We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Darna Village Beach Hotel & Dive Center
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Aqaba
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the best place in Aqaba. A great little familiar hotel just in front of the Red Sea. The food is amazing and the staff are the best ever. The owner is really nice and helpful and he can tell you everything you need to know about Aqaba and Jordan in general.
Also, we snorkeled with "The Shark". There´s nobody better to go snorkeling with.
I would definitely recommend this place if you want to enjoy Aqaba and also chill. If I ever go back, this is where I´ll stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zulema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    35
    21
    21
See reviews for
26
78
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The only reason it would be worth staying is if you want to snorkel and just be on the beach. Great location. Everything not so much. Far from the city center, pretty spare rooms (there was a cockroach in my bathroom), and not so eager to please staff. They pretty much watched tv the whole time. Stay if you want to save money and just dive

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmarcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aqaba hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in April. Great location just across the road from the beach and less than 10 minutes drive into town. It has a laid back hostel vibe, but there are no dorms only rooms. Great pool to relax by. Food was good but a little expensive. The guys who run the place are really friendly and always up for a chat in the evening. Excellent value for money and we were sad to leave!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had 4 nights and 3 full days in Aqaba, staying at Darna Hotel. We stayed there that long only because we had booked: the place is poor but not quite bad enough for us to go through the bother of checking out.
It does have some some good points: the location, at the south end of the Japanese Garden Reef is great. There is a good view across the Red sea from the pool-side terrace; we found the beds firm but comfortable; the air-conditioning in our room worked; some of the staff were very pleasant; and they have a nicely relaxed attitude towards accounting for refreshments and food.
Everything else was poor. Although recently built, the place is crumbling. Most of the items listed on the menu were not available and the food that was served was dull (and the comments on their web-site about getting the best of the catch from local fisherman is surely pure fantasy). Our room wasn't cleaned at all, not even to empty the bin: in an establishment that asks its guests to put toilet paper in the bin rather than down the toilet, this is surely inexcusable. The standard of service was generally poor, sometimes to the point of being surly. And the promised early breakfast on the morning of our departure failed to appear, despite us having paid for it.
The Bedouin Garden Village, immediately behind Darna, seemed really nice and the couple of evening meals we had there were delicious. Stay there instead.

Room Tip: Only stay here if the other hotels on Aqaba South Beach are full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is just not very nice or has been very loved. Even after spending a night and day walking in the Wadi Rum (which by the way is brilliant) and really just wanting a place to rest our weary heads for the night, we still checked out 30 minutes after checking in!!

Our room was sparse to be very kind. The bathroom gave the impression catching something nasty was imminent – not even the two free sachets of shampoo that were ceremonially dumped in the room along with our single accompanying toilet roll could make amends. A lovely view from a back window of an alley way filled with building debris and rubbish added a nice touch. But the highlight of our very short stay in the room, above all, was the fridge. The fridge that wasn’t plugged in. The fridge that wasn’t plugged in because the plug was the wrong fitting for the wall socket. Simply brilliant and summed-up the hotel!! A place people must only come to kill themselves.

The staff though were understanding when we said we wanted to leave. I think they cared about us leaving as much as they did about their accommodation. The best thing was the free Wi-Fi near the pool which we used to book a hotel room somewhere else!!

All-in-all, whilst the hotel is near the beach and is cheap, don’t bother staying here. Sleep on the beach; it would be a better experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDMc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Here are some reasons you should stay at Darna Village

- It is indeed next to the beach
- It is cheap
- If you like diving (apparently that is reasonable as well)

Other than that, it is not a place I would recommend, particularly with Kids. The hotel has a general air of disrepair and there are bits of construction equipment & pieces of indeterminate objects lying everywhere. We were rather amused to find that the ladder to get into the pool on one side was completely broken (i.e the steps were completely broken) and you had to hoist yourself out using bits of broken steps. Also the pool is 5 ft at the shallow end and increasing thereafter, so clearly not meant for children.

The rooms were passably clean but despite booking well in advance, we didn’t get three rooms together (or even two – all rooms were in different parts of the property). Our room had a cavernous cupboard that didn’t look like it had ever seen better days, and I couldn’t help wondering if it might not be an idea to put the poor thing out of its misery, and use as a firewood – it was certainly not serving any purpose in the rooms.

The breakfast in the morning, was doled out, prisonlike in fixed quantity (2 pittas, 1 boiled egg, 1 packet of jam and butter and a sneeze of feta cheese).

The staff & service (and I use the term very loosely) was non – existent. A request at reception for a map of Aqaba led to much scratching of the head and some frowns. And finally, with a flourish, two brochures were presented to us. ‘you can keep them’, I was informed. Wow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mridula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

was beyond what we expected! The guys of Abed (Ashi, Fadi and etc`..) are wonderful people and give us a ratio of kings, they are very honest and caring all the time. The pool was clean and the place is spotless. Excellent area (adjacent to the beach). Rooms very clean, new air conditioner and refrigerator, however the bed is uncomfortable and the shower flow a little weak but we had a view to all the beach.
Dives were excellent! New equipment and very high quality.
We were two divers and two instructors are amazing all the time we made ​​sure all the sites that took us were impressive and the right has all the diving experience. Price dives is not expensive (20 dinars for dive if you take a package).
We was 3 people (we took 2 rooms).
The place is highly recommended. Sure we get back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
7.6 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
1.1 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bedouin Garden Village
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba
0.0 mi away
Almarsa Village Dive  Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darna Village Beach Hotel & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darna Village Beach Hotel & Dive Center

Property: Darna Village Beach Hotel & Dive Center
Address: South Beach Road | PO Box 1703, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Darna Village Beach Hotel & Dive Center 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located some 12kms south of Aqaba downtown, 50 meters from the sea, ideal place for relaxing, diving, snorkeling. Air-conditioned Single-, Double-, Twin- and Triple rooms. Shared dorm is also available. On-site dive center and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Darna Village Beach Hotel & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing