is just far too expensive for what you get. Some seemed happy to pay those prices but I will be sticking to my budget places from now on.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clouds111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HubertKlemenz, Hubert Klemenz - General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2010

We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. Thank you for your constructive comments and kindly note that the DJ on the beach was just one off and as part of the Easter celebration.
We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again or you might prefer to stay at our sister hotel in Aqaba city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews