We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OASIS IN AQBA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Aqaba
Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OASIS IN AQBA”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a wonderfull 3 night stay at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba.The hotel is out of town, a 15 min. ride by a taxi from city center and it costs 10 - 15 JD. Near by are more hotels and a Marina which can be reached by foot from the hotel. At the Marina there are shops and small restaurants.There is a free shuttel from the hotel to the city and back but not every hour It is easy to catch a taxi from the city to the hotel but not in the other direction.
The hotel is a complex of buildings 3 to 4 stories and it is designed in Nabatic style. It extends on a very large area very clean lots of gardens , pools (one heated) and has a privat bech.We stayed in the Superiot double room .The room (actually 2 rooms)is very big it has a huge duoble bed and 2 more beds for kids.Bathroom is spacious ,there free coffee and tea and the mini bar is daily supplied.We also had a balcony with pool view.
The hotel stuff is very courteous.In breakfast there is a buffet with assorted dishes western and local taste.We also had very good supper for 24 JD on which we got 20% discount on the second night.There is also an Italian restaurant which is more expensive.
.It possiable to go by taxi to the city,Petra or Wadi Ram.It is important to determine the price and barganing is needed.
We came from Israel and we passed the border in the Arava border cross with no problems.
Highly recommended great hoapitalty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MövenpickTala B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and in particular your comments about our employees and services . Your kind words are much appreciated and they will be passed on to his attention to encourage him to keep up his good work. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,484
    506
    174
    56
    57
See reviews for
1,036
616
83
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

During the December holiday of 2013 I have visited the resort with the family. The resort turned out to be a perfect place to start exploring Jordan. Both Petra and Whadi Rum are within a day's travel.

The room was just a great as the hospitality of the people working in the resort. The food was great (great is an understatement).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J00st_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MövenpickTala B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our resort and thank you very much for your compliments. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently spent 1 overnight here, and were SO sorry to leave!

The family rooms were perfectly set up for traveling with our small children. The grounds were beautiful, the beach was wonderful, & the buffet breakfast great!

We will go back there at another time to spend more than just one night!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MövenpickTala B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. And thank you for your feedback about the hotel. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and stay longer than one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I visited ths hotel in September 2013 for my birthday when I use to live and work in Taba, just across the water in the south sinai. Some lovely restaurants in the marina and Petra is about 90 mins away in a bus and you must visit that place but spend a few days it is huge and get a guide (essential). The hotel is beautiful as with many other Middle Eastern hotels they get it so right. Waters crystal clear, weather blue sky and sunshine. Tala bay speaks very good English, if you feel adventurous get a 'Sinbad' boat ride to Taba heights and spend the day visiting the beach hotels and golf course (Taba Heights Golf Resort) is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MövenpickTala B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and in particular your comments about our employees. Your kind words are much appreciated and they will be passed on to our associates and it will encourage them to keep up their good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

When my mother and I arrived at this hotel, it immediately looked like paradise, sort of like a modern-day Alhambra palace. As we entered the grand lobby, the very kind front desk attendants quickly checked us in and answered all of our questions using their impeccable English skills. We were immediately brought complimentary glasses of delicious iced tea before being given the room key.

There was a bit of confusion for us as we were trying to find the room within the large garden-style complex. But it didn't seem so tough because the gardens and buildings were so beautiful. Plus, by the time we found it, our bags had arrived. Sunset by the beach was magical and so was the night.

In the evening we went for the dinner buffet and it was truly superb! Everything was mouth-watering. The fish was freshly caught and made to order. The crepes suzettes were also made to order. In fact ten different stations served made-to-order food, except for certain items like breads, smoked salmon, olives, hummus, and deserts. The restaurant staff was extremely flexible, allowing my mother to order a vegetarian dish from the neighboring restaurant while allowing her to eat the sweets from the buffet for a pro-rated fee. The meal was 28 JOD/pp and worth every piaster.

The fitness center was small but clean and offered much of the equipment I needed. The room was luxurious - I have rarely had such a wonderful sleep. The climate control also works perfectly.

Breakfast was as delicious as dinner. And the sunrise was incredible.

But the real 5* experience came in the services. When I asked if they had the number to call Royal Jordanian as I needed a flight change, they said "what do you need and what is your itinerary?" I told them and gave them the e-ticket. They said "don't worry about it, our concierge will take care of it by morning." Sure enough, when I came down, it was done. When I asked what the fee was, they said "Don't worry about it, we have an excellent relationship with RJ and it's been worked out." What service!

The Neptune Diving Club next door gave me a very hard time and had no concern that I was leaving that day, and had only come for the purpose of diving, which my tour operator neglected to arrange for me. I was frantic as I desperately wanted to see what the Red Sea aquatic life looked like and needed an open water diving experience. I complained to the front desk as it was moving closer to my leaving time. Ibrahim, the recreation manager, came to me and said "don't worry, we will get you a dive." He called every top reputable hotel and dive center in town until one of his friends at a nearby resort said that he could accommodate us. He personally chauffered us in the hotel Mercedes to the other resort and made sure that I got a master diver who could take me despite not having a certification. He made sure that I got in at the right time, got a fair price, got the chauffered ride back, and did not get charged for a late checkout. What an extraordinary experience! 5* by any standard!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkumar976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MövenpickTala B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. Thank you very much indeed for the positive comments on our property and in particular your kind words about our employees. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Coming back to a hotel you have enjoyed is always a risk. We recently came back to Mövenpick and we found the hotel is still well worth a visit.

The facilities, the friendly staff, the food and the good atmosphere is still there - even though some of the prices have become fairly high.

A lovely hotel - but we have some few crfitical comments:

It is embarrasing to be scanned and have your luggage scanned every time you enter the hotel. We were never told what they were looking for.

A sign on the beach, at the border to the next property. told that it was strictly forbidden to bring food or beverages back into the hotel. It is good with a beach guard, but we did not like the feeling of doing something illegal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MövenpickTala B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
It is a pleasure reading such a positive review of our resort and thank you very much for your compliments. We have taken note of your constructive comments and we will address it with great care. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We are a family of 4 and spent 2 nights at the Movenpick Tala Bay. We opted for the family room which gives you a separate sleeping area for the kids. The property is simply magnificent. There is a certain magic about having your breakfast out on the terrace, taking in the views of Eqypt and Israel across the Red Sea as you bite into your croissant. The pools and grounds are extensive and enough to keep the kids happy. Staff are welcoming, friendly and very accommodative. We enjoyed taking pictures with the Coptic Santa who appeared at the hotel during our visit!! Breakfast was a sumptuous affair - everything you could think of. This is resort holidaying at its best!! A tip - if you get bored of eating at the hotel, seek out DeSoto cafe- a new bar/cafe that situated at the edge of the Movenpick - lovely food and ambience and plenty of dog-eared books to browse through .

Room Tip: Opt for the family room if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MövenpickTala B, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of our resort. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
8.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
8.9 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
8.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
9.4 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#14 of 39 in Aqaba
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba
Address: South Beach Road | Tala Bay Area - Aqaba, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#3 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southern shores of the Red Sea are an idyllic destination blessed with year round sunshine. The Mövenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba is a striking property nestled on the bay’s warm, palm-fringed shores and yet just 15 minutes from the city centre of Aqaba and only 25 minutes from King Hussein International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort And Spa Tala Bay Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing