We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Hillside
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room were nice. I was surprise by the breakfast. It was really great. The eating area could have been a little larger. I came with a group of 54 people an some of us had to go to the rear area to eat. Some of the families that were there ended up taking their food back to their rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank von54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm glad to know that you were happy with the hot breakfast that we offer. I realize that our breakfast area can become quite crowded during peak hours. We do have a few other eating areas for our guests including our outdoor patios, a second lobby and at times we are able to open our meeting room for seating which works out wonderfully. This room can also be reserved for breakfast for your group upon request in advance. We also have a supply of trays for those guests who prefer to enjoy their breakfast in the comfort of their guest room.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    117
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
157
70
30
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very helpful and very friendly and the room was great. We also enjoyed the free breakfast included. The price was very reasonable. Definitely would return. Achille M.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had such a nice weekend with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Our experience started off with our check in. We were paying for our two night stay with gift cards. The woman at the desk did not know how to process the gift cards so we were told we had to stop back to the desk later in the evening because the man coming in to work would know what to do. We were given our room key anyway so we could get our bags and things in to get settled. We went up to the room with our bags and small children in tow. We went to open the door and heard voices. THERE WAS ALREADY SOMEONE IN OUR ROOM!!!!! We had to haul everything back down to the desk to inform the worker that we needed a different room because there was someone already in there. The woman started to disagree with us and said that no one was in that room...until she called the room and someone answered! She gave us a different room. We were disappointed with our room. We were expecting it to have a little more room than it did. The information book was outdated and a few of the advertised restaurants were not even in business anymore. The end table was sticky with drink rings and there was hair in the bathroom. The non slip tub mat inside the tub was peeled away from the tub and flapped when we were in the shower. The lamp only worked part of the time and I couldn't connect to the wifi even asking the desk for help. I was given the phone number to their cable provider to have them help me solve my connection problem, which they even failed to do. We we booked for two nights and considered leaving and finding a different hotel for the second night, but it would have been too much of a hassle with our things and two young children. We will not be staying at this hotel again and am hesitant to stay in another comfort inn.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you had this bad experience at our hotel. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please rest assured that the issues you had have been addressed with our staff and the appropriate action has been taken so that we can prevent these things from happening in the future.

I encourage you to call me directly at the hotel so that we may speak in greater detail regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband recently had open-heart surgery in Buffalo. We stayed at the Inn prior to his surgery and I stayed there during his surgery and during his recuperation. The stay at the Comfort Inn University in Amherst NY was truly the best experience we have had away from home. The staff is friendly and helpful and the assistant manager, Noel Mobley, went above and beyond to make certain that we were comfortable and that we were lacking for nothing. I told her that she was an angel sent to us during the stressful situation that we were enduring.
The breakfast is wonderful, plentiful and delicious. The rooms are spotless and the beds and pillows are very comfortable and cozy. At the end of very long days spent in the hospital, I looked forward to going back to the comfortable room. We will definitely be visiting them again!!!

Room Tip: The king-sized beds are very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. I'm was sorry to hear that you and your husband were visiting us during such a stressful time, however, I am glad that my staff was able to make it a little less stressful for you. We wish you and your husband well and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

i was traveling with my family, long road trip to 17 states in 10 days, its very fun but very tired also. This hotel is the best hotel we stayed in during my entire vacation, i was really feel like home. the crews were very nice, courtesy, and friendly. the room was very spacious, clean, comfort ( really, the name of this hotel really represent it) with all facilities that working very well ( this is most problem with another hotels i visited before) parking was very easy, breakfast was satisfy. the rates was fair. I will definitely recommend this hotel for one night or longer and definitely will stay there whenever i visit niagara again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Wow...thanks for such a glowing review, we really appreciate it and hope to see you the next time you and your family are on vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Traveling as much as I, having a staff and management, that is friendly, efficient, and professional makes time away from home manageable. Pleasant, thoughtful, and detail oriented are reasons to choose this location if ever in the Buffalo area for business or personal travel reasons. If you have the luck to be helped by Noel at the front desk, you can count yourself lucky for the day.

Room Tip: "Pets are not just accepted here, but actually welcome."
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We're glad to know that we make both you and your furry friend feel welcomed and like we are your home away from home! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Whether it is for one day or one week; with my family or by myself; Comfort Inn University has always been my get away place for a few years now! It's affordable and the breakfast is always great. The rooms are always clean and fresh. I like the rooms with a microwave. Stores and restaurants are close by. I like the fact that there are always cookies, tea and coffee available. It is also close to the Walden Galleria Mall; where one can do their one stop shopping. The staff are nice and always helpful, especially Noel Mobley. I would recommend Comfort Inn University to others.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the entrances and the dining room have less noise and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review...we look forward to the next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 1 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amherst
#2 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to both Downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls and directly adjacent to the University at Buffalo North Campus, the Comfort Inn University is the place to stay when visiting the Amherst/Buffalo, NY area. All of our rooms include flat screen televisions, refrigerators, coffee makers, iron/boards and hairdryers. Our guests enjoy the Comfort Inn signature breakfast "Your Morning Breakfast" that includes...hot eggs, sausage and/or bacon, make your own fresh waffles, yogurts, fruit, breads, bagels, muffins/danish, cereals and more! Take a soak in our indoor heated pool, workout in our fitness room and surf the web with our fast high speed wireless internet. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Amherst
Comfort Inn Amherst
Amherst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing