We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy hotel with super rooms and lovely balcony overlooking sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I spent my birthday in Jordan and also at this hotel which made it even a better experience for me.
First I would say the positives are - very modern decor - minimilist kind of look to it but as it is quite new, nothing looks tired. The one negative is that they don't seem to have thought of putting the name of the hotel on the outside and we drove past it a few times - only after enquiring at the InterContinental next door were we able to find out the building which looked like a modern Govt building from the outside was actually the hotel Kempinski. When you get into the hotel though, the facilities are really cool. You get a panoramic view from the whole reception area and the staff are extremely attentive from the minute you arrive offering cool clothes in the heat and a welcome glass of cold apple juice. Our car was taken by the valet and put away safely. We did not have to wait long to register and were taken to our room by one of the staff who showed us all the facilities. It was a bit amusing to see a clear glass ceiling to floor window between the bathroom and the bedroom but we since discovered a blind over the bath which can be brought down, especially if like me you prefer to go to the loo in private. The rooms are very white with a little touch of grey but it works well. The minibar is free and well stocked with minerals and some beer. The wardrobe space is just great and the balcony is wonderful and you can watch the sun go down in the evening from the comfort there or enjoy a drink or meal even. The swimming areas were different to other hotels. One of the pools is about 50 metres while there is a long canal style entrance from one pool to the next. There is a really big jacuzzi pool though too many children using it for swimming in which was a pity. There is a nice a childrens pool and lots of easy access down to the beach. There is a water pool bar but this wasn't open during our stay. The restaurants and breakfast buffet in the hotel are very good. We also ate one evening at the Lebanese restaurant in the neighbouring InterContinental and found it excellent. We thought we might eat at the restaurants in the Aqaba Gateway centre but found most of them a bit dirty and unappealing. This shopping centre is supposed to have 30 shops but really has about 26 empty units so nothing much there other than a couple of bars. The Rovers Return was a nice enough bar but one night we had a group of loud lads who came in and were just so overbearing we had to leave. There is not much else in the area other than the restaurtants in our hotel or the neighbouring Movenpick fish restaurant which we will visit tonight. Great Pizza and interesting sandwiches and snacks at the pizza restaurant in Kempinski. Will try the fish restaurant before we leave.
All in all very classy hotel with great facities.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

We began our 6 day honeymoon in Jordan last week with the Kempinski Aqaba. The GM Alejandro Bernabe was an amazing host taking personal interest in ensuring our stay was not only comfortable, but fulfilling and enjoyable. His staff was impeccable; attentive but not overbearing. It seemed someone at the hotel had truly thought about how to make their guests stay as comfortable as possible, from baklava and cookies in the room, free mini bar access to an offer for complementary coffee in the room along with the wake up call!
The property is stunning with a perfect patch of beach on the Red Sea, it includes a promenade which offers guests at the property an illusion of being at a bustling beachfront area. The food was amazing including their adorable meal boxes served at the beach lounge. We checked out with a heavy heart but as a final parting touch the hotel sent us off with an ice box filled with waters which was extremely useful on our long drive through the desert to Petra. We stayed at other five star hotels in Jordan on the same trip but no hotel experience came close!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Alejandro the Spanish GM is very personable and looked after us very well. The Hotel is very luxurious, our inter-connecting rooms were very well decorated. We loved the reading lights next to our bed. The food was excellent, the buffet breakfast was the best breakfast we had in the whole stay in Jordan. The Fish restaurant was also the seafiid we had in Jordan. The beach and swmming pool facilities are 5 stars. Staff is very friendly too. Just one negative issue, the furniture in the terrace look nice and sleek but very unconfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadcyclistLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Family of four. Stayed in two adjoining rooms for 5 nights in late March / early April.

- Excellent staff. Very helpful.
- Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea was superb. Choice was excellent.
- Rooms were spacious with white decor and straight lines. Very modern as the hotel is new. Both rooms had a balcony overlooking the sea.
- Hotel was a bit on the quiet side though with the nearby Movenpick seemingly more lively.
- The pool was not heated with the result that the water was too cold to swim and hardly anyone used it. Despite several requests they couldn't bring the temp. up. We found out at check out that other guests had also requested the same. A waste as it's a really nice pool.
- The beach facilities however were very good.
- Water sport facilities are available.
- Town centre is within walking distance.


Overall a good place to relax for a few days.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FM1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We were very disppointed, no value for money. A very unpolite person at the reception, were is the price for money? Will certainly not go back again.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marie-Charlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My wife flew out to join me here for three nights to break up my month long stay in Jordan.

I splashed out on a Junior Suirte and felt it was really worth it. We had a great balcony with sea view. The room was immaculate and superbly equipped - the coffe pod machine a nice bonus. Lots of complimentary water too.

We enjoyed relaxing on the beach both on loungers and in the tent-like shades. Drink service on the beach was friendly and efficient.

We took lunch at the little restaurant on the walkway next to the beach. There were only three outside tableds but we always managed to grab one. Good snacks - ceaser salad and pizzas great.

The fish restaurant struck us as an echoy cavern so we decided to give it a miss. The main restaurant buffet was as good as a buffet can get in my opinion and the service was excellent. The final evening we left the hotel and ate in the Italian restaurant at the Royal Jordanian Yacht Club - the food was fabulous and a lot easier on the pcket than the hotel.

All in all, a great short break.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Rally_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The building feels new and with a fresh and modern design (but, strangely, you need to walk through the lobby to go to the pool and beach area).

The rooms are large and finished to a very high standard (e.g. a coffee machine with pods from Dallmayr in Munich). What really stands out here is the service and the small details: welcome with a scented towel, welcome drink + fruit + cookies, complimentary water and minibar, excellent turndown service, bottles of water + tissues for the drive back, etc. The staff is a clever mix of Jordanians and Asians that works very well, especially in the restaurants. The food (I had breakfast and lunch at the main restaurant) was very good (best chicken biryani ever, great birchermuesli). The fitness room was a little small for the size of the hotel but it had new Technogym machines. I was told the spa will be finished in the next few months, and guests have access to the spa of the Intercontinental next door.

The site between the Kempinski and the IC is still empty, and I was told at the hotel that there would be no construction. In front of the site, though, there was a billboard announcing a new resort (not clear if this would include a building and therefore heavy construction).

While I have been disappointed lately by the Kempinski at the Dead Sea, this is definitely a five-star hotel with excellent management - mixing with the guests, starting at breakfast - and the best option in Aqaba, at least until the new resorts will open in a few years (including a Westin and a Jumeirah).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.3 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel by Swiss-Belhotel
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#17 of 41 in Aqaba
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: $163 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully situated on the white sandy beaches and azure waters of the Red Sea, The Kempinski Hotel Aqaba offers a transcendent sensory experience. With an array of culinary options, leisure activities, and top-tier pampering and perfectly at home within its picturesque surroundings, this resort is heaven to explorers and leisure seekers alike. Set against a stunning backdrop, the hotel combines the warmth of the Jordanians with the highest standards of a luxury European resort. Style is contemporary chic and the resort’s fascinating tear drop design guarantees sea views from every room, complemented by luxurious facilities and state-of-the-art technology. There are three lounges and three eateries to choose from serving everything from extensive gourmet buffets, delicious fresh seafood and an assortment of tantalizing treats. At night the hotel blossoms with wondrous facade lighting, paving the way for an unforgettable evening of cocktails and malts, around the sunken pool or at Aqua Lounge, a favourite with romantics due to its gorgeous views of the Red Sea. For pampering and healing both inside and out, Kempinski The Spa offers a journey of tranquility with treatments using an assortment of luxurious elixirs and ingredients. With a fully equipped gym overlooking the ocean, the resort offers everything your body needs to unwind and rejuvenate. It goes without saying that the diving here is incredible and guests can explore the largest collection of natural soft corals in the world when delving into the glittery, calm waters. Aqaba is a warm and inviting city, fringed with palm trees, shopping and a vast array of leisure, sporting and entertainment facilities. Ideal for year round sunshine, Kempinski Aqaba is the perfect location to explore all the delights that Jordan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing