We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jordan Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jordan Tour”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good value for money. Beautiful setting and gardens. Bedroom clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view over swimming pools and Red Sea. Reception staff very friendly and courteous. The breakfast was standard. Safe parking on the premises a huge plus point. Hotel is situated within less than 8 minutes walk to the beach and free towels are supplied for beach use.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room - the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    286
    132
    75
    70
See reviews for
222
296
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice and confutable for family and cupels, nice service and i like the service more than Radisson Blu...and i want to thank the man name RETHA and BILAL and YUSIF they are fantastic guys. good pool area, even heated poll. Very nice lush garden with plamtrees and flowers. Attractiv sandy beach, cristal cleer water, kindly breez at the beach. The food is nice.

Room Tip: all its good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANMAR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Tala Bay is about 15 km from Aqaba and is only a small place for tourists. Hotel Marina Plaza is 200-300 m from a beach, the area of the reseption is small, not nice, rooms are average, poolside is very noisy, specially in the evenings, food in the restaurant is quite good. Ac was very noisy, I put it off in the nights. I think, one time in this hotel is enough for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkkuTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tata, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been in Marina Plaza Hotel at the biginnig of november 4- days. The hotel itseld is very nice, very good pool area, even heated poll. Very nice lush garden with plamtrees and flowers. Attractiv sandy beach, cristal cleer water, kindly breez at the beach.
The food is avarage. We are accostumed to turkis all inclusive hotels, but marina plaza is far away from it.
But what is appaled, is that a half liter beer cost in the restaurant 8 jordan dinar, this is ca. 8 EURO. In the liquer shop 100 meter away from the hotel a half liter beer costs 1,5 jordan dinar.
Is this normal pricecalculation from 4 star hotel, more then 400% price margin on the beer? Is this in accordance with jordan law for hotels and restaurants?
I thnik this is a shame pricecalculation.

Room Tip: take sea view room, also silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Not one of my favourite hotels. The location was okay but you had to walk to the beach via the beach club. The pool area was very noisy with pounding music all the time. The music at the beach club was about the same. There seemed no escape. Not the kind of place to sit quietly by the pool with a book.

The door handle to my balcony was broken and insecure - on the ground floor. It was repaired quickly though. The food was good and the service in the restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above ground level and away from the pool area if you want some peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsme129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at hotel Plaza Marina for two days in October, and had a good stay. Among good things can be mentioned a good location, buildings and great pool area and beach as well as generally friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel has a wonderful pool area with lots of plants and flowers. In the evening there was nice live music.
The room was clean but seemed to be a little old. The food was ok, but not great. Breakfast buffet was ok, lots of different things to choose from, but the dinner was a little poor.
The beach was short walking distance - 3-5 minute to private Beach Club. The beach was empty and quiet and we enjoyed it so much.
We did take the free shuttle hotel bus into the town and had a great time shopping with the locals.
All in all the Marina Plaza hotel was a good place to enjoy Aqaba and the Red Sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bukva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Marina Plaza is clearly the slightly poor relation, sandwiched between the very large and much swankier Radisson and Movenpick resorts. Unlike those two, it doesn’t actually front onto the beach, so you have a 300m or so walk to the private Beach Club, shared I would imagine with the tenants and owners of the largely unoccupied luxury appointments within the complex. The beach is no more than OK, sandy and stony, with piers/pontoons taking you out to deeper water to swim. It’s probably inadvisable to have your feet touch the bottom without shoes, as there are dire warnings about sea-urchins, stonefish etc. the former very visible when snorkelling. As it was, my wife suffered a nasty jelly-fish sting after only moments in the water. The snorkelling is also compromised - partly because the water is deep, partly because there is rather little in the way of rocks and coral, and partly because of disturbance from swimmers, sailboats, jet-skis etc frightening the fish and making the water cloudy.

The Tala Bay resort itself doesn’t seem really to have got going, although the Radisson and Movenpicks no doubt provide a self-contained environment. There are unlet plots, and most of the apartments were dark at night. The marina area is tiny and eating and shopping opportunities away from the hotels are very limited.

As with so many of these holiday villages, you are entirely isolated. Taxis are not allowed into the compound, and none passes on the highway, so don’t expect to hail one for a run into Aqaba. The only option is either a JD10 Avis chauffeur-drive summoned from the city, or the hotel shuttle. These mainly run in the late afternoon and evening, but are infrequent during the rest of the day, and you have to book ahead, both out and back. The Marina Plaza’ 18 or so- seater simply isn’t big enough for the obvious peak runs for dinner in Aqaba, and we couldn’t get places when we needed them; this simply isn’t acceptable.

Otherwise, this is a perfectly OK package-holiday hotel. We picked it for a couple of nights’ downtime after over two weeks of busy touring and it was fine for that. Free Internet was a surprise bonus.Presumably those staying longer, and using it as their holiday base, will spend several days out on the various excursions offered. Aqaba city itself has little to offer (and most of it closed when we visited) but we enjoyed wandering around at night, and there are some good restaurants.

The hotel itself is somewhat over-roomed, perhaps. The pool area seemed crowded, and the restaurant was mobbed with the usual scrum at peak dinner/breakfast times. The cheerful restaurant staff were a bit overwhelmed at times clearing tables and sorting out drinks, and this detracted from what was really quite acceptable food. Most of the guests were Russian, French or German, some British; hardly any Jordanian.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
9.0 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#16 of 40 in Aqaba
131 reviews
8.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
8.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
8.5 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay

Property: Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
Address: Tala Bay | South Coast Road, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifull 4 star hotel located in Tala Bay Marina, 15km south of Aqaba city in Jordan. Enjoying a private beach club on the Red Sea, swimming pool, restaurant, spa with massage, kid's playground, it is a great place to stay and enjoy the Red Sea Beach and Sun or while visiting the sightseeing of Jordan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina Plaza
Marina Plaza Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing