We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Olean, New York
1 review
“convenient location”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Needed to stay overnight for medical testing and this motel was very close to clinic. Friendly front desk staff was able to change our original room when she found out we could use one that was handicap accessible.
Only problem was not being able to figure out how to use hand-held shower. Couldn't regulate the heater very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MISSYSUE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad that my staff was able to accommodate you in a room that more suited your needs. I'm sorry that you had a difficult time with the hand held shower and the heater. In the future, please do not ever hesitate to reach out to one of the staff members on duty for assistance...we are here to assist our guests 24/7. We hope that the next time your in our area, hopefully for a more leisure visit, that you will choose our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    120
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
162
72
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

While visiting the Niagara/Buffalo area, we have chosen this hotel on several occasions. The price is right. Breakfast is quite acceptable. The rooms and overall facility is very well-maintained.

It has been a great "stop over" for us in the past two years.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for making us your official "stop over" hotel! We appreciate your business and look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Coming in from out of town to attend an event at University of Buffalo, booked a room here as it was right across the street. Front desk extra friendly & helpful, room was clean, nice bathroom, fridge and flatscreen. Comfy bed too! Room total with everything was under $100 too!
I will stay again when in the area :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. We are conveniently located directly adjacent to the UB north campus, so I'm glad that our location worked out so well during your visit. Glad the accommodations and staff met your expectations, as well. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

no complaints. room good. tv channel selections good. breakfast good. we needed a place late at night to stay till morning. Comfort was less than a minute off the highway. the manager gave us the best rate available too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It appears that we met all of your expectaions and then some! We hope to see you the next time you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Always stay at this property when traveling to Canada. Great staff, clean rooms, and great breakfast. Had to change my reservations two times due to weather conditions. Choice Hotels corporate wouldn't help. They told me I had a non-refundable reservation. I thought I would receive consideration since I was an Elite member. But Choice Hotels corporate staff could have cared less. Then, I called the property and spoke with the General Manager- Susan. She not only made the changes twice but did it without a single sign of frustration. What a great pleasure to deal with her. Last stay had a bottle of water, health bar, and a note thanking me for staying at the property...very comforting after a long trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with our hotel. I'm sorry that you were given a bit of a hard time in regards to changing your reservation. We truly value our Choice Elite members and do whatever we can to make your experience with us a positive one. I'm happy that we were able to accomplish this and that everything turned out so well. So glad that you were happy with the accommodations, as well. We hope that you will make us your hotel of choice when visiting our area in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Premises are always clean. Friendly staff and front desk greet you with a smile at check in. And, shopping is only minutes away. Reasonably priced for two double beds that were nice and comfy. Plenty of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_C946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that we always meet your expectations and that you feel your getting a lot of value for your money. We appreciate your business and hope you stay with us again the next time your in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Any time we are staying in the area - we ALWAYS stay here. You just can't beat the friendly service that you receive from the front desk personnel to the maintenance guys to housekeeping. Everyone goes that extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! The entire staff here work extremely hard at keeping our hotel clean and well maintained and their friendly attitude really does make all the difference...they all really enjoy what they do, and it shows! Glad you enjoy the fresh baked cookies, too! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 1 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amherst
#2 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to both Downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls and directly adjacent to the University at Buffalo North Campus, the Comfort Inn University is the place to stay when visiting the Amherst/Buffalo, NY area. All of our rooms include flat screen televisions, refrigerators, coffee makers, iron/boards and hairdryers. Our guests enjoy the Comfort Inn signature breakfast "Your Morning Breakfast" that includes...hot eggs, sausage and/or bacon, make your own fresh waffles, yogurts, fruit, breads, bagels, muffins/danish, cereals and more! Take a soak in our indoor heated pool, workout in our fitness room and surf the web with our fast high speed wireless internet. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Amherst
Comfort Inn Amherst
Amherst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing