We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
466 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for two nights (September 10-11) and was very happy with the, price, quality, and service. I will return again when I visit the area. The morning breakfast was the best I have ever had at it was wonderful. The hotel was minutes from many attractions I was interested in seeing. The staff responded professionally when I had questions. It was like home away from home and I felt I more than got the best value for my money.
Mike Miller
Macedonia, Ohio

Room Tip: I enjoyed being able to see my car in the parking lot from the room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Looking forward to seeing you again the next time your in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    118
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
158
72
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I used to stay here multiple times, throught the year, when on business in the U. of B. area. It's a generic hotel, that could use a serious round of updates, and renovations. I would probably give it 3 stars average, if it wasn't for the following:

I no longer stay here, because I found a bedbug crawling across the sheets on my last stay. I can only hope that it was just one... and that I didn't just infest my own house with them. :(

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
In this day and age, we realize that bed bugs are an issue. We take pest control measures very seriously and have all of our rooms regulary serviced by a certified pest control company on a monthly basis and our housekeeping staff is also trained on what to look for. Please call me at the hotel as soon as possible, as I show no reports of activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dansville, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September, 2012. Let me start by saying that there are many positives about this hotel. We had a non smoking king suite. Hotel was extremely clean and the staff was very friendly. The hot breakfast in the morning is great. Many choices, cereal, bagels, toast, waffles, sausage, eggs, pastry, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. Also had several high chairs which for us was a HUGE plus. Check in and out was very quick.

Although I really liked this hotel, there were a few drawbacks. The rooms are very dated and in need of some updating. While it was clean, our bathroom definitely needed to be updated. The back lid to the toliet didn't fit and I was in constant fear that my 14 month old was going to knock it off. The shower, well it wasn't a real shower head and it was very low. I think that our room, 102, was for a wheelchair. So I think the shower was geared toward that need. While they did have a nice pool, it was very small. Maximum limit of people was 16, which wasn't a problem for our visit as we had the pool to ourselves everytime. But it wouldn't be ideal for teenagers as it is small. For a family with small children it is great because parents can walk the entire pool. Another negative with the pool is that the front desk has to let you in. Which means if they are busy checking someone in you have to stand there and wait. Once was waited almost 10 minutes to get in. Not fun with a little one who just wants to swim. Also while the staff was very friendly, I did have a staff member irritate me very much. We came back early one day and fed our daughter dinner in the breakfast area. The front desk person came over and asked us if our son, we have a daughter, was sick the night before. Confused I replied no. She then went on to tell us that she figured our "son" must have been sick because someone called to complain that they heard him up all night crying. Our daughter did wake up twice during the night crying, but it literally lasted less than 2 minutes. Not all night. So that really pissed me off that she felt is was necessary to inform us of that.

Room Tip: Our room, 102, was the very first room. So literally every person that wen to the lobby had to go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishawnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for writing a reveiw of your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our "Your Morning Breakfast" selection and our pool. We are currently gearing up for a big renovation this winter, including carpets, bathroom tubs, surround and vinyl. You will definitely notice a difference upon your next stay with us. I am very sorry if one of my staff made a comment that made you feel uncomfortable. I have a very friendly and caring staff and I'm sure that this was not the intention. I look forward to seeing you again in the future the next time your travels bring you to the Amherst area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent stay at this very clean, updated Comfort Inn. I especially enjoyed having a flat screen tv in my room and the breakfast provided was actually very good! Will look to stay here again the next time I am traveling through the area as I often do for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your glowing reveiw of your stay! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your new flat screen tv and our wonderful hot breakfast...we look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover plains
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

in a recent trip to western NY we found the Comfort Inn Amherst NY what a great family place to stay very clean, friendly and the staff was very helpful to us. the staff was able to direct us around the area and made sure to tell us the local spots as well as the well known tourist spots. Family friendly with a very personal touch!! it was convenient to getting around for out stay.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Western New York area. There is so much to do here that one trip is just not enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife, myself and another couple were looking for a simple getaway to visit the NY side of the falls. Most hotels at the falls were either booked, too expensive or had poor conditions. For a short drive we were at the falls in minutes. It's a fun drive over the two bridges. The rooms were very nice (2 kings), clean and fresh.. The front desk people, the same (NOT "fresh", you know what I mean!) Unless I stay on the Canada side, this hotel will always be a consideration.

Room Tip: Get to know the people at the front desk. They are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel...looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed at several Hotels in the Amherst area visiting our grandkids. Comfort Inn University has been the best so far. Clean rooms, friendly staff and a very peaceful stay, we all enjoyed the breakfast bar and the kids enjoyed the pool. Great location, lots of shopping and food within minutes of the Hotel. We are planning our next visit in mid-October and plan on booking this Hotel again.

Joe from Ohio....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanagerciu, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for your review, Joe. So glad to hear that the Comfort Inn is your only choice while visiting your family! See you in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 1 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amherst
#2 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to both Downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls and directly adjacent to the University at Buffalo North Campus, the Comfort Inn University is the place to stay when visiting the Amherst/Buffalo, NY area. All of our rooms include flat screen televisions, refrigerators, coffee makers, iron/boards and hairdryers. Our guests enjoy the Comfort Inn signature breakfast "Your Morning Breakfast" that includes...hot eggs, sausage and/or bacon, make your own fresh waffles, yogurts, fruit, breads, bagels, muffins/danish, cereals and more! Take a soak in our indoor heated pool, workout in our fitness room and surf the web with our fast high speed wireless internet. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Amherst
Comfort Inn Amherst
Amherst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing